We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality”
Review of The Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #37 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
uMhlathuze, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I stayed at the Russell in Sydeny for three days last month, and was delighted at the accommodation. As a young woman travelling alone, you always hope to feel safe and secure in a clean, friendly and atmospheric hotel. This is what I got.
The location is spot on! Literally next door to the major train station, over the road from the Bay and the Opera House, and a super wine bar and restaurant on the lower levels. What more could a girl ask for?
A special mention must be made of Elizabeth, who was a wonderful and friendly host during my stay. She is a gem!

Room Tip: The bathrooms are super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    394
    112
    32
    21
See reviews for
134
445
100
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
572 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Hotel located at The Rocks within walking distance of the Opera House. Rooms spacious and decorated beautifully; breakfast provided. Could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenBee0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton, MD
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Our three-night stay at The Russell was just what my wife and I wanted. It is by no means a fancy hotel but you cannot beat the location or the price. It is right in the Rocks by the Quay and is minutes from lots of top restaurants, We opted for a room that shared a bathroom which is an immediate turn off for some but not for us. It was immaculate and never unavailable in three days. Our room was small but there are lots of other more space and in-room bathrooms. They have a lovely rooftop garden and wonderful sitting room. Breakfast is downstairs in the wine bar and is just enough. Because this is in the heart of a busy tourist and nightlife area, it can get noisy at night as people clear out of the bars and pubs. But for us, just perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a quiet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahsaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Really nice little hotel, however what I miss from the reviews on the site is the fact that the hotel is right above a very loud bar/pub. On Friday and Saturday I didnt get any sleep ahead of 2am and on Tuesday it was very loud until late at night. It seems as if they were playing in my room and even the sound of peoples voices come through. Not your place if you want to rest ahead of an important day and are a light sleeper.

They charge $5 for internet access per day, which is quite a lot, I dont expect to be charged that much for basic internet access.

The hotel is very cute though and service very good.

Toilet in the coridor makes it a bit awkard to go out in the middle of the night.

Breakfasts were the absolute bare minumum, so dont expect much for the first meal of the day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoakimJonsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

A perfect place to spend a short break in Sydney. We stayed for four nights. Our room was very clean and comfortable, and had character. We were cosy and warm and slept well each night. The shower was brilliant too. Good value for money. Chocolates left on the bed each night were a lovely touch.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilia100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I kept looking for Basil or Manuel to carry my bags for me. You do need an open mind when visiting The Russel and if you are to take away the maximum experience you need to realise that it is an old building in an old part of town. They have tried to capitalise on this by keeping the rooms and decor in period but it runs the risk of coming across as just old. Our room was basic with a double bed on suite with a television on a desk, kettle with tea and coffee, clothes iron, telephone and a desk. We did not have aircon but it was winter and an oil heater was provided.
The daily housekeeping was good at keeping things clean and tidy but our seat cussions were stained and the carpets were due replacement. A few water stains on the wall could have been seen to.
Breakfast is in the wine bar below the hotel and is a classic buffet breakfast of cerial, yogurt, croissants, toast, coffee and juice.
The hotels winning appeal however is its location. Wow! And it is for this reason why I would choose to stay there again should I find myself in Sydney. You roll out of bed onto the ferrys, trains, busses and bustelling energy of The Rocks. Sydney is never more accessable than from The Rocks and staying on its doorstep is worth turning a blind eye to the 'quaintness' of the hotel, considering you'll be out enjoying Sydney and only really returning there to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GDay79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed here 4 nights and had a fantastic time. The hotel must be in one the best locations in Sydney, right next to circular quay and in the Rocks area. The rooms are quaint and old fashioned but full of character. We had a cute window seat in our room. There is also a lovely rooftop area with great views where you can relax in the sun. The breakfast was ok. At the time we stayed they were in the process of putting in a lift but it was not operational yet. We didn't mind the stairs and thought it was part of the charm of staying in such an old character filled hotel however those with a lot of luggage or mobility problems will appreciate the lift. Don't stay in this hotel if you like modern, sleek rooms. You will love this hotel if you like hotels with a bit of character.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a room facing the road
See more room tips
Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nz_shez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#41 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,307 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Property: The Russell Hotel
Address: The Russell Hotel 143A George St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Russell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Hotel with just 29 delightfully different rooms is perfectly located for the Sydney visitor seeking a convenient and characterful base from which to explore this exciting city.Sydney is literally on your doorstep at the Russell with Circular Quay, Sydney Harbour and the Museum of Contemporary Art just across the road.The Russell Hotel is a gorgeous bed and breakfast hotel known for its superb location and charm.No two guest rooms are identical at The Russell. The Russell offers a variety of ensuite rooms and very affordable rooms with shared bathroom. The largest rooms overlook George Street whilst guests in search of tranquillity might prefer one of the courtyard rooms or one above Nurses Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing