We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location but something was off”
Review of The Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #50 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I loved the location and the history of the place. Room was well appointed and clean. Nice terrace.

But the energy was off and I just did not feel the price was worth it. Aloof service.

We are going back to Sydney and staying elsewhere.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank FraserCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

774 - 780 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

Located in The Rocks section of Sydney, The Russell is an ideal location for walking, sightseeing, and catching either the ferries or bus in Sydney. The hotel, built in the 1800's has historic charm and each room is different. Traveling on a budget, we reserved a "shared bath" room and found it to be just fine. The room was small, but they have a lovely sitting room with sofas, comfortable chairs and TV, so we had a very comfortable place to read, play cards, and watch TV -- usually by ourselves. The rooftop garden is also a very nice place to relax when the weather is good. The shared bathrooms are updated and on our floor there were two baths shared by seven rooms. Only once did I have to wait to use the bathroom and then I just went to the next floor -- no big deal. Bathrooms are cleaned several times a day so they always were fresh. They leave the doors to vacant rooms open and encourage guests to give themselves self-guided tours of other rooms. I found many lovely rooms with ensuite bathrooms -- great for those who want to upgrade. Robes, iron and ironing board, and a hot water pot with coffee and tea are provided in each room (instant coffee is typical in hotel rooms in Australia). Breakfast is included and is quite good: hard boiled eggs (still hot), various pastries and bread, fruit, yogurt and granola/cereals, juice and coffee -- what else does one need? Eating out in Australia is very expensive so we figured that The Russell saved us about $25.00/day in food expense. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a sign on the Rooftop Garden wall that says, "People arrive here as strangers and leave as friends." Its true.

Room Tip: If you are "noise sensitive" ask for a room away from the Wine Bar side of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happyretiree1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at The Russell for 2 nights prior to taking a cruise, It has so much personality and is located in a great location for walking around the heart of Sydney. We made our reservations several months before arriving so we could be sure to get a room. I was concerned about staying in a room with a shared bath but it was not a problem at all. The bathroom was always free when I needed it, sparkling clean and right across the hall from our bedroom. They were kind enought to store our luggage on the last day until we were ready to get on our ship. Everyone at the desk was extremely helpful. Charlie Lumsden really went out of the way to help us out. It was much appreciated!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daytontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I will admit that I am heavily biased to a good location and it's hard to beat this hotel's. But it is a quaint hotel - that means older. Our room was ok in size and the floor squeaked like crazy...but I'd stay here again. It is pricey so it's not a value hotel. Breakfast's were good.

Room Tip: George Street is very busy. Our room was in the middle of the hotel and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randalljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The hotel is in an ideal location, just yards away from Circular Quay - we arrived by train from the airport very easily, despite heavy suitcases. We decided to go for one of the rooms with an en-suite and really wished that we had paid for a bigger "superior" room. And unfortunately they were fully booked when we enquired about upgrading - so get in early!

I agree with an earlier reviewer that it's not cheap but then you're paying for the location which is absolutely ideal for getting about. Also it would be a nice gesture to have wifi included in the price but in reality it was only $5 for 24hrs.

Breakfast was simple but excellent and we also thoroughly enjoyed a meal in the Wine Bar one evening. Lovely friendly staff on reception.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room if you can afford to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pem243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

A warm and charming place - it's like staying at your granny's. Very clean, beautifully decorated and just a few steps away from the magnificent Sydney Harbour. Breakfast is good, and the evening chocolate is a nice touch. It's not cheap though, but then Sydney isn't. With the price it would be nice if internet were included. Try the wine bar too if you have the chance!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnettinaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

this was a great choice easy acsses to the sights for walking,and much more homely than the bland chain hotels,

Room Tip: pick a room with a loo,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viv s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#45 of 181 in Sydney
2,470 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 181 in Sydney
4,452 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Address: The Russell Hotel 143A George St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £83 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Russell Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Hotel with just 29 delightfully different rooms is perfectly located for the Sydney visitor seeking a convenient and characterful base from which to explore this exciting city.Sydney is literally on your doorstep at the Russell with Circular Quay, Sydney Harbour and the Museum of Contemporary Art just across the road.The Russell Hotel is a gorgeous bed and breakfast hotel known for its superb location and charm.No two guest rooms are identical at The Russell. The Russell offers a variety of ensuite rooms and very affordable rooms with shared bathroom. The largest rooms overlook George Street whilst guests in search of tranquillity might prefer one of the courtyard rooms or one above Nurses Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing