We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located!”
Review of The Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #50 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012

It worths because it´s nice location, very close to the bay and to the Opera House. Easy access to public transportation. The building is old, but the hotel is nice and cozy. There are some rooms with shared bathrooms, but they are very clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The wireless works ok and costs 5 aud per day. The breakfast is nice. I reccomend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marcolopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 767 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

I snagged a deal for this hotel on Wotif.com for AUD99 per room per night for a standard room with ensuite. I had spent a total of 9 nights in Sydney, 3 of which were in the Russell; the other 6 nights were spent in 2 other hostels.

After having spent 6 other nights in 2 hostels, i arrived at the Russell looking forward to a standard that i expected to be far higher. The first impression was that the hotel was a small one. the reception area was small and the room itself was small. the room was just enough to fit one double bed, one tiny coffee table, and one cupboard. there was also a decent-sized ensuite bathroom.

The bed was good - far better than the saggy and soft springs i had slept on in the hostels. the room faced a side road which meant that there was little road noise. however, there was an air-conditioning compressor (i think) outside the window which hummed along non-stop. The room was generally clean.

the toilet was good. hot water was readily available and water pressure was good. there were also bathrobes, an iron and a kettle, all nice touches that i appreciated.

Opening the cupboard, however, was not so nice an affair. i found a discarded colgate toothpaste box inside together with some empty pest bait box and some plastic toothbrush wrapping. obviously, housekeeping had missed that.

Overall, the Russell was an OK hotel. AUD99 is about the most i would pay for it. i certainly would not pay the online rate of AUD229 per night.

The Russell was definitely better than the hostels i stayed in in Sydney and the Blue Mountains. But not by much. Would i stay here again? For AUD99, yes! the location is fantastic! But if i had to pay the online rate, the competition becomes much stiffer.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that do not face the main road as i would imagine those rooms to be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shangjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Great little hotel with bags and bags of character! Beautifully turned out rooms with quirky detail. Great bar/pub downstairs and well located for everything Sydney has to offer. Recommended as an alternative to all the chains.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Just stayed at the Russell right in the center of The rocks. Beautiful rooms, relaxing reading room and a great breakfast downstairs in the Russell winebar. I would highly recommend this hotel, convenient to the bridge/circular key ferries jet boats and the Opera House. Top restaurants and eateries nearby .

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cyn200761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

As others have mentioned the Russell Hotel is a refurbished building first built in the 1800s and located in the historic Rocks area.
We specifically chose this hotel based upon positive TA reviews and the great location directly opposite the Museum of Contemporary Art, about 300m from Circular Quay and for us - very close to the Bridge Climb as we had an early evening climb scheduled.

Check-in/out friendly and efficient. The hotel has a lift connecting the floors which is very handy. Some of the rooms (ours No.27) are a fair way from the centrally located lift down and around some corridors.
If you have mobility concerns opt for a room on the lower level as some of the connecting corridors have a series of steps.
Our en suite (some rooms have shared conveniences) room had a separate sitting lounge area. The bathroom was modern with very good water pressure and toiletries provided.
Room was clean, bed was firm (we prefer) and provided with 4 pillows which we also prefer, usually - having to search for additional pillows or approach housekeeping.
The room faced the street and has a system of double glazing to mask the street noise. Foolishly, we decided to leave the window open during the night to gain some fresh air (winter) and were woken to the sounds of sirens due to a police car chase. There was an oil-filled heater in the room. (as well as an air-conditioner – which we didn’t use).
To agree with some other reviewers, there were a few chips of paint off the walls – perhaps a bit of TLC is overdue.

One anomaly; we had originally booked for the previous weekend - had to re-schedule to the following weekend due to some time constraints. Upon changing the booking to this weekend - we were charged an additional $AUD 10.00 - " because of school holidays" - which doesn't seem to make any sense apart from apparent profiteering.

Breakfast was standard continental fare, cereals, toast, juice, hardboiled egg, tea and coffee.
We enjoyed our one night at The Russell – surrounded by restaurants and the ambience of The Rocks – if you are searching for a Hilton experience – this isn’t for you – but if you like the idea of soaking up some of Sydney’s history – would recommend.

Room Tip: Try to book a room at the rear of the hotel - otherwise use the double glazing option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Vada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

this place is a must, it has so much character and warmth, i fell in love with this place, 3 generations of us had a night at the russell, we were made feel very welcome and they kindly let us check in early, as we had flown down from the goldcoast. we had arvo drinks on the rooftop courtyard and our rooms were gorgeous and very clean, as was our shared bathroom with lovely molton brown bath products. breakfast was perfect something for everyone, the staff were wonderful and friendly, i would like to keep this place my secret, but would reccomend this place for singles, lovers, or family,s,,,,,, its perfect, the only downside was we had to leave,,,,,. be sure to visit their sitting room, with lots of books to read on comfy lounges, great location for everything

Room Tip: all the rooms have different decor, some have ensuite, or you can share bathroom,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barefoottourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My final day in Australia post cruise was in Sydney so I decided to stay at the Rocks area. This Hotel is everything you can hope for: location, great price and great service. And the rooms are quite nice! They gave me advise on what to see with the very little time I had. I even booked the airport transfer through them. Book it, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcfialho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#45 of 181 in Sydney
2,471 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 181 in Sydney
4,454 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Address: The Russell Hotel 143A George St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £83 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Russell Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Hotel with just 29 delightfully different rooms is perfectly located for the Sydney visitor seeking a convenient and characterful base from which to explore this exciting city.Sydney is literally on your doorstep at the Russell with Circular Quay, Sydney Harbour and the Museum of Contemporary Art just across the road.The Russell Hotel is a gorgeous bed and breakfast hotel known for its superb location and charm.No two guest rooms are identical at The Russell. The Russell offers a variety of ensuite rooms and very affordable rooms with shared bathroom. The largest rooms overlook George Street whilst guests in search of tranquillity might prefer one of the courtyard rooms or one above Nurses Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing