We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay in the rocks”
Review of The Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #52 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Spent two nights with my wife and two daughters, ages 7 and 12. The Russell is a wonderful heritage hotel in a perfect location in the Rocks. Walk out the door onto George street. Obviously, an older building, but clean and amenities all top notch. Breakfast pleasant and
generous in the Wine Bar downstairs. Special thanks to Idan (?) who made me a double espresso and the girls hot chocolate as we were running late. All staff willing to assist with trip details and needs. One caution is the band noise from the Fortune of War bar a few doors down. Probably worst on weekends, and something the Russell has no control over, but might be an issue for some patrons...We would stay again in any case....

Room Tip: Avoid rooms right over the pub next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ognolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

758 - 764 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

We chose this for the convenient location. We knew there would be lots of steps, although there is a lift, but you can't avoid steps even with that. It is an old rabbit-warren, comfortably done up.
We paid for a Queen size bed and ensuite and being on the inner part of the hotel, it was lovely and quiet. If you were on the street side it might be a bit noisy. Continental breakfast was included and my husband thought it the best choice he'd had. We could walk everywhere we wanted to from there.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. Each room is different and differently decorated. We enjoyed Room 20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

You can't beat the location of the Russell -- in the Rocks and right across the street from Circular Quay.

The hotel is definitely average. It's a historic property, and would be equivalent to staying at your grandparents place... Aging, quant, and comfortable, but nothing to write home about.

The breakfast is basically toast or cereal with horrifically bad coffee. Mine was included but I ended up across the street at starbucks each morning to get my jolt instead.

An average hotel.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Pomacentrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and despite the shared bathroom situation really enjoyed our stay. The room was small but beautifully furnished and decorated to a high standard. The location is really perfect for an easy stroll to Circular Quay. There is a roof garden with a view of the bridge (just!). The staff are helpful and friendly. Most minor imperfections can be spirited away by being in such a perfect spot. There is a carpark next door which costs $25 per day to hotel guests. Breakfast is a Continental style buffet served in the wine bar downstairs. Overall a real gem of a place if you want to be in the thick of the harbour culture at a fraction of the cost! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Choose a room near the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetMinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

very disappointed after reading previous reviews & booking based on those comments. perhaps expectations were too high but the room we eventually stayed in was filthy. The picture on their website must have been taken when it was initially refurbished. There were no amenities like shower caps & only three towels per room (no wash cloths).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firstreview60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I cannont begin to describe how conveniently located this hotel is. Every tour we went on, every fantastic restaraunt, every train, every bus, and every ferry all pass through Circular Quay, which is right accross the park from the Russell. It is amazing how being so close to a major transportation hub it can be so quiet, classy and clean. The street it is on holds small upscale restaraunts, friendly pubs, wine bars, historic landmarks, souvenier shops, and the Museum of Modern Art. It seemed like every time we needed to run to the room for a change of clothes, a forgotten camera, or just a quick sit down between sights, it was right there on hand.

Before I overdo it, let me throw some cons in.
Older building-floors creak.
Water takes a long time to heat up.
Small beds
Small TV
No free WiFi

Now to counter those, some positive notes-
Very well maintained and modernized where possible- new stairwell and elevator.
Comfy, historic feel
Clean
Laundry service available(10 AUD)
Very friendly and helpful staff
Free breakfast
Wine bar downstairs
PERFECT LOCATION!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a bathroom are a big plus. Some of the lower rate rooms have shared bathrooms, so it all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ooklish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed Fri & Sat night as we had an engagement party to attend in the city. The Russell had everything we were after. Being winter, it was pretty empty so we didn't have to share the "shared" bathroom which was great. Staff seemed pretty attentive, so I'm sure it wouldnt have been an issue even if we did. The night we were out for the engagement party, the staff came and left a goodnight sweet on the bed which was a lovely touch! I agree with the great location reviews below, step out the door and youre right amongst it. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bvmeetsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#45 of 181 in Sydney
2,503 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
The Mercantile Hotel
The Mercantile Hotel
#108 of 181 in Sydney
250 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#40 of 181 in Sydney
4,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Address: The Russell Hotel 143A George St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £83 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Russell Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Hotel with just 29 delightfully different rooms is perfectly located for the Sydney visitor seeking a convenient and characterful base from which to explore this exciting city.Sydney is literally on your doorstep at the Russell with Circular Quay, Sydney Harbour and the Museum of Contemporary Art just across the road.The Russell Hotel is a gorgeous bed and breakfast hotel known for its superb location and charm.No two guest rooms are identical at The Russell. The Russell offers a variety of ensuite rooms and very affordable rooms with shared bathroom. The largest rooms overlook George Street whilst guests in search of tranquillity might prefer one of the courtyard rooms or one above Nurses Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing