We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great boutique hotel”
Review of The Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #37 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed here last in 1984 (!!!) – but it’s still a great little boutique hotel in the heart of the Rocks. As several reviewers have noted – it’s got bigger and things have been constantly updated over time. Do you like a modern hotel with lots of staff, identical fawn coloured rooms, ducted air-conditioning etc? Fine, I do too sometimes and there are plenty in Sydney. However, the Russell is quaint and welcoming and rather special in its own way. It has a strong, loyal client base and must have been running close to capacity when I was there.

Positives (based on Room 17) are – very comfortable bed, nice bathroom and lots of bathroom goodies, a good continental breakfast included with tarrif, nice friendly bar serving good pub food, helpful staff, a lift, reading room, roof garden, air-conditioning, fridge, room fans as well. Rooms at the front have double glazing although George St is quieter than it was in the 1980s. Or I’m losing my hearing.

As I commented before, the hotel now has about thirty rooms over the first and second floors, all with ensuites, except the ten or so rooms in the original, very picturesque part of the building which have a bathroom nearby (rooms 1,2,9,10,3,4,5,11,12,13). If this is an issue, as several reviewers have noted, book a different room. Also, Rooms 1 and 2 are over the front bar and 9 and 10 are above them, on the second floor. On Sunday afternoon the bar had a great live jazz band but I expect this could be noisy in Room 1 and 2 if you wanted an afternoon nap. It finished early however, and was inaudible at all times in the rest of the hotel.

I really wouldn't have a clue what places are good to eat at nearby - they all seemed to be tourist traps and really hit and miss.

I'm so glad I didn't stay again on the 15th floor of another anonymous chain hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    394
    112
    32
    21
See reviews for
134
445
100
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

i can only echo other good reviews. This was a lovely hotel, with an excellent location, especially for cruisers and super helpful staff. They were even gracious enough to store our luggage for 1/2 a day when we returned from our cruise even though we weren't staying with them again. Charming look, charming people.

Room Tip: we chose a room with an ensuite - was great. breakfast is included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed at the Russell for 3 nights and could not fault the hotel or the very friendly staff. Our room was on the first floor looking out onto George Street, and noise was no problem thanks to double glazed windows. The room was huge, the only things lacking were a bar fridge and a few more accessible powerpoints, but you have to accept that in a building of that age. Loved that character of the place.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room for added space and an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shazza1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

I only stayed here for one night on a recent trip to Sydney for a family function. You cannot beat the location or the helpful staff or the cleanliness and character of the rooms. I had a room at the back on Nurses' Walk which was quiet and functional. My only gripe would be that there is no fridge in the room for milk or other chilled items. There are a number of stairs and ups and downs between parts of the Hotel so not ideal for travellers with huge heavy bags or the elderly. Lift available but still stairs between sections. Beaut bar, sitting room, dining room and atmosphere. Lovely wines available. Would stay again but on the expensive side without fridge or free wifi. Marketed as boutique accommodation and this is accurate if a little inflated. Unbeatable proximity to all facilities including great restaurants, markets, circular quay railway and ferries, opera house....could go on and on. Highly recommend. Staff were very very helpful and friendly. Didn't try breakfast as the markets were on and sausages were cooking on a BBQ within walking distance!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cathydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerrussell, Manager at The Russell Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and particularly our amazing staff! We are working on putting mini fridges in the rooms so hopefully by the time you get back they'll be in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curlewis, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel does not deserve any of the bad reviews on this site. The hotel is situated within a few minutes walk to circular quay and from there a ferry ride to anywhere in the Sydney Harbor. We were in a Deluxe room with windows opening over George St. Here we could hear a little traffic noise, but nothing that was an issue. We read other complaints regarding noise from the bars below, and must admit we did hear some bands playing but this once again was not something we lost sleep about. The room we had had its own small en-suite, with plenty of hot water in the shower. The room had a portable air conditioner, but we didn't need to use. The ceiling fan in the room we did use and was great for air circulation. The finish in the room did have a heritage feel to it and was fitting to the hotel.

We used the breakfast service each morning, and contained the basics, 3 types of cereal, different types of bread for toasting, croissants, boiled eggs, juices, tea, coffee. It was a help your self service and fine to help start any travelers day.

The hotel is one of the most expensive we have ever stayed at, but would stay again. Location is the key to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed at the Russell back in May and was impressed by the staff's willingness to answer questions and give suggestions. The location is excellent right in heart of The Rocks, a mere five minute walk to the ferries. There are also numerous restaurants close by. The rooms show the age of the hotel, but they are well kept and clean.

You are paying most for the location at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

It was an amazing 6 day vacation for us in Sydney and thanks to Russell for making it a comfortable one. The best thing about Sydney is that it has a lot of places that one should most definitely visit. The Russell provided us with these opportunities as it is right next to the Harbor. We had quite a nice time touring on the ferries. Our visit to the Circular Quay, also within walking distance, was interesting. It was a nice, busy 6 days touring and exploring the museums, pubs, cafes etc that surrounded the hotel. The hotel, apart from offering various services and facilities also offered us a nice view from the garden on the roof top which made for some really memorable romantic evenings. The staff was very nice, trying to make us comfortable and offering information about the various places. We both really enjoyed the breakfast buffet which was plentiful and delicious (I loved the coffee and the soft, warm croissants they served). The view from our room was an amazing one but then we did have to deal with the noise but the double glazing on their windows helped tons. It’s an amazing 3 star hotel that gives you more than you have paid for.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#41 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,307 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Property: The Russell Hotel
Address: The Russell Hotel 143A George St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Russell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Hotel with just 29 delightfully different rooms is perfectly located for the Sydney visitor seeking a convenient and characterful base from which to explore this exciting city.Sydney is literally on your doorstep at the Russell with Circular Quay, Sydney Harbour and the Museum of Contemporary Art just across the road.The Russell Hotel is a gorgeous bed and breakfast hotel known for its superb location and charm.No two guest rooms are identical at The Russell. The Russell offers a variety of ensuite rooms and very affordable rooms with shared bathroom. The largest rooms overlook George Street whilst guests in search of tranquillity might prefer one of the courtyard rooms or one above Nurses Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing