We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a good choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #36 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a good choice”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

my husband and I have to stay 2 nites and a day on this Australia day 2014 to attend a family friends wedding in the Musuem of Contemporary Arts and i do not like to ride a train traveling just for the day in a long formal wear in a stiletto??.. so I ended looking for hotels at the rocks in the website and saw the russel hotel and some other ones..i compared everything, and ended up choosing The Russel hotel. for reasons only one room was available with a good value of money for 2 nites and one day, then a very good location coz it was a seconds walk away from where we r going to attend the venue, then most hotels around the vicinity were full and way to much for our budget..thankful for that they were full and we chosed The Russel hotel.. we were lucky just one room available and it was a standard room ensuite..then The Russel hotel has a pub downstairs and then connected to the Fortune of Wars, too were my husbands good buddy does gigs..it was all in good place..
The Russel hotel as seen in the website including Tripadvisors and other hotel websites, they just show a few room photos but mind you, when you are in that boutique hotel, I was able to adventure most rooms because when we arrived there it was still early for us to check in I went around and some room doors were open and I was able to have a look which the staff there said its all right coz those rooms are already reserved but the occupants haven't arrived yet so its ok to have a look..and wow,they all look very nice, some cozy, some looks like modern, some very boutique looking..yeah..i like the way they do the rooms..our room was nice, neat and tidy and have our own bath and toilet, have aircon , ceiling fan, TV, telephone, iron and ironboard the bed is comfortable..i cannot complain..the staffs were all nice, smiling, helpful whether they r from the reception, the cleaners and the maintainance, I cannot comment anything negative..yes, I agree the hotel itself looks tiny inside like the corridors and that narrow stairs going down to the Russel pub but we have to understand that this hotel is a historic building, its nice to retain the architectural plan, anyway, they renovated and added some parts in the building which will be easy for occupants to bring their luggages, they have lifts and wide staircase at the backdoor where it is now the usual entrance of the hotel..well abt the noise from the other side of the rooms situated in the street where there r music and nightouts , the hotel cannot do anything with that coz that is how the building was constructed dated back centuries ago, but those rooms, like ours, we were situated at the back of the street, the noise wasn't affecting us..this hotel also have shared bathrooms and toilets and they are always kept clean coz everytime I pass the corridors I can see it..they have a nice cozy reading or sitting room..i like the furnitures of the Russel coz some looks like antic but elegant ..the beddings too some look very colourful or traditionally quilts..they will provide u with towels and bathrobes, too but no toothbrush ..they have tea and coffee and water jug inside the rooms..for breakfast, u have to go down to the Russel pub they will be serving the same menu everyday but it didn't bother me..they have healthy cereals of different kinds, they have nice hot croissants, they have 2 types of sliced bread and u can toast them, they have hardboiled egg, butter, jam, honey and fresh cut fruits then u can put yogurt if u want, they have freshly brewed coffee 3 types of juices and also tea..
the location is just great, too..also the staff in the Russel pub r nice ppl too..anyway my first time to stay in a hotel in Sydney and it was a good experience altho my husband is a Sydney born man..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yvemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    389
    110
    31
    21
See reviews for
133
437
98
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The Russell is a historic hotel just one block from Sydney Harbor in The Rocks section of Sydney.
Quaint and charming with high ceilings, big windows and antiques. A very nice breakfast is included and the staff is great. Walk to the Opera House, botantical gardens and all the fun of tbe harbor with ferries going wherever you want to go and the train station clise by. Great restaurants abound.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the hotel are noisy. Better to ask gor one off the street. Some of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Rarely do I award 5 stars to any hotel...there is always something lacking...but the wonderful Russell is the perfect exception...no flashy interiors, chandeliers, mood-music and grovelling staff, just a welcoming smile that was reflected in everything the staff performed, real honest hospitality!

Yep, the place is a bit like a crazy rabbit-warren, the rooms fairly tiny...but we were only visiting so this was quaint and old-fashioned like the Rocks area itself. I intend to make The Russell my place to stay in Sydney...THAT'S how much I loved the place.

Pay this marvellous place a visit, and enjoy your stay...and tell 'em Sam sent you!

Room Tip: I believe that they have an attic room, which sounds great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

What a nice place to be, right in the middle of The Rocks. We did sightsee of Australia's first settlement. We tour and heard stories of historical buildings, murders, gang muggings and mysteries. A nice free tour and we enjoyed it on our budget. — At The Rocks, Sydney.

We eat a McDonald’s cheese burger and drank a bottle of wine in the Sitting Room of The Russell Hotel Balcony. We enjoyed our wine and burger while watching the street folks. What an amazing location that is a few minutes away from the Sydney Opera House, Circular Quay Ferries, Pubs and many shops. With a view of the Sydney Harbor Bridge, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilbert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed this hotel. The location was perfect as it is walking distance to a great deal of places. There is a great running route nearby which I enjoyed. The service was really good. The room itself was in pretty comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

what a great hotel and location! I really can't say enough about the location and how awesomely close it is to everything. 10 min walk to the Sydney Opera House, less than 5 to the Circular Quay, and 15ish to the Darling Harbor. the place itself has a bar downstairs too, which is nice for a night cap. the Russell is located in the Rocks, which is a great historical area with lots of bars, restaurants, and shops. even though we got a room without a bathroom (and thus had to go out of the room every time we had to shower or brush our teeth), it was still very comfortable. for such a tiny, tiny room, the bed and temperature was great. if anything, I just wish they would give us free wifi (it's a daily charge if you want it).

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank finncomics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We found the Russell to be excellent value for money. It is THE BEST position for visitors to Sydney: right on Circular Quay with direct, easy access to ferries, city trains and airport train. Two minutes from views of Sydney Harbour Bridge and The Opera House; a minute from the Museum of Contemporary Art where Yoko Ono's exhibition is showing now; a 10 minute walk to international standard Sydney Theatre Company. A selection of great eateries surround it, plus it has a great breakfast included. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The building is old (for Australia) and does creak and moan. The corridors twist and turn, but that adds to its character. We had just returned from Europe where buildings are always like that, so we felt right at home. The best recommendation we can give is that we will be back!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for an internal room away from street noise and the restaurants. We s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaroaWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 174 in Sydney
2,271 reviews
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
1,242 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Property: The Russell Hotel
Address: The Russell Hotel 143A George St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Russell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Hotel with just 29 delightfully different rooms is perfectly located for the Sydney visitor seeking a convenient and characterful base from which to explore this exciting city.Sydney is literally on your doorstep at the Russell with Circular Quay, Sydney Harbour and the Museum of Contemporary Art just across the road.The Russell Hotel is a gorgeous bed and breakfast hotel known for its superb location and charm.No two guest rooms are identical at The Russell. The Russell offers a variety of ensuite rooms and very affordable rooms with shared bathroom. The largest rooms overlook George Street whilst guests in search of tranquillity might prefer one of the courtyard rooms or one above Nurses Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing