We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”
Review of The Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #47 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014

What can I say, Cockroaches, no a/c, poor service, no wifi etc. steak was ok that I had in the pub below, breakfast was below average. I ordered the deluxe room, but I don't think it was any better than a basic room in other hotels. Nope.

Room Tip: Try another, steak was ok, breaky was average
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sunlover Holidays
5  Thank Willsta2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

656 - 662 of 933 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

Visited here under the recommendation of a friend and I was not disappointed, the staff are super friendly and helpful, the whole hotel itself is so quaint and has been maintained. Every room has its own style and decorations & the breakfast was quite good.
Location is fantastic, right next to Circular Quay, The Rocks and a short walk from the shopping district.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelswithacamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

For sure the best location in Sydney. Is the perfect to stay for walking around Sydney area. Its located in the most charmed street of Sydney in front of the amazing Museum of Contemporary Art. The hotel build is very charmed and all the room are very well decorated and full of character.
BAD NEWS WAS:
No airconditioning.
No Free Internet.
No 24h reception.
Noisy Room - you can hear during the night the garbage being thrown out of bar above.
The breakfast is poor,not much options of choice.
The Staff was a bit unpleasant, especially the staff serving the breakfast. They didn't look happy working there during our whole stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabrielMellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

my husband and I have to stay 2 nites and a day on this Australia day 2014 to attend a family friends wedding in the Musuem of Contemporary Arts and i do not like to ride a train traveling just for the day in a long formal wear in a stiletto??.. so I ended looking for hotels at the rocks in the website and saw the russel hotel and some other ones..i compared everything, and ended up choosing The Russel hotel. for reasons only one room was available with a good value of money for 2 nites and one day, then a very good location coz it was a seconds walk away from where we r going to attend the venue, then most hotels around the vicinity were full and way to much for our budget..thankful for that they were full and we chosed The Russel hotel.. we were lucky just one room available and it was a standard room ensuite..then The Russel hotel has a pub downstairs and then connected to the Fortune of Wars, too were my husbands good buddy does gigs..it was all in good place..
The Russel hotel as seen in the website including Tripadvisors and other hotel websites, they just show a few room photos but mind you, when you are in that boutique hotel, I was able to adventure most rooms because when we arrived there it was still early for us to check in I went around and some room doors were open and I was able to have a look which the staff there said its all right coz those rooms are already reserved but the occupants haven't arrived yet so its ok to have a look..and wow,they all look very nice, some cozy, some looks like modern, some very boutique looking..yeah..i like the way they do the rooms..our room was nice, neat and tidy and have our own bath and toilet, have aircon , ceiling fan, TV, telephone, iron and ironboard the bed is comfortable..i cannot complain..the staffs were all nice, smiling, helpful whether they r from the reception, the cleaners and the maintainance, I cannot comment anything negative..yes, I agree the hotel itself looks tiny inside like the corridors and that narrow stairs going down to the Russel pub but we have to understand that this hotel is a historic building, its nice to retain the architectural plan, anyway, they renovated and added some parts in the building which will be easy for occupants to bring their luggages, they have lifts and wide staircase at the backdoor where it is now the usual entrance of the hotel..well abt the noise from the other side of the rooms situated in the street where there r music and nightouts , the hotel cannot do anything with that coz that is how the building was constructed dated back centuries ago, but those rooms, like ours, we were situated at the back of the street, the noise wasn't affecting us..this hotel also have shared bathrooms and toilets and they are always kept clean coz everytime I pass the corridors I can see it..they have a nice cozy reading or sitting room..i like the furnitures of the Russel coz some looks like antic but elegant ..the beddings too some look very colourful or traditionally quilts..they will provide u with towels and bathrobes, too but no toothbrush ..they have tea and coffee and water jug inside the rooms..for breakfast, u have to go down to the Russel pub they will be serving the same menu everyday but it didn't bother me..they have healthy cereals of different kinds, they have nice hot croissants, they have 2 types of sliced bread and u can toast them, they have hardboiled egg, butter, jam, honey and fresh cut fruits then u can put yogurt if u want, they have freshly brewed coffee 3 types of juices and also tea..
the location is just great, too..also the staff in the Russel pub r nice ppl too..anyway my first time to stay in a hotel in Sydney and it was a good experience altho my husband is a Sydney born man..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yvemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The Russell is a historic hotel just one block from Sydney Harbor in The Rocks section of Sydney.
Quaint and charming with high ceilings, big windows and antiques. A very nice breakfast is included and the staff is great. Walk to the Opera House, botantical gardens and all the fun of tbe harbor with ferries going wherever you want to go and the train station clise by. Great restaurants abound.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the hotel are noisy. Better to ask gor one off the street. Some of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Rarely do I award 5 stars to any hotel...there is always something lacking...but the wonderful Russell is the perfect exception...no flashy interiors, chandeliers, mood-music and grovelling staff, just a welcoming smile that was reflected in everything the staff performed, real honest hospitality!

Yep, the place is a bit like a crazy rabbit-warren, the rooms fairly tiny...but we were only visiting so this was quaint and old-fashioned like the Rocks area itself. I intend to make The Russell my place to stay in Sydney...THAT'S how much I loved the place.

Pay this marvellous place a visit, and enjoy your stay...and tell 'em Sam sent you!

Room Tip: I believe that they have an attic room, which sounds great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

What a nice place to be, right in the middle of The Rocks. We did sightsee of Australia's first settlement. We tour and heard stories of historical buildings, murders, gang muggings and mysteries. A nice free tour and we enjoyed it on our budget. — At The Rocks, Sydney.

We eat a McDonald’s cheese burger and drank a bottle of wine in the Sitting Room of The Russell Hotel Balcony. We enjoyed our wine and burger while watching the street folks. What an amazing location that is a few minutes away from the Sydney Opera House, Circular Quay Ferries, Pubs and many shops. With a view of the Sydney Harbor Bridge, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilbert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#42 of 179 in Sydney
2,444 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
1,321 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
The Mercantile Hotel
The Mercantile Hotel
#108 of 179 in Sydney
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Address: The Russell Hotel 143A George St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £93 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Russell Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Hotel with just 29 delightfully different rooms is perfectly located for the Sydney visitor seeking a convenient and characterful base from which to explore this exciting city.Sydney is literally on your doorstep at the Russell with Circular Quay, Sydney Harbour and the Museum of Contemporary Art just across the road.The Russell Hotel is a gorgeous bed and breakfast hotel known for its superb location and charm.No two guest rooms are identical at The Russell. The Russell offers a variety of ensuite rooms and very affordable rooms with shared bathroom. The largest rooms overlook George Street whilst guests in search of tranquillity might prefer one of the courtyard rooms or one above Nurses Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing