We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm in the Rocks”
Review of The Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #39 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old world charm in the Rocks”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We really loved the character of the building and the location is great close to circular quay & all the ferries. Our room was spacious & well furnished. The staff were extremely helpful both at reception & the pub below where breakfast us served. The continental breakfast was generous & set us up for the day's sightseeing. We chose to have dinner in the pub below one night & the meal was lovely - better than your average pub grub. Save room for the desserts! Have stayed here before and would definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark and Roz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerrussell, Manager at The Russell Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Mark and Roz O,

Thank you for taking time to give your wonderful review of the Russell Hotel. I am glad you liked the character of the building, being built back in 1887 it is certainly full of character with a fantastic location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    399
    113
    34
    21
See reviews for
136
455
101
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

It's charming, I don't understand the negative comments. It's a fun old building with twists and turns, ups and downs. Our room definitely was air conditioned, the bedding of good quality and the bathroom (we booked en suite) just fine. Breakfast was included, a plus, and included a fine offering of fresh fruit, excellent yogurt, cereals, C&T , toast etc. It's not, thank goodness, a Holiday Inn, but a great place to stay in a perfect location.

Room Tip: They are all different, ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webaccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerrussell, Manager at The Russell Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear webaccount,

We appreciate you taking the time to review the Russell Hotel and It is pleasing to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. We agree with you our hotel is charming and every room is unique in their design, layout and features.

Warmest Regards,

Russell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga CA
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

When I visited Sydney last, about 25 years ago, I decided that for my next visit I would stay in the Rocks region. Unfortunately moderately upscale hotels are amazingly expensive in this part of the city. All else being equal I am willing to sacrifice some "fanciness" in order to stay in my desired location.

Based on the reviews I decided that The Russell would likely meet my desires. I called the hotel directly and enquired about the various room types. The reservationist recommended an air conditioned room for late February; I was able to book a superior en-suite for $280A/night.

What I liked:
--amazing location: a block from the Overseas Passenger Terminal cruiseport, perfect for travelers beginning or ending a cruise. Easy walking distance to various Rocks destinations, C.Q, Botanic Gardens, Queen Vic building, etc.
--staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We arrived about 9AM. The receptionist said that the previous occupants of our room had just checked out and she asked housekeeping to set up the room for us. Twenty minutes later we could check in. They even offered us a pre-flight shower on the afternoon after we had checked out.
--room was large and comfortable and the air conditioning was useful for the few hot days during our stay
--Wi-Fi ($5A/day) worked well and was very fast

Minor concerns:
--lack of refrigerator (a surprise, I thought that Australian rooms generally included a small refrig)
--lack of a desk; I used my laptop on my lap
--some pub noise on weekend nights, noticeable but not objectionable, generally quieting down about 11PM

Overall I was very pleased with my decision to book this hotel.

Room Tip: This hotel has a variety of accommodation levels including shared bath. Call the hotel to make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayakBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerrussell, Manager at The Russell Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear KayakBob,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Russell Hotel. We like to agree with you that we have a great location in The Rocks. It’s nice to hear you found our rooms quite spacious and our staff incredibly friendly and helpful!

We are looking to get refrigerators in each room in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Russell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I'm giving this 4 stars because I booked the hotel knowing the accommodations were minimal but the location was perfect. What I didn't know was that there was going to be no air conditioning and that was my own fault to assume that (never again lol). Other hotels in this location were starting at around $300-$350 a night so I told my girlfriend this wasn't going to be the Ritz but we could deal for 4 days. We got a room on the 3rd floor which was probably the smallest room I've ever shared with someone, there was barely room for all our luggage. The shared bathroom/shower situation was fine but the lack of air conditioning was killer. It was super hot and humid in the room so we had to keep the window open with the ceiling fan full blast. It was noisy on George Street so it was tough sleeping every night we were there. That being said the location is perfect, right next to Circular Quay and the Rocks. The trains and ferries are a 3 minute walk away and theres cabs and buses galore steps from the hotel. This hotel is as close to "roughing it" as you can get, a cheap podunk motel 6 is more comfortable than this hotel. If you can deal with the tiny room, no AC, shared bathroom and noise at night then this place is a steal in an area loaded with luxury hotels. I think if we went in the wintertime it would've been easier to deal with, but in the hot and humid summer time this place was pretty unbearable. Like I said amazing location but I wish I would've spent and extra $150 a night for extra space, AC and a bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerrussell, Manager at The Russell Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Adam B,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Russell Hotel.

We are sorry to hear that our Standard Room did not meet your expectations. Our Standard Rooms are our lead in rooms with fans and shared bathrooms and these rooms are priced accordingly. Most of our rooms have en suite bathrooms and air conditioning.

I hope we can welcome you back again at the Russell Hotel soon.

Warmest Regards,

Russell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The location of this hotel is second to none if you want to be near the main sights in Sydney, and the staff were friendly and helpful. However we were a little disappointed overall - the website describes the hotel as a boutique hotel, so we expected a little luxury, something special. We booked four double rooms with ensuite, and in each the decor was faded, the furniture rickety and grubby, one of the rooms was poky, one ceiling fan didn't work, some rooms had bath robes, others didn't. Noise from the pub next door was also a problem, keeping us awake until the early hours two nights. The roof garden had a huge air con unit on it and was very noisy! We'd travelled from the UK, so wanted our holiday to be perfect - we'd have happily paid more to stay somewhere nicer, but the website had persuaded us that The Russell would be great - it wasn't.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingtoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at The Russell for 4 nights during our Australia-trip. The Location is the absolutely Highlight of this Hotel (very near to Circular Quay and Sydney Opera house). Everything else was not to our satisfaction. The room was very dark, the bathroom had no fan, the breakfast was quite OK, but it took half an hour to get some new coffee, when it ran out. You are paying a lot of money (300 AUD per night) just for the Location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

An old hotel situated at the beginning of the Rocks area. Ideal for Circular Quay, the ferries, bus ,train and restaurants.
It does overlook George Street and is next to a convivial bar so is not the quietest place in town but we found our room at the back was fine. There is a pleasant lounge and a rooftop area to relax and look down on the always lively scene below.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The stairs are narrow and winding but there is a lift.
Do not expect four star luxury but our room was spotless and the bed very comfortable and we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a Superior en suite room overlooking Nurses Walk at the back of the hotel. it was spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186266Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 179 in Sydney
2,366 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
1,282 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Property: The Russell Hotel
Address: The Russell Hotel 143A George St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Russell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Hotel with just 29 delightfully different rooms is perfectly located for the Sydney visitor seeking a convenient and characterful base from which to explore this exciting city.Sydney is literally on your doorstep at the Russell with Circular Quay, Sydney Harbour and the Museum of Contemporary Art just across the road.The Russell Hotel is a gorgeous bed and breakfast hotel known for its superb location and charm.No two guest rooms are identical at The Russell. The Russell offers a variety of ensuite rooms and very affordable rooms with shared bathroom. The largest rooms overlook George Street whilst guests in search of tranquillity might prefer one of the courtyard rooms or one above Nurses Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing