We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location Near Cruise Terminal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #34 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location Near Cruise Terminal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We chose the Russell because of it's convenient location to the cruise terminal across the street and proximity to the quay circle following our Australian circumnavigation cruise. we wanted an extra day to explore Sydney before returning to USA. After disembarking our ship, we walked the 2 blocks to the Russell where our room was ready for us at 10AM. Our room (#22) was roomy and clean overlooking the park on George street. The Rocks area provided plenty of nearby attractions and eateries to accommodate our needs. Only concern was AC unit in window allowed a 12 inch beam of light from the street light outside stream thru the window all night. A night light of sorts.

Room Tip: Russel has ensuite and shared bath facilities. Make sure which style you are getting if it is import...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddelockery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerrussell, Manager at The Russell Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear ddelockery,

We appreciate you taking the time to review the Russell Hotel.

The Overseas Cruise Passenger Terminal is very conveniently located just a few minutes walk away. Thank you for the feedback regarding the light through the window, we will see what can be done about this.

I hope we can welcome you back again at the Russell Hotel soon.

Warmest Regards,

Russell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    383
    108
    31
    21
See reviews for
132
430
98
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

The hotel is an easy walk to the top attractions. It is in the middle of restaurants, bars, and snack shops. Just down the street is an outdoor market with great food and crafts. Most attractions are walkable, most easily walkable. The staff was always friendly and helpful. A great value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerrussell, Manager at The Russell Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Cherie L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Russell Hotel.

It is very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our location and your stay with us. We pride ourselves on great customer service and are always more than happy to assist.

Warmest Regards,

Russell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, Ca
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a very pleasant two night stay prior to leaving for a cruise at the nearby harbor. Getting to the hotel from the airport is very easy, using the airport train and getting off at Circular Quay. From there it is an easy 5 minute walk to the hotel, whose location is listed as The Rocks. On the day of embarkation, again it was a very easy 5 minute walk to the terminal and to the ship. We travel light and limit our luggage to one large piece per person and handbag size second pieces.

The hotel is on the second and third stories of a wine bar/restaurant. There is an elevator to the reception floor. Our room was large and tastefully decorated. The only difficulty was related to storage. There were no luggage racks available while we were there. We were told that they seem to "walk away." No wanting to un-pack for our two day stay, we left our luggage, opened on the floor and geared up for lots of bending over and stooping to get to our items on the floor.

Another similar problem was encountered in the bathroom. There was only one small shelf over the sink and it was the only place where we could store things like toothpaste toothbrushes, a glass, cleansers, make up, contact cases, etc. Some kind of additional shelving would have added a lot to the experience.

A continental breakfast is served downstairs in the wine bar/restaurant. The breakfast consisted of yogurt, granolas, hard boiled eggs, toast, coffee and juice. Based on the price of food in Sydney, having the continental breakfast included added much value. The staff person in the breakfast are was very reserved and not very communicative.

The reception staff was very helpful, welcoming, and cheerful. Wifi is available for an additional $4. AU per day.

The location is excellent. Everything is a quick walk away: the Sydney Bridge, the Opera House, the Botanical Gardens, the ferries, and the downtown. We took ferries to Manly Beach, Watson's Bay and to Darling Harbor.

I would stay again since the location is perfect, it includes a breakfast, and the reception staff are so pleasant.

Room Tip: Our room was located next to a spacious sitting room ( television, couches, books, etc.) that had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmuse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerrussell, Manager at The Russell Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear travelmuse1,

We appreciate you taking the time to review the Russell Hotel.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and managed to take advantage of our wonderful location.

Thank you for the feedback regarding storage in bedroom and bathroom, we are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience.

Warmest Regards,

Russell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We really loved the character of the building and the location is great close to circular quay & all the ferries. Our room was spacious & well furnished. The staff were extremely helpful both at reception & the pub below where breakfast us served. The continental breakfast was generous & set us up for the day's sightseeing. We chose to have dinner in the pub below one night & the meal was lovely - better than your average pub grub. Save room for the desserts! Have stayed here before and would definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark and Roz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerrussell, Manager at The Russell Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Mark and Roz O,

Thank you for taking time to give your wonderful review of the Russell Hotel. I am glad you liked the character of the building, being built back in 1887 it is certainly full of character with a fantastic location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

It's charming, I don't understand the negative comments. It's a fun old building with twists and turns, ups and downs. Our room definitely was air conditioned, the bedding of good quality and the bathroom (we booked en suite) just fine. Breakfast was included, a plus, and included a fine offering of fresh fruit, excellent yogurt, cereals, C&T , toast etc. It's not, thank goodness, a Holiday Inn, but a great place to stay in a perfect location.

Room Tip: They are all different, ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webaccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerrussell, Manager at The Russell Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear webaccount,

We appreciate you taking the time to review the Russell Hotel and It is pleasing to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. We agree with you our hotel is charming and every room is unique in their design, layout and features.

Warmest Regards,

Russell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga CA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

When I visited Sydney last, about 25 years ago, I decided that for my next visit I would stay in the Rocks region. Unfortunately moderately upscale hotels are amazingly expensive in this part of the city. All else being equal I am willing to sacrifice some "fanciness" in order to stay in my desired location.

Based on the reviews I decided that The Russell would likely meet my desires. I called the hotel directly and enquired about the various room types. The reservationist recommended an air conditioned room for late February; I was able to book a superior en-suite for $280A/night.

What I liked:
--amazing location: a block from the Overseas Passenger Terminal cruiseport, perfect for travelers beginning or ending a cruise. Easy walking distance to various Rocks destinations, C.Q, Botanic Gardens, Queen Vic building, etc.
--staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We arrived about 9AM. The receptionist said that the previous occupants of our room had just checked out and she asked housekeeping to set up the room for us. Twenty minutes later we could check in. They even offered us a pre-flight shower on the afternoon after we had checked out.
--room was large and comfortable and the air conditioning was useful for the few hot days during our stay
--Wi-Fi ($5A/day) worked well and was very fast

Minor concerns:
--lack of refrigerator (a surprise, I thought that Australian rooms generally included a small refrig)
--lack of a desk; I used my laptop on my lap
--some pub noise on weekend nights, noticeable but not objectionable, generally quieting down about 11PM

Overall I was very pleased with my decision to book this hotel.

Room Tip: This hotel has a variety of accommodation levels including shared bath. Call the hotel to make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KayakBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerrussell, Manager at The Russell Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear KayakBob,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Russell Hotel. We like to agree with you that we have a great location in The Rocks. It’s nice to hear you found our rooms quite spacious and our staff incredibly friendly and helpful!

We are looking to get refrigerators in each room in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Russell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I'm giving this 4 stars because I booked the hotel knowing the accommodations were minimal but the location was perfect. What I didn't know was that there was going to be no air conditioning and that was my own fault to assume that (never again lol). Other hotels in this location were starting at around $300-$350 a night so I told my girlfriend this wasn't going to be the Ritz but we could deal for 4 days. We got a room on the 3rd floor which was probably the smallest room I've ever shared with someone, there was barely room for all our luggage. The shared bathroom/shower situation was fine but the lack of air conditioning was killer. It was super hot and humid in the room so we had to keep the window open with the ceiling fan full blast. It was noisy on George Street so it was tough sleeping every night we were there. That being said the location is perfect, right next to Circular Quay and the Rocks. The trains and ferries are a 3 minute walk away and theres cabs and buses galore steps from the hotel. This hotel is as close to "roughing it" as you can get, a cheap podunk motel 6 is more comfortable than this hotel. If you can deal with the tiny room, no AC, shared bathroom and noise at night then this place is a steal in an area loaded with luxury hotels. I think if we went in the wintertime it would've been easier to deal with, but in the hot and humid summer time this place was pretty unbearable. Like I said amazing location but I wish I would've spent and extra $150 a night for extra space, AC and a bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerrussell, Manager at The Russell Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Adam B,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Russell Hotel.

We are sorry to hear that our Standard Room did not meet your expectations. Our Standard Rooms are our lead in rooms with fans and shared bathrooms and these rooms are priced accordingly. Most of our rooms have en suite bathrooms and air conditioning.

I hope we can welcome you back again at the Russell Hotel soon.

Warmest Regards,

Russell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#44 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
The Rocks
The Mercantile Hotel
The Mercantile Hotel
#108 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Property: The Russell Hotel
Address: The Russell Hotel 143A George St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Russell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Hotel with just 29 delightfully different rooms is perfectly located for the Sydney visitor seeking a convenient and characterful base from which to explore this exciting city.Sydney is literally on your doorstep at the Russell with Circular Quay, Sydney Harbour and the Museum of Contemporary Art just across the road.The Russell Hotel is a gorgeous bed and breakfast hotel known for its superb location and charm.No two guest rooms are identical at The Russell. The Russell offers a variety of ensuite rooms and very affordable rooms with shared bathroom. The largest rooms overlook George Street whilst guests in search of tranquillity might prefer one of the courtyard rooms or one above Nurses Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing