We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd never consider another place in Sydney!”
Review of The Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #45 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Everyone raves about the location for good reason; you don't have to spend time getting to the circular quay, which (for us) was the heartbeat of Sydney; the departure point for ferries, location of the opera and Botanical Gardens are close-by. The Rocks is also a very cool area with great restaurants; take the free late afternoon Rocks tour upon your arrival so you can become quickly oriented.

Loved the sense of history about the hotel and the staff (thank-you Maxine!) was at the ready to please, help with bookings and insure your comfort. Speaking of comfort, one thing I did not realize were some of the rooms are not air-conditioned. Our was not but we were able to switch rooms after a couple of days, with an "upgrade" in cost but in cities, air-conditioning when temps are above 75 during the day is important to us.

Room Tip: Request air-conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 887Peggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerrussell, Manager at The Russell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear 887Peggy,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Russell Hotel.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our perfect location with Circular Quay being just across the road and to hear the team looked after you during your stay.

Thank you for the feedback regarding air-conditioning, about half of our rooms have air-conditioning. We have fans in the rooms without air-conditioning.

Warmest Regards,

Russell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 927 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Set in a wonderful location, in the Rocks. 1 minute from the Museum of Contemporary Arts & 3 minutes from the ferries at Circular Quay. Very close to all the other classic Sydney attractions. We encountered many friendly & helpful hotel staff. We loved our room #11 overlooking the street & Galleria shops, it was very pretty with an antique but very comfy bed. All the rooms we saw were beautifully, and differently decorated in charming heritage type style. We had a share bathroom, which was very clean and new looking, with a good shower & towels and toiletries provided. The bathroom was also always available when needed.
There was also a nice lounge with a TV, for anyone who has time in between sightseeing to enjoy.
Many thanks to the kind female breakfast staff member who helped us get some coffee and breakfast even though it was after 9.30am, also to the desk duty manager who cheerfully looked after our bags for the day.
Although he hotel has many stairs, and small corridors there is a very modern lift installed. We also enjoyed the small roof garden area. We wished we could stay on for more than one night.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked nice, we were happy in our smaller room #11 - but some people might prefer a la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivienneSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerrussell, Manager at The Russell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear VivienneSydney,

Thank you for giving us a 5 star rating! We appreciate your kind words regarding our guest areas and our staff during your brief visit.

We will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Russell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We chose the Russell because of it's convenient location to the cruise terminal across the street and proximity to the quay circle following our Australian circumnavigation cruise. we wanted an extra day to explore Sydney before returning to USA. After disembarking our ship, we walked the 2 blocks to the Russell where our room was ready for us at 10AM. Our room (#22) was roomy and clean overlooking the park on George street. The Rocks area provided plenty of nearby attractions and eateries to accommodate our needs. Only concern was AC unit in window allowed a 12 inch beam of light from the street light outside stream thru the window all night. A night light of sorts.

Room Tip: Russel has ensuite and shared bath facilities. Make sure which style you are getting if it is import...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddelockery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerrussell, Manager at The Russell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear ddelockery,

We appreciate you taking the time to review the Russell Hotel.

The Overseas Cruise Passenger Terminal is very conveniently located just a few minutes walk away. Thank you for the feedback regarding the light through the window, we will see what can be done about this.

I hope we can welcome you back again at the Russell Hotel soon.

Warmest Regards,

Russell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The hotel is an easy walk to the top attractions. It is in the middle of restaurants, bars, and snack shops. Just down the street is an outdoor market with great food and crafts. Most attractions are walkable, most easily walkable. The staff was always friendly and helpful. A great value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerrussell, Manager at The Russell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Cherie L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Russell Hotel.

It is very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our location and your stay with us. We pride ourselves on great customer service and are always more than happy to assist.

Warmest Regards,

Russell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a very pleasant two night stay prior to leaving for a cruise at the nearby harbor. Getting to the hotel from the airport is very easy, using the airport train and getting off at Circular Quay. From there it is an easy 5 minute walk to the hotel, whose location is listed as The Rocks. On the day of embarkation, again it was a very easy 5 minute walk to the terminal and to the ship. We travel light and limit our luggage to one large piece per person and handbag size second pieces.

The hotel is on the second and third stories of a wine bar/restaurant. There is an elevator to the reception floor. Our room was large and tastefully decorated. The only difficulty was related to storage. There were no luggage racks available while we were there. We were told that they seem to "walk away." No wanting to un-pack for our two day stay, we left our luggage, opened on the floor and geared up for lots of bending over and stooping to get to our items on the floor.

Another similar problem was encountered in the bathroom. There was only one small shelf over the sink and it was the only place where we could store things like toothpaste toothbrushes, a glass, cleansers, make up, contact cases, etc. Some kind of additional shelving would have added a lot to the experience.

A continental breakfast is served downstairs in the wine bar/restaurant. The breakfast consisted of yogurt, granolas, hard boiled eggs, toast, coffee and juice. Based on the price of food in Sydney, having the continental breakfast included added much value. The staff person in the breakfast are was very reserved and not very communicative.

The reception staff was very helpful, welcoming, and cheerful. Wifi is available for an additional $4. AU per day.

The location is excellent. Everything is a quick walk away: the Sydney Bridge, the Opera House, the Botanical Gardens, the ferries, and the downtown. We took ferries to Manly Beach, Watson's Bay and to Darling Harbor.

I would stay again since the location is perfect, it includes a breakfast, and the reception staff are so pleasant.

Room Tip: Our room was located next to a spacious sitting room ( television, couches, books, etc.) that had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmuse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerrussell, Manager at The Russell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear travelmuse1,

We appreciate you taking the time to review the Russell Hotel.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and managed to take advantage of our wonderful location.

Thank you for the feedback regarding storage in bedroom and bathroom, we are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience.

Warmest Regards,

Russell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We really loved the character of the building and the location is great close to circular quay & all the ferries. Our room was spacious & well furnished. The staff were extremely helpful both at reception & the pub below where breakfast us served. The continental breakfast was generous & set us up for the day's sightseeing. We chose to have dinner in the pub below one night & the meal was lovely - better than your average pub grub. Save room for the desserts! Have stayed here before and would definitely stay again.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Mark and Roz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerrussell, Manager at The Russell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Mark and Roz O,

Thank you for taking time to give your wonderful review of the Russell Hotel. I am glad you liked the character of the building, being built back in 1887 it is certainly full of character with a fantastic location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

It's charming, I don't understand the negative comments. It's a fun old building with twists and turns, ups and downs. Our room definitely was air conditioned, the bedding of good quality and the bathroom (we booked en suite) just fine. Breakfast was included, a plus, and included a fine offering of fresh fruit, excellent yogurt, cereals, C&T , toast etc. It's not, thank goodness, a Holiday Inn, but a great place to stay in a perfect location.

Room Tip: They are all different, ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webaccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerrussell, Manager at The Russell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear webaccount,

We appreciate you taking the time to review the Russell Hotel and It is pleasing to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. We agree with you our hotel is charming and every room is unique in their design, layout and features.

Warmest Regards,

Russell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#42 of 179 in Sydney
2,420 reviews
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 179 in Sydney
1,316 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Address: The Russell Hotel 143A George St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £105 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Russell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Hotel with just 29 delightfully different rooms is perfectly located for the Sydney visitor seeking a convenient and characterful base from which to explore this exciting city.Sydney is literally on your doorstep at the Russell with Circular Quay, Sydney Harbour and the Museum of Contemporary Art just across the road.The Russell Hotel is a gorgeous bed and breakfast hotel known for its superb location and charm.No two guest rooms are identical at The Russell. The Russell offers a variety of ensuite rooms and very affordable rooms with shared bathroom. The largest rooms overlook George Street whilst guests in search of tranquillity might prefer one of the courtyard rooms or one above Nurses Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing