We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Rocks”
Review of The Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #55 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at the Russell Hotel in the Rocks section of Sydney. Had a very nice sized room, King sized bed. Many dining spots within a short walk.Location is right across from a small park on the famous Sydney Harbor. We were there a few days before a cruise and were easily able to walk from the Hotel to the Cruise ship.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

645 - 651 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is a quirky hotel; individual style rooms with a vintage feel - clean and pleasant, and we had good views across the harbour. There are shared bathrooms which was OK but not ideal, particularly when getting ready in the morning. The staff were welcoming and helped us with maps and info and sorting our online flight check in for the next day. Breakfast was continental only and a little basic, but adequate. The biggest issue was that our rooms were over the bar which is part of the hotel building. We were not informed of this when booking. We were staying on a Friday night so the bar was packed until late and also had live music, which was exceedingly loud and not necessarily of the highest standard! If you like that then it would be ideal; if you don't then you won't get much sleep!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebraBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Russell and would recommend it. Without having to pay the huge cost of a SOH view, you are only a minute or two walk from a beautiful view of the opera house.

The breakfast, while not a hot one, was very good. It was a mix of fruit, cereals, and breads you could toast.

As for the internet, it is available, but costs $5 per day which isn't horrible compared with how much everything else costs in Australia.

The only issue I had was with the light on the lamp post right outside our window. We were in room 17 and even with the curtains completely shut the light from that lamp still came in over the top of the shades. If anything I would ask management if they could look into doing something to correct this but since it wasn't their lamp I sure can't dock them for it.

Room Tip: If you can get one, I would recommend a room with a private bathroom. We had one and it was well wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I like the Russell Hotel in Sydney, primarily due to its fantastic location. You have to like a rustic character to appreciate this hotel. Its rough around the edges but clean and depending on the room type you have can be quite a pleasant surprise. I did not like that there was no internet. I did like breakfast downstairs every morning, along with the oldest pub in Sydney, The Fortunes of War. If you are looking for modern - then go somewhere else. If you appreciate character then this may be your spot. Like I said the location is unbeatable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the pub downstairs - noisy on weekends there. Also I prefer a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jix_Logan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed here for a few days while visiting Sydney. The building is beautiful, and the interior has been nicely restored. The location is great, just minutes from pubs, restaurants, and Circular Quay. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

Given that this is an old building, you should expect that each room is a bit different, and you will hear odd creaks and noises. It doesn't have the consistency or amenities of a large chain, but if you're looking for something a bit different then I recommend this. My room was on the small side, but fine for a single traveller. Internet was $5/day, which for Australia is pretty good. Overall I was happy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sebastian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Sydney is filled with expensive hotels and it was nice to find The Russell Hotel. It is located in The Rocks area, which is a great central location. While this is more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel, I can deal with the bathroom being just down the hall when the room was about half what other hotels were charging. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a laptop in the reception area that you can use for free to check email or check-in for your flight. The breakfast was fairly lame, but it was included. The Russell is worth checking out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyairdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here on our last night in sydney before heading home. The location was perfect being able to step out of the hotel and be in the middle of the rocks area and walking distance to circular quay transport. Thought we would be staying in a "dive" as the price was quite cheap for the area. A pleasant surprise awaited us with a very quaint room..monkeys in the trees wallpaper and an asian style room. Only thing can fault was the room was really small and bed a double size and for my husband who is 6'4" tall was a bit uncomfortable, however the room was clean and well presented with fresh flowers . Will stay again next time in sydney. Breakfast was also included.

Room Tip: All rooms are individually designed - a refreshing treat and quaint. Rooms are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#45 of 186 in Sydney
2,535 reviews
The Rocks
The Mercantile Hotel
The Mercantile Hotel
#112 of 186 in Sydney
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#22 of 186 in Sydney
6,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Address: The Russell Hotel 143A George St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £91 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Russell Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Hotel with just 29 delightfully different rooms is perfectly located for the Sydney visitor seeking a convenient and characterful base from which to explore this exciting city.Sydney is literally on your doorstep at the Russell with Circular Quay, Sydney Harbour and the Museum of Contemporary Art just across the road.The Russell Hotel is a gorgeous bed and breakfast hotel known for its superb location and charm.No two guest rooms are identical at The Russell. The Russell offers a variety of ensuite rooms and very affordable rooms with shared bathroom. The largest rooms overlook George Street whilst guests in search of tranquillity might prefer one of the courtyard rooms or one above Nurses Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing