We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“character and location!”
Review of The Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #37 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Nambour, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“character and location!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

If your use to staying at the Hilton, need a gym, pool, television, then the Russel is not for you. If however you like character, charm and being right in the rocks, then the Russels got you covered. The Location is fanstastic. We got the train from the airport to Circular Quay and walked to 2 minutes to the hotel.

We booked a standard room, and though it was small, it had everything we needed; comfy bed, tastefully decorated, tea and coffee making facilities, robes, no telly- but your in the rocks, so get amongst it! We had a shared bathroom that was across the hall, which was immaculate, and I didnt see another person ever use it.

We used the roof top bar every afternoon for drinks which was nice.

Breakfast was good, continental; toast, crossiants, cereals, fruit, yogurt and boiled eggs etc.

We also had drinks at the Fortune of War downstairs, which allowed us to charge drinks up to our room(beware!) and had a great atmosphere.

We will be back for sure :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnymum11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    395
    113
    33
    21
See reviews for
135
451
101
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Rocks / Circular Quay location is excellent. Hotel is created from a group of three old historic buildings joined together and internally is a maze of little corridors, stairs and rooms which add to its old world charm. The rooms vary in size significantly. Our $269 a night deluxe ensuite room was spacious and adequate, some rooms appeared very small with shared bathrooms. It has all been done with some style although is now starting to look tired and in need of some rejuvenation while still maintaining its old style and feel. Continental breakfast was reasonable but nothing special. Staff were adequate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at the Russell Hotel in the Rocks section of Sydney. Had a very nice sized room, King sized bed. Many dining spots within a short walk.Location is right across from a small park on the famous Sydney Harbor. We were there a few days before a cruise and were easily able to walk from the Hotel to the Cruise ship.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is a quirky hotel; individual style rooms with a vintage feel - clean and pleasant, and we had good views across the harbour. There are shared bathrooms which was OK but not ideal, particularly when getting ready in the morning. The staff were welcoming and helped us with maps and info and sorting our online flight check in for the next day. Breakfast was continental only and a little basic, but adequate. The biggest issue was that our rooms were over the bar which is part of the hotel building. We were not informed of this when booking. We were staying on a Friday night so the bar was packed until late and also had live music, which was exceedingly loud and not necessarily of the highest standard! If you like that then it would be ideal; if you don't then you won't get much sleep!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebraBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Russell and would recommend it. Without having to pay the huge cost of a SOH view, you are only a minute or two walk from a beautiful view of the opera house.

The breakfast, while not a hot one, was very good. It was a mix of fruit, cereals, and breads you could toast.

As for the internet, it is available, but costs $5 per day which isn't horrible compared with how much everything else costs in Australia.

The only issue I had was with the light on the lamp post right outside our window. We were in room 17 and even with the curtains completely shut the light from that lamp still came in over the top of the shades. If anything I would ask management if they could look into doing something to correct this but since it wasn't their lamp I sure can't dock them for it.

Room Tip: If you can get one, I would recommend a room with a private bathroom. We had one and it was well wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I like the Russell Hotel in Sydney, primarily due to its fantastic location. You have to like a rustic character to appreciate this hotel. Its rough around the edges but clean and depending on the room type you have can be quite a pleasant surprise. I did not like that there was no internet. I did like breakfast downstairs every morning, along with the oldest pub in Sydney, The Fortunes of War. If you are looking for modern - then go somewhere else. If you appreciate character then this may be your spot. Like I said the location is unbeatable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the pub downstairs - noisy on weekends there. Also I prefer a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jix_Logan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed here for a few days while visiting Sydney. The building is beautiful, and the interior has been nicely restored. The location is great, just minutes from pubs, restaurants, and Circular Quay. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

Given that this is an old building, you should expect that each room is a bit different, and you will hear odd creaks and noises. It doesn't have the consistency or amenities of a large chain, but if you're looking for something a bit different then I recommend this. My room was on the small side, but fine for a single traveller. Internet was $5/day, which for Australia is pretty good. Overall I was happy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#45 of 178 in Sydney
2,344 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
1,271 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Property: The Russell Hotel
Address: The Russell Hotel 143A George St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Russell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Hotel with just 29 delightfully different rooms is perfectly located for the Sydney visitor seeking a convenient and characterful base from which to explore this exciting city.Sydney is literally on your doorstep at the Russell with Circular Quay, Sydney Harbour and the Museum of Contemporary Art just across the road.The Russell Hotel is a gorgeous bed and breakfast hotel known for its superb location and charm.No two guest rooms are identical at The Russell. The Russell offers a variety of ensuite rooms and very affordable rooms with shared bathroom. The largest rooms overlook George Street whilst guests in search of tranquillity might prefer one of the courtyard rooms or one above Nurses Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing