We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home - definitely staying here again!”
Review of The Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #50 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed at The Russell for three days in June 2014, when I took my mother here for her birthday. This is a charming, cosy and beautifully refurbished old building in The Rocks area, full of the personality and soul which is lacking in more modern concrete and steel structures. It is easily accessed on the direct line of the airport link train, with the train station at Circular Quay being only 5 minutes' walk from the hotel - so easy with luggage! The staff went out of their way to welcome us, and to assist and provide little 'extras', e.g. our room ready hours before the scheduled check-in time (which was so helpful when arriving after a fight), little chocolates on pillows, friendly chats in the corridor, extra help when I had printing problems with the boarding pass for my return fight, day-long luggage storage in the porter's room before my evening return flight, etc. Our room and en-suite were attractive, warm and very clean, and serviced daily with clean linen and towels. The beds were excellent. The included breakfast is quite satisfactory and a time-efficient, convenient start to a day's exploring of the historic locality. The location is picturesque and superb! There is so much to see; we were able to walk to everything we wanted to see, and there is always the free 555 City Shuttle bus stop nearby (opposite Circular Quay) if you get weary. There are plenty of small interesting shops, and local cafes, pubs and restaurants for coffee/meals. This hotel and the staff are just lovely! I will definitely choose this establishment again!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front experience a little street noise in the evenings from city council service vehicl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindas_receiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 627 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Took a few days break in Sydney with the family and found this hidden gem. Quite different from any of the "modern" hotels that I frequent. Loads of character, charm and history. Located in a fantastic position within staggering distance to Circular Quay. Fantastic breakfast (included in room price), wonderful staff and clean, comfortable rooms. Will be on my "Must stay here again" list.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WigB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed two nights at The Russell Hotell in may 2014. This is a very nice and cozy hotel, and it has a PERFECT location! I stayed in a room with shared bathroom because it was cheaper. The bathroom was big and very nice. Didn't notice at all that we were several people using it. New towels everytime I used it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I arrived before check-in, but I got to use the shower to freshn up after the long travel. The hotel is located in the Rocks, a very nice area. And you can walk in five minutes to Circular Quey where the airport train passes by. If you're in Sydney for a short time, this is really a nice place to stay. You can get around fast. And from just 100 meters away from the hotel, you have one of the best view to the Opera House.
Overall, it was one of my best hotel experience all times!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the street may have a little noise in the nights. Don't bother with a private bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariannearnemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Went down to Sydney for a romantic weekend. The location of the Russell Hotel is perfect (next to central station, opera house and the bridge).
We had a great time, the service was perfect and the breakfast included was very satisfying.
Had a share bathroom: cleaned regularly for the best comfort of guests.
Perfection

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank margben17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Although I had lived in Sydney many years ago, my wife had not been to Australia, and I wanted to find a funky, authentically old fashioned hotel near the harbor. That meant looking in The Rocks. Other reviews for this property were favorable and we stayed here for three nights before sailing on a cruise from the (very) nearby cruise terminal. A word of warning: we gave the taxi driver the address on our way in from the airport, but he could not find it. We arrived at night, found the right block of George Street, but there was no #143A visible. We stopped the cab. I got out and walked up a wide pedestrian pathway and there it was - an entrance on the side of the building with a canopy bearing the hotel's name. There was no doorman, as such, but a member of the staff helped us with our (many) bags - and took no tip! Talk about funky - once inside the main entrance, you had to go up a short flight of stairs, or in a small elevator, to reception. We had a room on the top floor, facing the street, with private bath. It was my impression that a majority of the rooms share a bath and we would not have booked here if that was required. Each floor is laid out in a square, around an open central airway, and there are a sequence of steps leading to slightly higher or lower levels. Odd, but rather charming nonetheless. Unlike all modern hotels, the windows actually opened and there was also air conditioning with manual controls - plus a ceiling fan in the bedroom. There was a small sitting room with hot plate and television. The room was clean and comfortable. A special word of thanks to the front office staff who were all very friendly, knowledgeable, and very helpful. The restaurant for the hotel is a pub, with a separate George Street entrance, which can be reached by a set of steep stairs (or elevator) from the reception lobby. A continental breakfast (included) is served here every morning. The small roof top garden terrace has a lovely view of the Harbor Bridge and is a pleasant place to sit with a glass of wine, weather permitting. The location in The Rocks is simply terrific. Walking distance to everything - good restaurants, shops of all kinds (including globally recognized high end brands), a pharmacy, banks, etc. Nothing in Australia is inexpensive and The Russell is no exception. At A$275 per night, I would guess it was a better deal than the Four Seasons, located just a block away. If you want a sleek, modern hotel and all that comes with it, The Russell is not for you. If you would like to experience what staying in a Sydney hotel was like in the 1920's and 1930's, this is just the ticket. If and when we return, we will stay here again. Highly recommended for those that want to venture off the beaten track and get a glimpse of the Australia of yesteryear.

Room Tip: Book a higher floor, facing George Street. A private bath is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank wpdame3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I'm in my room as I write this. I wanted a change from the corporate hotels which are all rather similar. This is a lovely hotel with rooms like your bedroom at home. Staff are very friendly. Shower is hot and powerful. It is a very short walk to circular quay. I like it and would def stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Anita866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Absolutely a most splendid location at The Rocks. Hotel has a renovated and refurbished history. Breakfast room overlooking Nurses Walk laneway, breakfast is included in the rate. Sitting room with balcony overlooking George Street, a rooftop garden overlooking the street with view of The Harbour Bridge. Building has a lift and many stairs. A real rabbit warren with so much character, never seen a hotel quite like this one. Downstairs bar with all-day food service. Quick easy access to Circular Quay, trains, buses, cruise ship terminal.

Room Tip: No fridges or microwaves in rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#45 of 181 in Sydney
2,470 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 181 in Sydney
4,454 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Address: The Russell Hotel 143A George St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £83 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Russell Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Hotel with just 29 delightfully different rooms is perfectly located for the Sydney visitor seeking a convenient and characterful base from which to explore this exciting city.Sydney is literally on your doorstep at the Russell with Circular Quay, Sydney Harbour and the Museum of Contemporary Art just across the road.The Russell Hotel is a gorgeous bed and breakfast hotel known for its superb location and charm.No two guest rooms are identical at The Russell. The Russell offers a variety of ensuite rooms and very affordable rooms with shared bathroom. The largest rooms overlook George Street whilst guests in search of tranquillity might prefer one of the courtyard rooms or one above Nurses Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing