We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Old Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$174
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$146
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Four Seasons Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
InterContinental Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (995)
Filter reviews
995 results
Traveller rating
379
432
119
40
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
379
432
119
40
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomrooftop gardencircular quayhard boiled eggsceiling fanopera housemuseum of contemporary artsitting roomgreat locationrocks arearabbit warrencontinental breakfastcruise terminalbar downstairsno air conditioninggeorge streetyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
653 - 658 of 995 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I choose The Russell when in Sydney as I take the train from the airport to Circular Quay and it is a 4 minute walk. It is convenient to access the Opera House for concerts etc I'm then charmed by The Rocks and enjoy the markets nearby. I know I can go for a safe walk. I love the period styling of the bedrooms and the breakfast is satisfying.

Room Tip: Its worth paying a little extra for a double bed as a single guest, as the single room comes with a single bed.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank margaret a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Located very closed to famous tourist attraction, very nice coffee shop and store nearby. Just a minute walk to Queen Victoria Building.. Excellent service from Mrs. Maxine the Reception Agent.
Classic and cozy room, clean and neat.
Ground floor you will find a very classy bar. Tasty food and wine!

Love the crickey floor!! It makes this hotel feels more vintage!

Try Russel hotel if you like classic ,homey in europian style hotel..

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LidyaNatalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great location, an easy walk to all the Rocks hot spots. The room was comfortable, clean, nice and warm but I missed having a bath. The staff were very friendly. We would stay again. Parking was easy too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had an excellent, quiet room with a very comfortable queen-sized bed and lots of pillows. The bathroom was awesome with walk-in shower and black-and-white tiles. I'm not sure there was any air conditioning available but we certianly didn't need it - we opened the windows and enjoyed the fresh air all night long, and it was plenty quiet to do so. Buffet breakfast was included and was excellent with many choices (including Vegomite for the die-hards). Location can't be beat -- right in the heart of the rocks. Hats off to our host was who incredibly helpful, pleasant and very hospitable. TOTAL SURPRISE --DO NOT MISS THE ROOFTOP - where we brought our own adult beverages and enjoyed the sun and scenery.. This is not your high-polish and glitz hotel (the FourSeasons is next door) but this is a classic and charming, totally comfortable hotel. We look forward to returning and experiencing the under-renovation bar downstairs! Hands-down, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joanm816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The people at the Russell were most helpful in every respect, and the room was charmingly vintage, but in no way shabby. It had the feel of a bed and breakfast. The cost was reasonable and the location wonderful. It lived up to all its advertising. Suggestion: Please put an extra shelf in the bathrooms. There is not enough shelf space for one's personal items. Also, the fact that the bathroom door is spring-loaded to close and the handle very squeeky was annoying at night while trying to avoid waking one's spouse.

Room Tip: Ask for back side of hotel not facing George Street; it is quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews