We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rock on down!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #36 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Rock on down!!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

For a fast visit to a great city I reckon this is as good a location as you can get...Not surprising the 4 Seasons is next door! Compact and friendly this little slice of traditional hotel atmosphere was just what the doctor ordered after 30 hours flying from Ireland. Not sure it would be great for family but for the single or couple a great option. I liked the quirky old furniture and felt part of Sydney not some franchise! Shared bathroom - it's been a while since I experienced that but all very clean and great value. Breakfast was decent enough. Highly recommend for a tourist who want to make his /her own way around.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    389
    110
    31
    21
See reviews for
133
437
98
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Brilliant location, comfortable beds and free WiFi were really appreciated. Nice sitting room and roof garden.

We stayed at The Russell a couple of years ago and loved it but this time was disappointing. We had a superior twin room for ourselves and a standard double with ensuite for the 16 year-old. Superior room was fine but the connecting (locked) door to the next room was not soundproof so conversation, sneezes, coughs etc were easily heard - thank goodness they didn't snore and were not night-owls.
The double room was very small; the shower didn't work properly (although attended to quickly on request),the tv remote didn't work and the tv was only viewable from one side of the bed; the carpet was stained; there is no fridge.

I realise this is a historic hotel consisting of more than one property joined by steps, stairs and narrow passageways. I can see no mention in the hotel blurb of the difficulty anyone with mobility problems would have, even using the lift.

Included breakfast was adequate.

Sorry, this review sounds like nit-picking but I could have stayed in Philip St for half the cost and 300m further along George St for appreciably less, but I thought a boutique property would be worth the extra.

As someone has already said we found it more shabby than chic.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I choose The Russell when in Sydney as I take the train from the airport to Circular Quay and it is a 4 minute walk. It is convenient to access the Opera House for concerts etc I'm then charmed by The Rocks and enjoy the markets nearby. I know I can go for a safe walk. I love the period styling of the bedrooms and the breakfast is satisfying.

Room Tip: Its worth paying a little extra for a double bed as a single guest, as the single room comes with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank margaret a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Located very closed to famous tourist attraction, very nice coffee shop and store nearby. Just a minute walk to Queen Victoria Building.. Excellent service from Mrs. Maxine the Reception Agent.
Classic and cozy room, clean and neat.
Ground floor you will find a very classy bar. Tasty food and wine!

Love the crickey floor!! It makes this hotel feels more vintage!

Try Russel hotel if you like classic ,homey in europian style hotel..

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LidyaNatalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great location, an easy walk to all the Rocks hot spots. The room was comfortable, clean, nice and warm but I missed having a bath. The staff were very friendly. We would stay again. Parking was easy too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had an excellent, quiet room with a very comfortable queen-sized bed and lots of pillows. The bathroom was awesome with walk-in shower and black-and-white tiles. I'm not sure there was any air conditioning available but we certianly didn't need it - we opened the windows and enjoyed the fresh air all night long, and it was plenty quiet to do so. Buffet breakfast was included and was excellent with many choices (including Vegomite for the die-hards). Location can't be beat -- right in the heart of the rocks. Hats off to our host was who incredibly helpful, pleasant and very hospitable. TOTAL SURPRISE --DO NOT MISS THE ROOFTOP - where we brought our own adult beverages and enjoyed the sun and scenery.. This is not your high-polish and glitz hotel (the FourSeasons is next door) but this is a classic and charming, totally comfortable hotel. We look forward to returning and experiencing the under-renovation bar downstairs! Hands-down, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanm816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The people at the Russell were most helpful in every respect, and the room was charmingly vintage, but in no way shabby. It had the feel of a bed and breakfast. The cost was reasonable and the location wonderful. It lived up to all its advertising. Suggestion: Please put an extra shelf in the bathrooms. There is not enough shelf space for one's personal items. Also, the fact that the bathroom door is spring-loaded to close and the handle very squeeky was annoying at night while trying to avoid waking one's spouse.

Room Tip: Ask for back side of hotel not facing George Street; it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 174 in Sydney
2,271 reviews
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
1,242 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Property: The Russell Hotel
Address: The Russell Hotel 143A George St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Russell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Hotel with just 29 delightfully different rooms is perfectly located for the Sydney visitor seeking a convenient and characterful base from which to explore this exciting city.Sydney is literally on your doorstep at the Russell with Circular Quay, Sydney Harbour and the Museum of Contemporary Art just across the road.The Russell Hotel is a gorgeous bed and breakfast hotel known for its superb location and charm.No two guest rooms are identical at The Russell. The Russell offers a variety of ensuite rooms and very affordable rooms with shared bathroom. The largest rooms overlook George Street whilst guests in search of tranquillity might prefer one of the courtyard rooms or one above Nurses Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing