We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor cleanliness and barking dogs at night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alishan International Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alishan International Guest House
Ranked #35 of 64 Sydney B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor cleanliness and barking dogs at night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Convenient location for Sydney central and regular bus services up and down Glebe Point Road. However, the rooms at the Alishan are not cleaned well or regularly and there are often cockroaches in the bathrooms and kitchen. Fridges in bedrooms need to be cleaned properly otherwise they smell. The tatami room leaves a lot to be desired, the matting is ragged and worn, the mattresses on the floor are old and stained and one is pushed right up against an electrical socket which I think does not conform with health and safety. The kitchen cupboards are not cleaned thoroughly and there is very old food hanging around in the 'free food' cupboard.

Dogs out the back bark through the night, and there is a children's play centre next door which starts up early.

Manager can be helpful when asked.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a window if you need to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    29
    10
    13
    20
See reviews for
21
27
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

with having to get up at 4am to go to work we didn't appreciated the noise of other guests all night in and out the back door and in the carpark. The linen was very old the quilts quite stained, this is more of a backpacker hotel and as Aussies staying there overnight for work we felt unwelcome and not terribly safe.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LingaLongafarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Near to UniSyd and Broadway shopping centre. All within short walks and very convenient. Glebe is a safe place even at night when walking home at 11pm. Plenty of good restaurants and bus stops are nearby.

Room is small but okay since we only come back to sleep. This is a guesthouse so don't expect hotel kind of service. Noise is unavoidable because this is an old house with many rooms inside, and is only noticeable when people open and shut the doors. Kitchen is very convenient especially those that cook. All kitchen utensils and basic cooking ingredients are provided.

The manager is a busy man since he's helping also with the cleaning works but he's very helpful when asked.

Room Tip: Second floor to the back of the house is quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Quite disappointed. Ok Im going to complain sorry....... Other quests were quite loud later in the evening most nights which was a bit annoying as we were all so tired. The beds are not comfy & the sheets on two beds in the room had big brown stains on them Yuck !. Huge cockroaches in the main bed room & small ones in the bathroom and some more large ones running around the kitchen bench downstairs. To open the windows their was big blocks of wood to put in to hold it open. It was annoying paying for internet for the day and having to keep getting the code of the manager to keep using it and when he went home for the night no internet till the next day. The washing machines had the price per load taken off so without anyone to help its hard to understand when you put in $ 1 that it said to it wont go it should have said 5 x $1 how was i supposed to know. Initially the manager was not a very good host but did improve a bit towards the end of our stay and did not dislike him so much. If you are staying towards the back of the guest house their is some sort of kids play centre out the back which can be noisy + the big dog. Would not stay here again unless they fix the issues. Great location other than the problems.

Room Tip: Check the room before you accept !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyjinx84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

This is a beautiful old victorian house, bus stop across the road street is full of shops & cafes, staff were flexible, prompt to respond to email, and rates were good. I've chosen this place as it's been recommended by Lonely planet and was pleased with the outcome.
I stayed one night (final night in Sydney) in a dorm ($30) which provided pillow + duvet (BYO linen) and experienced guests and staff as friendly. A fellow guest told me that they had been there for a month which says something.
Broadway shopping centre 5-10 minute walk down the road and bus stop across the road.
A bit noisy in street front room on a Friday night and personally I'd have preferred a non-smoking property. If you are staying upstairs you need to be prepared as there isn't a lift. Ceiling fan in dorm room and open windows with mozzie net provided some cooling.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unique1Nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

I am a student doing as exchange att he university of Sydney and booked this hostel not really sure what to expect but I was surprised and very satisfied with my stay. The hostel was very close to the uni, and a very short bus ride to the city. Its in a great location with many shops and restaurants nearby and they staff were very polite and friendly. I loved the fact there was a communal kitchen so I could cook myself food which saved me money! There is a lovely balcony too!

5 stars would definitely recommend it for students/travellers and anyone!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

If you come here expecting even three star service you are looking at the wrong place. It is very no frills, basic accommodation. They don't clean your room each day (so what!), the linen and pillows could do with an overhaul but the place itself is great and in a fantastic location. We stayed with a large group of people and they were very accommodating and friendly. We never had any nastiness that others have spoken of. Would I stay here again? Probably not as I prefer something slightly more upmarket but that is not to say I wouldn't recommend it as a place to stay that is the next level up from a backpackers. You can't beat the location in Glebe and it was clean and tidy. It was like staying at an old relatives place in her spare room.

Room Tip: There are different quality of rooms so if you are fussy ask for their best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traceyleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Lodge Sydney
#25 of 64 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Surry Hills
Central Private Hotel
Central Private Hotel
#50 of 64 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Posh Hotel
#13 of 64 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Frisco Hotel
#36 of 64 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
The Maisonette
#7 of 64 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Surry Hills
Royal Exhibition Hotel
Royal Exhibition Hotel
#17 of 64 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alishan International Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alishan International Guest House

Property: Alishan International Guest House
Address: 100 Glebe Point Rd | Glebe, Sydney, New South Wales 2037, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Glebe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alishan International Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alishan International Guest House offers hotel accommodation in a renovated 110 year old Victorian Mansion. The Guesthouse has a friendly, charming and relaxed atmosphere, and is perfect for the discerning traveller who wants something more than just a place to sleep. We are located in the historic inner-city suburb of Glebe, close to sidewalk cafes, coffee shops, pubs, art galleries, book shops, library, cinemas and Saturday markets.The centre of Sydney is only a 10 minute bus ride away or a leisurely 25 minute walk via Sydney's fish markets and the Darling Harbour complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alishan International Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alishan International Guest House Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing