We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great location, some will love others not”
Review of Hotel 59

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel 59
Ranked #7 of 58 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The location is very central and quite entertaining people watching when walking back from underground station on an evening.
Clean room and newly decorated bathroom but bedroom decor a little dated.
Friendly owner and good breakfast choices.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear RandGP

Glad you enjoyed our central location it is very convenient for accessing all the major tourist attractions. It is good to read that our low rate also provided good value, dissapointing to read the bedroom decor was not to your liking, most of it was recently updated.
If you are looking for a reasonably priced clean centrally located accommodation with complimentary breakfast hotel 59 will suit most people. Thank you for your stay


Regards
George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

The host of the hotel was friendly and informative. He reminded us to let him stamp on a carpark ticket to get a discount on parking from A$96 to less than A$20 per night at a car park nearby.
The room facilities were aged but in general it was a comfortable stay. The breakfast was really nice. Basically I can reach most of the city spots in walking distance. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Jennifer Y

We are happy to be able to help you with the parking, $AUD96 is nearly as much as your accommodation per night and you had a complimentary breakfast just as well you did mention to me that you did have the car.
Just before your stay we had installed new cabinets, new top quality wool carpets, new mattresses, new lamps, new shower screens, all other facilities are in good working order.
It is good to read you had a comfortable stay and you have no problem recommending us to others. We appreciate your comments.
Regards
George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

spent 5 nights at Hotel 59 in Nov 2013 and we enjoyed our stay. George and his family are very gracious and the breakfast was fantastic. We loved the location and the hotel is just a short 20 minute walk to the harbour. Lots of restaurants in the neighbourhood and King's Cross station was a short block away. It was like the B&B's in Europe, small and friendly. We would stay here again. Thanks George

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Wendy993

Thank you for leaving your detailed comments, it is exactly what i would like to read about a place which would make me decide to stay there.
It was our pleasure having you as our guests we wish you all the best.

Regards
George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed in Room 7 on the ground floor and it was quiet, with good AC and a very hot shower. As one expects with value hotels, the room is not large, but I was only there to sleep and the bed was very comfortable. The only minor disappointment was that the wireless was a bit intermittent, though when it worked it was fine. George is a friendly host and breakfast was a very nice bonus. The location is excellent and Hotel 59 will be my first choice if I have reason to be in central Sydney.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DunedinAcademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear DunedinAcademic

Thank you for choosing to stay at hotel 59 and leaving your comments for the next traveller to read. We agree with you with free internet, complimentary cooked breakfast and a great central location it is excellent value.
We look forward to meeting you again on your next visit.

Regards
George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Would recommend this place to the next person. Service staff were very friendly. Breakfast was lovely and there was a great variety to choose from. Very close to Kings Cross train station and there are a few nice cafes on the street.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Jenny B

Thank you for taking the time to leave your valuable comments its great to read that hotel 59 met all your expectations. We wish you all the best for your travels.

Regards
George
Hotel 59

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We spent 6 nights staying at this family run bed and breakfast, close to Kings Cross Station and bus routes into the city and out to the eastern suburbs. (Buy a 7 day multi pass at Circular Quays so you can travel on buses, ferries and trains) The rooms are simple, comfortable, spacious and a good price for Sydney. George is on hand to answer questions and provide local knowledge, his sister cooks a great breakfast. We were in a room at the front which was unfortunately noisy when the Kings Cross revellers headed home at 2-3 am each night. So ask for a room at the back.
The thai restaurant next door is excellent and the small italian a couple of doors up the street is very good. The convenience store across the road has facilities for using the internet and printing off boarding passes when checking in online. There is a Coles supermarket at the top of the road where you can buy everything you need for a picnic lunch.
Kings Cross does have a sleezy side to it, we were approached on several occasions by drug addicts trying to sell us goods. Also, we did witness drug deals taking place in broad daylight. Having said that we never felt threatened but kept away from Victoria Street and Darlinghurst Road after dark.
Sydney is a big city which has become very expensive since my last visit 5 years ago and in retrospect 4 nights would have been enough. We wished we had spent the extra 2 nights in Northern Queensland which is beautiful and no where as expensive as Sydney.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aksBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear AksBirmingham

Thank you for staying with us at hotel 59.
It's good to hear you found our central location easy to get around from it is certainly very convenient, apart from the convenience to public transport our locale also has lots of restaurants, supermarkets and cafes all at affordable prices, we are also one the most affordable accommodation options in the area and city. We have just completed changing all the carpets and updrading the decor in the rooms, some more minor improvements will also be done in the future.
We only have 2 rooms which face the street they are also our larger rooms. Noise is a subjective thing with some guests affected and some not. An example is previous review by guebwiller they were in the same front room but had no issue with noise.
Sydney and our location is totally safe i have NEVER had an incident were a guest has had their safety threatened. There is no problem walking down Victoria or Darlinghurst road in dayime or normal nightime hours, parts of Victoria street and Darlinghurst road have a great variety of restaurants.
I can not explain why someone would approach you on several ocassions to sell you something or where you were to witness drug deals, but that Definitely does not happen in Bayswater road.
Sorry to hear the cost of some things affected your time in Sydney, costs aside it is still a top place to visit with lots of low cost things to see and do.
Don't forget you have already saved by staying at hotel 59.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future, even if it's for one day.
Regards
George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

First of all the location on the quiet end of bayswater street and a couple of minutes walk to Kings Cross train station is reason enough to stay here. When you add the clean remodeled rooms with very comfortable beds you really have a winner here. There are several restaurants on the street as well as the excellent cafe downstairs which is owned by the hotel and where our included breakfast was served. And what a great breakfast. We were able to order from the cafe menu. Coffee was delicious. When we checked in we had a booking complication that George smoothed out for us which was greatly appreciated. a great value for the money. We will definitely return on our next visit to Sydney.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guebwiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear guebwiller

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be in the perfect location for exploring Sydney and that the room well suited to your needs. Public transport both buses and trains is close by, ferries are a short bus ride away. Our convenient location has all different types of cafes and restaurants within walking distance from hotel.
We understood booking complication was an honest mistake, it was quickly fixed and extra room was rebooked with out loss of income to us.
We wish you all the best and wait for your return again to Sydney and Hotel 59.

Your friends at hotel 59

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#82 of 181 in Sydney
1,098 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#108 of 181 in Sydney
1,987 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 181 in Sydney
4,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
The Maisonette
#4 of 58 in Sydney
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 59? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 59

Address: 59 Bayswater Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: £57 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 59 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique family owned hotel located in a great convenient spot to explore different parts of our beautiful city, public transport is very close so no need for a car. We are less than 2 kilometers from city centre and harbour. We have a great variety of local restaurants close by, supermarkets, laundries are all also close to us. The accommodation is a great inexpensive option for Sydney, if you wish to dine in our café a great value breakfast and lunch is offered if you wish, Free internet is offered. We look forward to meeting you all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel 59 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 59 Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing