We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel 59
Nearby Hotels
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cambridge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
186
138
20
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
138
20
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskings crossthe cafe downstairsgeorge makesdarlinghurst roadevery morningb and bstay there againnight lifecircular quayroom was clean and comfortablebed and breakfastmetro stationstreet levelvisit sydney againminute walkopera housebondi beach
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Hotel 59 is in the Kings Cross area of Sydney. We were close to restaurants and mass transit. We were also close ( 3 blocks away) to the Red Light District, though there were no issues with this fact. Our room was nice, though small (typical for mid price Australian motels). A nice hot breakfast was included. Staff was friendly and helpful. Wi fi was very iffy and sometimes not working at all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donandbobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Roastbeast

Thank you for spending your 4 nights in sydney at hotel 59, it is good to see that you found our innercity location an advantage especially with it's lot's of dining options and public transport.
You are correct in having no issues with the so called "red light district" because there are no issues never have been. Not sure why you would mention a non issue.

The room you booked was our larger room it is a comfortable room for 2 people, what you did not mention was that you were 3 adults in the room this obviuosly limits it's space, in saying that we did offer you the option of another single room for your adult daughter which you did not take. I understand if budget was an issue but It would have been more comfortable.
We did have some technical issues with wifi but they have been fixed hopefully will be ok for now.
Regards
George
Hotel 59

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Our stay at Hotel 59 was a positive experience. Room #9 was very comfortable, clean, and had ample room for our luggage. The location was ideal for walking to the city centre or for public transportation (bus and subway/train). A delicious hot breakfast with multiple options was included in the price. This is a family owned and run business and they care about your stay. We enjoyed our conversations with George and he was very helpful and accommodating.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank William V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Kayakerbill
It was our pleasure to be able to accommodate you on your recent visit to sydney, thank you for describing your stay in such a possitive way we are very grateful. I to certainly enjoyed our morning chats.
Hope you are enjoying the remainder of your trip up the coast. All the best and hope to meet up again one day.

Regards
Your friend at hotel 59
George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We were fortunate to find this great little hotel. Absolute best value for money. Great owners that make you feel welcome. A great breakfast came with the deal. It was a very short walk to train and bus service, restaurants close by. It is not the Ritz, but does not claim to be, but it is clean,comfortable and friendly helpful owners. Not to far to walk to SCG. Close to the best Kebab shop ( Milano). We will certainly be back to stay at Hotel59. Thank you to George and family for a great stay in Sydney,

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie-ann59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Julie-ann 59

Thank you for your comments we are really chuffed that you found the whole package of hotel 59 to your liking. Thank you for adding to the chorus of other guests you have felt the same. We will be here to welcome you back on your next visit.

Regards
George
Hotel 59

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay, close to public transport, clean and very friendly. George, our host was fantastic and we will stay here whenever we are in Sydney.

Breakfast supplied every day and the nicest coffee. We were made very welcome and highly recommend Hotel 59.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Dave T

Thank you for your glowing endorsement of hotel 59, we look forward to warmly welcoming you back any time you are visiting Sydney.

Regards
George
Hotel 59

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Most reviewers on TripAdvisor enjoyed their stay @ Hotel 59 and I am no exception. Good value for money in this expensive city,with delicious breakfast and free internet.Warm welcome from the owner offering a super clean and quiet room with all the amenities expected.Finally best location in Sydney within easy reach of all the attractions.Highly recommended! Thanks again to George and his family :-)

Only small criticism:the room (and especially the shower room) are a bit small to move around,but that is a common problem in Sydney at this price range. Sharing it would have been a problem,even though the bed was a double,but for a single person it is ok

Room Tip: If you can avoid the room near the main entrance at the bottom of the stairs,where constant passage may be a problem, all other rooms are fine.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JacquesMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear JacquesMS

Thank you for taking the time in leaving your valuable comments, we really appreciate your input.
It was our pleasure to be able to offer you a room during your recent stay in Sydney, it nice to read that we met all your expectations. I do agree we offer a great deal for the money
Just wanted to clear something up and to avoid any confusion your room was a single which is for 1 person. All our single rooms have a double bed but the rate is for 1 person.

We take this opportunity to thank you and wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards
George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews