We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient & comfortable.”
Review of Arts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arts Hotel
Ranked #102 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We were looking for accommodation close to St. Vincent Hospital & the Arts Hotel was exactly what we were looking for . Right on Oxford St. I expected some noise , but apart from a refuse truck reversing up the lane-way ( around 8am ) during one of our three nights , it was very quiet . The room was small but all that was needed , including coffee making , clean & at the right price . So much so that I will be returning in a week or so for up to 2 weeks whilst my wife under goes treatment at the hospital . Peter was extremely helpful under the circumstances along with his staff .The only downside was parking availability , however I was lucky enough to arrive at the right time but was not game enough to use the car till we booked out .

Room Tip: Our room was 117 , at the rear on the first floor so would gather rooms above would be quiet also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CRUISIN09_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

The Arts Hotel, whist not an upmarket hotel has the most amazingly friendly and professional staff. Everyone of them was helpful. Our holiday started with our car being involved in a collision outside the hotel. Thanks to the staff and their knowledge of the area and their advice our holiday was not ruined! For me the personal attention of the staff will be a stand out memory of this delightful hotel. Sadly it is not something that you always see when travelling.
The rooms were not huge or glamorous, but really clean, comfortable and perfect for our needs. Our room overlooked the garden and pool, so considering that the hotel was fully booked due to the cricket it was remarkably quiet. We had breakfast in their breakfast room and the fresh fruit selection was fantastic. From memory they only provided a continental breakfast , but the fruit, nuts and boiled eggs meant that it was very substantial. There were also many cafe's that provided fantastic breakfasts within a stones through of the hotel.
Situated in busy Oxford Street, Paddington amongst great cafes, shops and pubs, it was easy to just chill out, shop, eat, socialise and spend money!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden/ pool area and upstaris. I think they would be the quieter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed in the hotel for three nights. The hotel is located near restaurants and shops in the lively Oxford Street. It's a 30-40 minutes walk to the botanic garden and opera. But there's also a bus going there.
Our room had a basic furnishing. That was absolutely sufficient for us. Furthermore we had free WIFI in our room. That was great.
The cleanliness was ok but it could be better at some places, e.g. there was dust on the baseboards, at the top of the light switches etc. It seemed that these places weren't cleaned for a long time. But concerning the cleanliness in the bathroom there's nothing wrong with it.
The staff at the reception was friendly and helpful.
The hotel offers breakfast but we didn't make use of it.
We can recommend the hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marigold1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The Arts Hotel represents good value accommodation within easy distance from the CBD. There is a regular bus service between the city and both Bondi and Bronte beaches which stops outside the hotel, though the city is only a 20 minute walk away and Circular Quay only another 10 minutes. The garden rooms are more expensive, though I was upgraded without having to ask, perhaps because I was staying for 8 days, but are worth it because those rooms are likely to be quieter and come with free wifi. Only a 10 minute walk from the SCG, and in an attractive area, Paddington, which has numerous eating places since the hotel has no evening restaurant. Staff multinational, well informed, and friendly.

Room Tip: Garden room likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaxterNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My friend and I wanted a reasonably priced hotel near the SCG. We found this little gem.
The room was compact but plenty of room for us and twin beds. Bathroom very small but clean and quite sufficient for our needs. The courtyard and pool were an excellent bonus for a relaxing afternoon. The beds were extremely comfortable with good quality sheets and pillows. The air conditioning was sometimes noisy but this was a minor issue.
The location is brilliant, with an adjoining pub that offers discount to hotel patrons and a myriad if restaurants nearby. Staff are friendly and helpful.
I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Garden/courtyard rooms are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank we2brits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The only two things that were decent about this little hotel was the outside courtyard and the location. The room was tiny, the aircon didn't work and bed sheets and floor didn't seem too clean. At checkout the reception didn't even ask how our stay was. Probably the worst hotel I've ever stayed at in all of Australia. Website states it's been refurbished, the only thing that was refurbished was the hotel exterior. Won't be recommending this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonija88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed over the NRL Grand Final Weekend, Service at reception good , the rooms are not large but ok, the price is good and value for money, good area to be in and plenty of restaurants around to try .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Headchef57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#86 of 179 in Sydney
59 reviews
Vulcan Hotel
#82 of 179 in Sydney
415 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#107 of 179 in Sydney
1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#20 of 179 in Sydney
152 reviews
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#136 of 179 in Sydney
191 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arts Hotel

Address: 21 Oxford St | Paddington, Sydney, New South Wales 2021, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Paddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £98 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arts Hotel is a charming 3 star hotel offering personal service and a unique location in Paddington, Sydney's arts and fashion precinct. All rooms have ensuite, air conditioning, free Foxtel, safe, ironing facilities, bar fridge, hairdryer and clock radio. Garden rooms face onto the central courtyard and have complimentary wi-fi. Interconnecting rooms are available for families with children. There is free wi-fi in all public areas of the hotel, free guest bicycles and free car parking (NB space is limited and cannot be reserved).Set amongst fashion boutiques, specialty shops, cinemas, late night bookshops, art galleries, pubs, cafes and restaurants, the hotel is also within walking distance of the city. Buses run directly to City shops, Circular Quay, Central Station, Bondi Beach and Watsons Bay. Paddington is a heritage conservation area with a village atmosphere. It is a delight to explore on foot with its narrow winding streets and restored Victorian terraces houses. There are over 280 boutiques in Paddington and on Saturdays you can visit Sydney's most popular street market.The Arts Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore Sydney. We invite you to experience the charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Sullivans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing