We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arts Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Medusa(Sydney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
Abey Hotel(Sydney)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cambridge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
87
201
84
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
201
84
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoxford streetgarden roomst vincents hospitalpub next doorbondi beachgreat locationa short bus ridecentennial parksmall poolfree wifiunderground parkingtea and coffee making facilitiesthree nightspublic transporthotel is situateddouble bedcircular quay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Enjoyed my stay here, very clean, bathroom spotless, get there early for parking as it's limited and so is the street parking, but great little hotel, would stay there again, close to sydney cricket ground and buses right there, 24 hour reception.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

For the price paid we were very happy with this hotel. It was clean and had everything you needed. Attention to a few minor fixes such as missing dimmer on the light switch and some TV channels not being very good picture quality (especially fox sport 3). Some bathroom amenities such as shampoo, conditioner and shower gel would be good too. They only had shampoo which was not replenished for our three night stay.
Great location with easy access to buses, just beware of the prepaid buses in Sydney which require you to purchase tickets at a corner store, only very few buses accept cash.
Would definitely return and recommend if you are not fussy with small leg downs.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Swisscloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed one Sunday night before surgery at St Vincent's Hospital (walking distance). Hotel is a bit dated but pleasant enough. Sited on busy Oxford Street but did not notice noise - I took a more expensive garden-facing room; everything worked OK. Not a bad option for those wanting affordable accommodation handy to the Paddington/Kings Cross/Cricket Ground districts, and a bus ride to Circular Quay or Bondi Beach. Old-style Aussie pub next door if you want a beer or a meal.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms supposedly quieter but street view rooms may have been double-glazed by now (ask).
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cupak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The hotel is location is great. There is a bus stop almost directly outside the hotel that takes you to Circular Quay and Bondi Beach. The bus takes about 15-20 minutes to get to circular quay. Buses run very frequently in both directions. A short bus ride up Oxford street takes you to the paddington markets which are every Saturday where there are some great cafés and lots of boutiques, salons and galleries. There are also great cafés within walking distance around the hotel.

The hotel room was very neat, clean and comfortable. However, there were a few issues with our stay. Firstly, some of the staff were not that friendly upon checking in. Free WiFi was advertised when we booked our room but we had to ask reception about it later before they would give us the password. It seems strange why they wouldn't have informed us of the WiFi password upon checking in.

Another problem was that our room backed onto a laneway where one morning we were woken up by a loud rubbish collection truck.

Upon checking out the staff were again unfriendly (same staff member when we checked in). They did not even say 'we hope you enjoyed your stay'. We also wanted to store our luggage to pick up later. So we were given a key to a store room to put our luggage in. The room was secure but you have to remember other guests storing their luggage can also access it (and your bags). We had no issue though with anything being stolen.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The location was perfect. The staff was very nice and helpful.
The same bus takes u to the Beach and to the Opera House in 10-15min & The Bus stop is 10 feet away from the front door.
The street has great cafés, boutiques, salons, bookstores and a small movie theater.
The bookstore/cafe next door has great coffee and sandwiches.
The Hotel itself is small but nice.
It also has washing machines on the premises.
My 2 huge problems, are 2 big roaches in our room. One was in the closet on top of my suitcase!
I called downstairs and they said they didn't have any other rooms. They gave us bug spray.
I didn't sleep that night.
They said it was because the back door was left open.
I didn't really believe it, but went along with it.
The next 5 days we left the AC on and the back door closed all day&night.
The night before checking out, ANOTHER roach!
On the floor next to the bed.
We killed it, we didn't bother telling the front desk, because they just say to talk to the manager in the morning.
And apparently all the rooms are always booked up.

Room Tip: Our room with Roaches was 202. Maybe there coming from a hole in the wall or something.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtsHotel, General Manager at Arts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel. We are sincerely sorry about your experience with cockroaches. Unfortunately weather conditions in Sydney at this time of the year can mean insects are more prevalent. In rooms with sliding balcony doors we encourage guests to keep the door closed whenever possible.

Sadly we were unable to offer you another room because we were fully booked.

Please be assured we treat every guest concern seriously. The incident was recorded in our front desk log and our housekeepers were asked to check when they serviced your room each day.

Yours sincerely
Mark Foster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews