We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden room”
Review of Arts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arts Hotel
Ranked #102 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

In the perfectly located Arts Hotel on Oxfordstreet in Sydney we booked a Room with Garden View. How disappointing to find out the room was on the first floor and all we could see was an opposite building. When you push your nose to the window glass and look down, you can see the pool... The room itself was okay though. Nothing special but convenient.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Yoyo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We usually stay in Potts Point at the Macleay but we were looking for a change of area for 4 nights. This hotel is well situated close to the Verona cinema, Darlinghurst and Paddington and well served by buses. The management are very helpful and friendly including letting us have a 2 hour extension on our morning departure.
The standard room was on the small size and the decoration was a little bleak & depressing. But there was a window that opened, effective AC and a small bathroom that did its job well. The fridge was ok and there was a small closet and 2 tables but 1 chair. The rear room was very quiet and there were lots of TV channels. Overall a good 'un' if a little overpriced.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Enjoyed my stay here, very clean, bathroom spotless, get there early for parking as it's limited and so is the street parking, but great little hotel, would stay there again, close to sydney cricket ground and buses right there, 24 hour reception.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

For the price paid we were very happy with this hotel. It was clean and had everything you needed. Attention to a few minor fixes such as missing dimmer on the light switch and some TV channels not being very good picture quality (especially fox sport 3). Some bathroom amenities such as shampoo, conditioner and shower gel would be good too. They only had shampoo which was not replenished for our three night stay.
Great location with easy access to buses, just beware of the prepaid buses in Sydney which require you to purchase tickets at a corner store, only very few buses accept cash.
Would definitely return and recommend if you are not fussy with small leg downs.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Swisscloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed one Sunday night before surgery at St Vincent's Hospital (walking distance). Hotel is a bit dated but pleasant enough. Sited on busy Oxford Street but did not notice noise - I took a more expensive garden-facing room; everything worked OK. Not a bad option for those wanting affordable accommodation handy to the Paddington/Kings Cross/Cricket Ground districts, and a bus ride to Circular Quay or Bondi Beach. Old-style Aussie pub next door if you want a beer or a meal.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms supposedly quieter but street view rooms may have been double-glazed by now (ask).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cupak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The hotel is location is great. There is a bus stop almost directly outside the hotel that takes you to Circular Quay and Bondi Beach. The bus takes about 15-20 minutes to get to circular quay. Buses run very frequently in both directions. A short bus ride up Oxford street takes you to the paddington markets which are every Saturday where there are some great cafés and lots of boutiques, salons and galleries. There are also great cafés within walking distance around the hotel.

The hotel room was very neat, clean and comfortable. However, there were a few issues with our stay. Firstly, some of the staff were not that friendly upon checking in. Free WiFi was advertised when we booked our room but we had to ask reception about it later before they would give us the password. It seems strange why they wouldn't have informed us of the WiFi password upon checking in.

Another problem was that our room backed onto a laneway where one morning we were woken up by a loud rubbish collection truck.

Upon checking out the staff were again unfriendly (same staff member when we checked in). They did not even say 'we hope you enjoyed your stay'. We also wanted to store our luggage to pick up later. So we were given a key to a store room to put our luggage in. The room was secure but you have to remember other guests storing their luggage can also access it (and your bags). We had no issue though with anything being stolen.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The location was perfect. The staff was very nice and helpful.
The same bus takes u to the Beach and to the Opera House in 10-15min & The Bus stop is 10 feet away from the front door.
The street has great cafés, boutiques, salons, bookstores and a small movie theater.
The bookstore/cafe next door has great coffee and sandwiches.
The Hotel itself is small but nice.
It also has washing machines on the premises.
My 2 huge problems, are 2 big roaches in our room. One was in the closet on top of my suitcase!
I called downstairs and they said they didn't have any other rooms. They gave us bug spray.
I didn't sleep that night.
They said it was because the back door was left open.
I didn't really believe it, but went along with it.
The next 5 days we left the AC on and the back door closed all day&night.
The night before checking out, ANOTHER roach!
On the floor next to the bed.
We killed it, we didn't bother telling the front desk, because they just say to talk to the manager in the morning.
And apparently all the rooms are always booked up.

Room Tip: Our room with Roaches was 202. Maybe there coming from a hole in the wall or something.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtsHotel, General Manager at Arts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel. We are sincerely sorry about your experience with cockroaches. Unfortunately weather conditions in Sydney at this time of the year can mean insects are more prevalent. In rooms with sliding balcony doors we encourage guests to keep the door closed whenever possible.

Sadly we were unable to offer you another room because we were fully booked.

Please be assured we treat every guest concern seriously. The incident was recorded in our front desk log and our housekeepers were asked to check when they serviced your room each day.

Yours sincerely
Mark Foster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Hotel Challis
#57 of 186 in Sydney
831 reviews
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#83 of 186 in Sydney
1,122 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#40 of 186 in Sydney
4,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#94 of 186 in Sydney
81 reviews
Vulcan Hotel
#84 of 186 in Sydney
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arts Hotel

Address: 21 Oxford St | Paddington, Sydney, New South Wales 2021, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Paddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £94 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arts Hotel is a charming 3 star hotel offering personal service and a unique location in Paddington, Sydney's arts and fashion precinct. All rooms have ensuite, air conditioning, free Foxtel, safe, ironing facilities, bar fridge, hairdryer and clock radio. Garden rooms face onto the central courtyard and have complimentary wi-fi. Interconnecting rooms are available for families with children. There is free wi-fi in all public areas of the hotel, free guest bicycles and free car parking (NB space is limited and cannot be reserved).Set amongst fashion boutiques, specialty shops, cinemas, late night bookshops, art galleries, pubs, cafes and restaurants, the hotel is also within walking distance of the city. Buses run directly to City shops, Circular Quay, Central Station, Bondi Beach and Watsons Bay. Paddington is a heritage conservation area with a village atmosphere. It is a delight to explore on foot with its narrow winding streets and restored Victorian terraces houses. There are over 280 boutiques in Paddington and on Saturdays you can visit Sydney's most popular street market.The Arts Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore Sydney. We invite you to experience the charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Sullivans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing