We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard in a nice location”
Review of Arts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arts Hotel
Ranked #99 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I booked two night during our stay in Sydney because my travel guide recommended that hotel. I must say it was a good recommendation. The hotel is good situated in Oxford street. Public transportation is just around the corner but it´s also a nice walk into the city center. We had a room with "garden view". It was very quite, large and clean. Well equipped with everything you need (fridge, coffee facilities etc.). The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel offers free underground parking. Its included in the price but there is limited space. So, first come, first serve. The pub next door seems to belong to the hotel. They offer 10% discount of your bill while your stay in the hotel. The pub has a good variation of good food. So, it´s worth going there and save 10%. Overall, it´s nothing super spectacular but good enough for two or three nights.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muffingott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Arts Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

In the perfectly located Arts Hotel on Oxfordstreet in Sydney we booked a Room with Garden View. How disappointing to find out the room was on the first floor and all we could see was an opposite building. When you push your nose to the window glass and look down, you can see the pool... The room itself was okay though. Nothing special but convenient.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Yoyo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We usually stay in Potts Point at the Macleay but we were looking for a change of area for 4 nights. This hotel is well situated close to the Verona cinema, Darlinghurst and Paddington and well served by buses. The management are very helpful and friendly including letting us have a 2 hour extension on our morning departure.
The standard room was on the small size and the decoration was a little bleak & depressing. But there was a window that opened, effective AC and a small bathroom that did its job well. The fridge was ok and there was a small closet and 2 tables but 1 chair. The rear room was very quiet and there were lots of TV channels. Overall a good 'un' if a little overpriced.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Enjoyed my stay here, very clean, bathroom spotless, get there early for parking as it's limited and so is the street parking, but great little hotel, would stay there again, close to sydney cricket ground and buses right there, 24 hour reception.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

For the price paid we were very happy with this hotel. It was clean and had everything you needed. Attention to a few minor fixes such as missing dimmer on the light switch and some TV channels not being very good picture quality (especially fox sport 3). Some bathroom amenities such as shampoo, conditioner and shower gel would be good too. They only had shampoo which was not replenished for our three night stay.
Great location with easy access to buses, just beware of the prepaid buses in Sydney which require you to purchase tickets at a corner store, only very few buses accept cash.
Would definitely return and recommend if you are not fussy with small leg downs.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Swisscloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed one Sunday night before surgery at St Vincent's Hospital (walking distance). Hotel is a bit dated but pleasant enough. Sited on busy Oxford Street but did not notice noise - I took a more expensive garden-facing room; everything worked OK. Not a bad option for those wanting affordable accommodation handy to the Paddington/Kings Cross/Cricket Ground districts, and a bus ride to Circular Quay or Bondi Beach. Old-style Aussie pub next door if you want a beer or a meal.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms supposedly quieter but street view rooms may have been double-glazed by now (ask).
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cupak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The hotel is location is great. There is a bus stop almost directly outside the hotel that takes you to Circular Quay and Bondi Beach. The bus takes about 15-20 minutes to get to circular quay. Buses run very frequently in both directions. A short bus ride up Oxford street takes you to the paddington markets which are every Saturday where there are some great cafés and lots of boutiques, salons and galleries. There are also great cafés within walking distance around the hotel.

The hotel room was very neat, clean and comfortable. However, there were a few issues with our stay. Firstly, some of the staff were not that friendly upon checking in. Free WiFi was advertised when we booked our room but we had to ask reception about it later before they would give us the password. It seems strange why they wouldn't have informed us of the WiFi password upon checking in.

Another problem was that our room backed onto a laneway where one morning we were woken up by a loud rubbish collection truck.

Upon checking out the staff were again unfriendly (same staff member when we checked in). They did not even say 'we hope you enjoyed your stay'. We also wanted to store our luggage to pick up later. So we were given a key to a store room to put our luggage in. The room was secure but you have to remember other guests storing their luggage can also access it (and your bags). We had no issue though with anything being stolen.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#98 of 178 in Sydney
45 reviews
Hughenden Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Woollahra
302 reviews
Vulcan Hotel
#80 of 178 in Sydney
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,268 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#42 of 178 in Sydney
857 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#106 of 178 in Sydney
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arts Hotel

Address: 21 Oxford St | Paddington, Sydney, New South Wales 2021, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Paddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £86 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arts Hotel is a charming 3 star hotel offering personal service and a unique location in Paddington, Sydney's arts and fashion precinct. All rooms have ensuite, air conditioning, free Foxtel, safe, ironing facilities, bar fridge, hairdryer and clock radio. Garden rooms face onto the central courtyard and have complimentary wi-fi. Interconnecting rooms are available for families with children. There is free wi-fi in all public areas of the hotel, free guest bicycles and free car parking (NB space is limited and cannot be reserved).Set amongst fashion boutiques, specialty shops, cinemas, late night bookshops, art galleries, pubs, cafes and restaurants, the hotel is also within walking distance of the city. Buses run directly to City shops, Circular Quay, Central Station, Bondi Beach and Watsons Bay. Paddington is a heritage conservation area with a village atmosphere. It is a delight to explore on foot with its narrow winding streets and restored Victorian terraces houses. There are over 280 boutiques in Paddington and on Saturdays you can visit Sydney's most popular street market.The Arts Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore Sydney. We invite you to experience the charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Sullivans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing