We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arts Hotel
Ranked #92 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This privately owned and run hotel in the heart of Paddington is ideal for a short stay. Free wi-fi that works, a simple but good quality and healthy breakfast menu, great coffee shops and bookstores in walking distance - Ampersand over the road is both a coffee shop and bookstore and their menu is great. Easy to get taxis out the front. Buses too if you want to brave Sydney's less than easy to navigate public transport system. Convenience stores, ATMs pretty much all you need close by. Request a Garden Room and pay the extra to have a room that isn't on the street side.

Room Tip: Choose a Garden Room they are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASTAustralia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    171
    76
    18
    7
See reviews for
48
140
42
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Sydney is very expensive especially when you arrive from Auckland (like me that time). I had a limited budget and this hotel was one of the most conveniently located. Though it was a bit difficult to find as there were TWO addresses on Oxford Street which carried the same number (that is 21). I arrived in Museum Station and the closest 21 Oxford Street was occupied by Subway Sandwiches chain. When called the staff was very helpful and let me know I had to go down Oxford Street to find another '21' number where the hotel was located. It was raining cats and dogs so the overall experience was not too pleasant.

The rooms are average - they meet you basic requirements. WiFi was not really working in my room so had to go to the common room. I liked the pub next door where I could have some good food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ela_Radek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Good hotel.
Clean.
Secure.
Staff helpfull.
Close to city.
WIFI is excellent.
Reasonably priced.
Colourful surroundings and safe area.
On the bus route to Bondi beach If you want to escape the city.
Very easy access for taxis to access the airport swiftly.

Room Tip: No problem with our room, sure the staff would help if you needed to move. I would stay towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regensburg, Deutschland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I booked two night during our stay in Sydney because my travel guide recommended that hotel. I must say it was a good recommendation. The hotel is good situated in Oxford street. Public transportation is just around the corner but it´s also a nice walk into the city center. We had a room with "garden view". It was very quite, large and clean. Well equipped with everything you need (fridge, coffee facilities etc.). The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel offers free underground parking. Its included in the price but there is limited space. So, first come, first serve. The pub next door seems to belong to the hotel. They offer 10% discount of your bill while your stay in the hotel. The pub has a good variation of good food. So, it´s worth going there and save 10%. Overall, it´s nothing super spectacular but good enough for two or three nights.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muffingott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

In the perfectly located Arts Hotel on Oxfordstreet in Sydney we booked a Room with Garden View. How disappointing to find out the room was on the first floor and all we could see was an opposite building. When you push your nose to the window glass and look down, you can see the pool... The room itself was okay though. Nothing special but convenient.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yoyo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
271 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We usually stay in Potts Point at the Macleay but we were looking for a change of area for 4 nights. This hotel is well situated close to the Verona cinema, Darlinghurst and Paddington and well served by buses. The management are very helpful and friendly including letting us have a 2 hour extension on our morning departure.
The standard room was on the small size and the decoration was a little bleak & depressing. But there was a window that opened, effective AC and a small bathroom that did its job well. The fridge was ok and there was a small closet and 2 tables but 1 chair. The rear room was very quiet and there were lots of TV channels. Overall a good 'un' if a little overpriced.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Enjoyed my stay here, very clean, bathroom spotless, get there early for parking as it's limited and so is the street parking, but great little hotel, would stay there again, close to sydney cricket ground and buses right there, 24 hour reception.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Vulcan Hotel
#73 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#47 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#137 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arts Hotel

Property: Arts Hotel
Address: 21 Oxford St | Paddington, Sydney, New South Wales 2021, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Paddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arts Hotel is a charming 3 star hotel offering personal service and a unique location in Paddington, Sydney's arts and fashion precinct. All rooms have ensuite, air conditioning, free Foxtel, safe, ironing facilities, bar fridge, hairdryer and clock radio. Garden rooms face onto the central courtyard and have complimentary wi-fi. Interconnecting rooms are available for families with children. There is free wi-fi in all public areas of the hotel, free guest bicycles and free car parking (NB space is limited and cannot be reserved).Set amongst fashion boutiques, specialty shops, cinemas, late night bookshops, art galleries, pubs, cafes and restaurants, the hotel is also within walking distance of the city. Buses run directly to City shops, Circular Quay, Central Station, Bondi Beach and Watsons Bay. Paddington is a heritage conservation area with a village atmosphere. It is a delight to explore on foot with its narrow winding streets and restored Victorian terraces houses. There are over 280 boutiques in Paddington and on Saturdays you can visit Sydney's most popular street market.The Arts Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore Sydney. We invite you to experience the charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelbag so you can book your Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Sullivans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing