We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value”
Review of Sydney Central YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sydney Central YHA
Ranked #11 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Reviewed 16 April 2008

My girlfriend and I needed somewhere relatively cheap to stay at the end of a long trip but still wanted our own room with a bathroom. The YHA was perfect.

Granted it didn't have the minibar or luxury bed a more expensive place would have given us but it was clean, comfortable and wonderfully located. The YHA had loads of useful ammenities at hand - laundry, internet, restaurant (though the breakfast is not anything to write home about).

All in all really pleased we stayed there and saved some cash to ensure we could do everything we wanted in the city. After all Sydney is such a busy city your room is simply somewhere to lay your head.

Thoroughly recommended to anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pads4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 516 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2008

great staff, rooms were very comfortable, clean, safe!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank colonelslynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2008

Wow what a surprise this hostel was for me! It had been over 20 years since I had stayed in a hostel and so I was not real keen try this location out thinking I was too old (BTW there is a wide range of ages there). I was givien a recommendation for this location by a friend in the UK who had stayed a few months eariler For the price and the location I had to give it a go!

I was booked in a private double with ensuite. I made my reservations via the location website and that was very easy to do with no problems. The location is just 4 train stops from the international terminal and was really easy to get to. The only problem getting to the location was that the Central Train Station is very large and there are different exits out, which if you take the wrong exit it, it puts you on the wrong side of the building to get to the Central YHA easily.

Check in was fast and easy, the staff there was very helpful, especially for a traveler that was overtired and having a hard time concentrating. I was given a key card and told where my room was. A quick elevator trip to my room. The room itself was larger then expected. There was a small table and chairs, a bench and bed in the living area. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was good size with small toiletries; clean smelling towels and a shower. I was impressed on how clean everything was. Spotless and with no odors. As mentioned in other reviews, I listened for the heavy doors to slam shut….I didn’t hear them at all.

The rooftop pool was a treat with the balcony giving views to the downtown area. In the evening there were many people up there with music and food, nice atmoshere. The front doors were locked after 9pm and so you needed your room key for access. I felt safe as a lone woman traveler there. There is Internet availability there in the lobby; it was sometime crowded, but cheap by any US standard.

Last Kudos was the overnight staff there. I was up very early due to jetlag and the two staff members were very kind and knowledgeable in helping me plan my days sightseeing trips. They mapped out routes and bus stops for me. Looked up ferry schedules. They would rival any large hotel consigners!

If you are looking for a well-priced and safe accommodation this is the place for you. It is somewhat basic, but you could reframe that as the “minimalist” style!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Seetheworld1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2008

This is a great hostel. The location is perfect and as others have mentioned, there are loads of great amenities for the backpacker. I stayed 6 nights in a 4-bed dorm. Rooms are spacious with the largest lockers I have ever seen in a dorm room! Be sure to BYO padlock. Beds have individual lights. The bathrooms were clean, kitchens are huge and well-equipped, staff were so helpful. Breakfasts in the hostel's dining room are a pretty good value compared to the local cafes. Short term storage rates aren't bad, either. My only complaint is that it's noisy at night - voices radiate through the hallways, as does the shutting of the heavy doors. The metal bunks are a little squeaky too, but that's common at YHAs in Australia and NZ. Overall, I had a wonderful stay at this hostel and would recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank RoamingTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2008

This hostel is fantastic! My partner and I stayed here for a week while trying to find an apartment in Sydney, we had a private double room.

It's clean and spacious, the staff are friendly and helpful, there are great facilities: 2 laundry rooms, 2 big kitchens, dinning room, social areas, tv room, cafe, internet stations and wireless, pool, bbq area, and even a pub and nightclub! It's located down the street from Central Station which means all bus and trains are practically on your doorstep. They organise social events for pretty much every night including movies with free popcorn, bbq's, demo scuba diving, themed parties etc.

We were worried that staying in a hostel in Sydney could be loud, dirty and full of drunken teenagers - not this place! There is a great mix of backpackers, Aussie and other tourists, young and old, all nationalities. We've heard some horror stories about other hostels in Sydney so we are so glad we chose YHA Central. We were so impressed we even joined and got a YHA hostel card and plan to stay at other YHA hostels on our trips.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HepKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2007

If you compare this hostel to a hotel you will think it is very basic, but if you compare it to other hostels, I'm sure you will be very impressed! This hostel is right next door to Central Station which is great if lugging bags from the train or bus! The double rooms are spacious and to have an ensuite in a YHA always seems very luxurious!

Unfortuantely the cafe was being refurbished when I stayed, so can't comment on the food there. I found the staff at the reception very helpful and friendly.

I think my only complaint would be that it was a little noisey at night - the door unlocking mechanism was really loud! This wasn't a huge problem but might be if you're a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank hufri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2007

This is a great Hostel. Great price and One of the best that I have stayed in. The rooms are very clean. They have a state of the art Kitchen and a great movie room that shows movies daily. They have a cafe on the premises, however it was under construction during the time that I stayed there. They customer service was excellent. The staff was friendly and was very helpful with information about things to do in the local area. I just loved this Hostel. In fact I left Sydney for about a week and when I came for a few days I stay here again. Great value and great location.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Steff_in_italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#104 of 179 in Sydney
5,156 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#106 of 179 in Sydney
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Sydney
#65 of 179 in Sydney
4,929 reviews
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 143 in Sydney
1,396 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 143 in Sydney
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Central YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Central YHA

Address: 11 Rawson Pl | Cnr Pitt St & Rawson Pl, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: £23 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney Central YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Central YHA hostel is Sydney's hostel with everything and the best value choice in the centre of the city. It is housed in a heritage-listed building opposite Central Station. It has panoramic views of Sydney from the rooftop and outdoor area, heated pool, sauna. Sydney Central facilities include kitchens, laundries, games/TV rooms, locker hire, limited parking, group accommodation/meeting rooms, disabled access, 24 hour security access, YHA Travel desk, free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), bistro, convenience store. There is even an in-house cinema with free movies a day! Regular activities include pub crawls, sporting events, market tours and BBQs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sydney Central YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Central Yha Hotel Sydney
Central Sydney Yha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing