We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite place to stay in Sydney”
Review of Sydney Central YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sydney Central YHA
Ranked #11 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Favorite place to stay in Sydney”
Reviewed 13 November 2008

This is a great place to stay and the staff are very helpful

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank findlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    326
    130
    37
    16
See reviews for
55
100
285
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2008

This was the second time I had stayed in this hostel, the first time being on a school trip. We chose it for its close proximity to Central Station and the good walking distance to shopping and various other attractions (Darling Harbour, Paddy's Markets) and the good reviews and memories I had of my first visit.

The room was bland, but clean and what I expected of a youth hostel. The shared bathrooms were surprisingly nicer than a lot of other lower budget hotels I've stayed at and clean. I'd actually prefer to stay here than a lot of other hotels I've stayed at. There was a lot of noise and doors banging from other guests frolicking around at night from room to room, but as we were so tired, it didn't bother us. Everything we needed was at a close distance to us from the hostel, and the people at the front desk were nice and a bit flirty, which I liked, hahaha. There's the potential to meet a lot of people as well. During every elevator trip we took people would talk to us, and ladies, if you're into young men from overseas, then this is the place for you. There is a definite potential to meet lots of young, interesting travellers.

I would definitely stay here again, the only real gripe I had was with the breakfasts they offered. I found them to be terrible and would never eat there again, but my friends didn't seem to mind it at all, especially for the price. I suppose I'm a big fan of the buffet breakfast as well so I can't really hold that against them.
Also, when we checked out the pool, we initially thought we were looking at the spa because it was so tiny, a couple of metres in length.

The hostel felt quite safe and secure, although if you venture a bit further past Central Station in the direction opposite from the city, it gets a bit seedy and my girlfriends and I felt unsafe walking there.

I'd suggest this place for young travelers on a budget, who aren't going to be spending a lot of time in their room and aren't looking for anything fancy in the way of food and accommodation.

  • Liked — The atmosphere, location and people
  • Disliked — The food and pool
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Nushethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Central Sydney YHA and thought it was wonderful. The front desk was very nice and helpful. The place has a fun, modern vibe. We got a private double room and it was perfect, no frills but it was fun and functional with some modern decorations. There was a laundry room on our floor, which we definitely would have used if we stayed longer. There was free internet. They had everything that mattered to us. It was pretty quiet even though there were a lot of people around. It was close to the train station in a really great neighborhood. We walked all around and found tons of great restaurants and bakeries. The place is an amazing value. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — front desk
  • Disliked — everything was great
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank enceladus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2008

My wife and I stayed at Sydney Central YHA as part of our round the world trip.
As we had arrived early our room was not ready, this was not a problem as we could leave our bags in the very secure and roomy locker room. The staff were very helpfull and gave good advice.
We had booked a double en-suit room, the room we were given was wonderful, on the top floor with a great view over the city and loads of room, very clean, with sheet and towels and quiet.
The hostel has a very friendly atmosphere with some great features, roof top pool and sauna, huge self catering kitchen area, plenty of computers in the internet area and a welcoming reception area.
There were plenty of food outlets in the area for those who don't wish to use the hostel faciltys, and ideally located next door to the railway station.

  • Liked — The great location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gondolier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2008

My husband and I stayed in a private ensuite room for 4 nights in August 2008. The location was great, very close to Central Station, Chinatown, and several museums and markets. Our room was just the right size with a table, chairs, and a small bench to place our packs on. It was extremely clean, as were the linens, towels, and bathroom. We had several large windows and a vaulted ceiling, which made the room seem even larger and more inviting. The close proximity to the railway station resulted in some train noise during the night, but it was not particularly bothersome.

The bathroom was a good size and came with plenty of towels, soap, and glasses for water. Water pressure in the shower wasn’t fantastic, but it did the trick. We enjoyed the option of having a convenient, cheap breakfast in the café downstairs. We didn’t use any of the common areas, the on-site bar, or the grocery store, so I can’t comment on those facilities. The hostel is HUGE (8 floors!) and it took a while to get the elevator at times. I’m not sure how the atmosphere was for socializing and meeting people, but we had a lot of privacy in our room.

I’d highly recommend this hostel to anyone, particularly to people wanting a private room without paying a fortune for a hotel room in Sydney!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suprchick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

I stayed in this hostel in may and i have to say that it was the best one by far! (i stayed in a total of 6 in australia over 1 month) .. i went with 2 other friends and so we stayed in a four person room.. our first impressions of the room were that it was massive! out of all the hostels i stayed in this had the most floor space and lovely big windows overlooking the streets of sydney. The lockers they gave us were all really clean and huge enough to fit our rucksacks (standard backpacking rucksacks) and my hand luggage into it with ease and i felt comfortable knowing that my stuff was securely stowed away whilst i was out and about.

The first night we stayed there was a free salsa night with movie night after and we had a ball joining in with the dancing. the film was also a pretty new one and with the added bonus of free popcorn we quickly settled in! The kitchens were nice and clean and the seating area was really impressively designed and looked new and up-to-date which really matched the rest of the hostel. The pool was also beautiful and clean and the sauna was also really impressive! I felt like i was in a hotel more than a hostel!

There were 5 showers and 4 toliets for the girls and the only entry was with a keycard which made u feel alot safer (although i did forget my keycard a number of times resulting in me being locked out both my room and the bathroom!)

The location is also spot on and isnt tooo long a walk to circular quay/various other activities. Overall this was the best hostel i stayed in and there are so many activities to join in with at the hostel (salsa night, daily movie nights, bbq's on the roof, and sunday trips to aussie rules football) that you just cant help but get involved and meet new people!

  • Liked — the facilities
  • Disliked — nothing! it was all great!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank icecreamgirl7988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
2,000 reviews
391 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,175 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

Yes, the location is good.

However for A$98 for a nondescipt single room, I could have enjoyed a better, true hotel room.

'Better value elsewhere' would be my summary.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Spartan
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#103 of 178 in Sydney
1,830 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#101 of 178 in Sydney
4,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Sydney
#63 of 178 in Sydney
4,864 reviews
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 142 in Sydney
1,361 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 142 in Sydney
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Central YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Central YHA

Property: Sydney Central YHA
Address: 11 Rawson Pl | Cnr Pitt St & Rawson Pl, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney Central YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Central YHA hostel is Sydney's hostel with everything and the best value choice in the centre of the city. It is housed in a heritage-listed building opposite Central Station. It has panoramic views of Sydney from the rooftop and outdoor area, heated pool, sauna. Sydney Central facilities include kitchens, laundries, games/TV rooms, locker hire, limited parking, group accommodation/meeting rooms, disabled access, 24 hour security access, YHA Travel desk, free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), bistro, convenience store. There is even an in-house cinema with two free movies a day! Regular activities include pub crawls, sporting events, market tours and BBQs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sydney Central YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Central Yha Hotel Sydney
Central Sydney Yha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing