We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveling Family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
Ranked #37 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
1 review
“Traveling Family”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Short Jog to the Opera House. Crazy fun activities and part of the city.they organized treks to bars and made sure everyone was involved in all activities. As a main central part of the city you can easily plan trips to anywhere! Even good connections if you want to work. You feel like you're part of a traveling family. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelorofthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    108
    84
    29
    35
See reviews for
15
76
118
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Arrived midday after a short flight from Melbourne with four other friends to be greeted happily during a busy time. The staff were fantastic and the people around were nothing short of lovely. Very central location, only a 15 minute drive to Circular Quay and a mere walk to King's Cross. Had a great stay at the hotel over two nights, group activities included going to several bars and meeting many friendly internationals.

Room Tip: Try to book ground floor to avoid being close to the toilets/shower area (high traffic area)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanfr91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and left. We were planning to switch hostels anyway, but in the end we were glad since we had to kill two huge cockroaches during that time (in our room). Couldn't get much sleep after that so our experience was ruined. The staff tried to be really friendly and there weren't any problems with that. I did not exactly like it but if you are used to living with cockroaches or waking up in the middle of the night to see one running in the corner then this is the place for you! Cheers!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Best hostel iv stayed in during my time in Australia. Was so lucky to stay over the Christmas and new year period. They had a great family feel as they had many different group activities. It was extremely clean and the boiling water tap in the kitchen also had an ice cold water function (no need to refrigerate water). HIGHLY RECOMMEND. Thanks

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imran O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I spent my really first night in Australia in this hostel. I was just arrived after a 24 hours flight and I was really late at night, probably around midnight. The staff was really kind giving me everything I needed, the information about the checkout and some clean sheets. I was sleeping in a 4 bed dormitory and I found it was in the average as quality. Maybe they should ask to people to do not make a mess in the room :D

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrico F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed in this hostel for 4 months in total and love the place. Great for both long termers and short term visitors. Really socialbe hostel, always people to talk too or a night out to go on. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. Great location. Safe hostel. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: They have 3 bed dorms which are the same price as an 8 bed dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthlessparkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I booked a twin room on Mid of June with My sister. Outside of the hostel wall, it let me feel refresh , active and young. When I walked into the door, the staff was helpful and have a warm welcoming. Of course the hostel don't have lift, we have to walk up to level 3 , it was tired but we happy cause it was a way to have a exercise! The room is small & tidy accomodate with small freeze & TV (I'm so surprise with that). Eventhough this is a hostel, but It complete with all basic necessary (Washing machine, Freeze, TV, kitchen, wifi etc) and also include many different activity to make our holiday more interesting. I love this hostel very much. Will come again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy_03KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Zing Backpackers
#39 of 142 in Sydney
135 reviews
Summer House Backpackers
#16 of 142 in Sydney
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Nates Place Backpackers
Nates Place Backpackers
#43 of 142 in Sydney
69 reviews
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#40 of 142 in Sydney
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Swagman Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Swagman Backpackers

Property: Jolly Swagman Backpackers
Address: 27 Orwell St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jolly Swagman Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering FREE Internet, FREE Breakfast and FREE airport pickup (conditions apply) and located in the heart of Sydney's Backpacker Mecca - Kings Cross - the Jolly Swagman Backpackers Hostel is open 24 hours and it has been the heart and soul of the Australian Backpacker world for over 15 years. We have become famous for giving backpackers the time of their lives. On our doorstep are breathtaking, scenic views of the city skyline, the spectacular Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, all just minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jolly Swagman Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Swagman Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing