We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Immaculate service, unique facilities, memorable experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Ranked #2 of 64 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Immaculate service, unique facilities, memorable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

My one-night stay at Sydney's famous Lord Nelson Brewery was the highlight of my time in Sydney. Staying at The Lord is a unique experience facilitated by well-kept facilities, gorgeous infrastructure and friendly, attentive service. And who could resist the in-house brewed beers, which have themselves a global reputation as one of the finest boutique brews. Staying at The Lord is a must for anyone Sydney-sided or traveller.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theretrovego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    180
    42
    8
    3
See reviews for
58
273
36
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Headed to Australia in Dec 2013 for some diving in Cairns and Port Douglas and a few nights in Sydney. The Lord Nelson was great. Built in 1836 so nothing fancy but very comfortable and convenient. If you are expecting the Ritz, you will complain. If you are expecting a great location (4-6 blocks to the Harbor), great conversations with Karl (think he is the owner - saw him early in the pub getting ready for the day - i mean workwise not drink wise Karl). The hotel consists of the top 2 floors with a Pub and restaurant on floor 1 and a sit down dining area on floor 2.

I am so glad I chose this vs. something like a Sheraton or other "chain".

Great stay and thank you,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Great location, friendly staff, great beer and food. I'd recommend this place to anyone visiting Sydney. It took minutes to walk to the Rocks or Darling Harbour. Wonderful room. We went the economical route and booked a room with a shared bathroom. It worked out well. Great views from the room as well. My in laws stayed in a room on the top floor with a bathroom. Great space!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hakatai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

In the heart of the Rocks, the Lord Nelson is a wonderful place to stay. An original Sydney pub, it is authentic and charming. The rooms are all refurbished with exposed stone walls, and are situated 2 floors (and up) above the street level pub. My room fronted onto the main street, but was quiet and had a great view. The adjoining bathroom had a really large deep bathtub to soak in - which was heaven after walking around all day. 5 minutes walk from Circular Quay, the lower end of George street, and the Sydney Bridge - it is in a perfect central spot. The food in the pub and the restaurant was excellent, and a continental breakfast is included in the room cost. The pub gets very busy, so go early or be prepared to be patient for a spot at a table. There is no elevator in the hotel, but the staff were very helpful in taking up luggage. If I get the chance to come back to Sydney I will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 203 has a separate private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Rooms are above the pub, on the first and second floors. The room we had was spacious and spotless, overlooking a quiet street. The whole place has a wonderful old-world charm and is situated in The Rocks, the oldest part of Sydney, so lots of interesting things to see. For those that like a quiet drink, the pub gets very noisy most nights as it's a popular stopping off point for workers on their way home. The noise doesn't travel to the rooms, so you can still get a peaceful night's sleep! The included continental breakfast at the hotel was fine. There is a set charge for cooked breakfast, but we found staff flexible, i.e. I just wanted scrambled eggs and they kindly reduced the price.
We didn't eat in the restaurant, so no idea what the food is like there. However, the hotel provided buffet and finger foods for our son and daughter-in-law's wedding celebrations and everything was just perfect. Both Darling and Sydney Harbour are about a 15/20 minute walk away, as is the lovely weekend market. If you get tired, tourist legs, then taxis are cheap (relatively, given Sydney prices) and easily available. The beer made on site at the microbrewery is not the same as our English real ale, but very good, nonetheless.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
257 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

I nearly stayed at the Lord Nelson so wanted to go at least for a meal. After exploring The Rocks my first day in Sydney I went there for lunch. Ordered the vegetarian special of the day which was just lovely. Also decided to splurge and have dessert--I'd never had affogoto before and was not disappointed! My only regret is that I didn't get back to have some beers with friends downstairs later in the trip. It looked like a really fun place to drink!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alliswell252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had visited The Lord a couple of times previously just for drinks and this time we needed a room close to The Rocks area just for one night. So glad we stayed here - close to everything and yet quiet and gorgeous (alhough quite compact) room. Love this area of Sydney and the building oozes charm and history. Breakfast included in the rate was also excellent. When compared with other fancy hotels in the area is really good value and so much more interesting. I guess on the downside the stairs might be a problem for some people, but the staff were really helpful and quick to offer assistance if needed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raeh255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#44 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,005 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#5 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel

Property: The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Address: Cnr Kent and Argyle Sts. | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydneys Oldest Continually Licensed Hotel and Microbrewery. Brewers of fine natural ales, purveyors of delicious pub and restaurant fare and boutique accommodation. Established 1841. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Lord Nelson Brewery Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing