We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, six block from cruise ship departure,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Ranked #1 of 57 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Easy walk to many major sites, ( opera house & weekend market) friendly personnel , very clean, good value. Many interesting restaurants around the hotel, but enjoyed the menu at Lord Nelson. Would suggest reservations at restaurant on weekend. Most of the people I observed eating there were not staying at The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel.
Our flight arrived early morning, but the hotel stored our luggage in the office until our return. Workers from the brewery carried them up two flights of stairs.
We stayed in one of the rooms with a private bath. Television & wifi were available. Very comfortable beds & plenty of room for the two of us and all our luggage.

Would stay there again, if ever in Sydney. It was the favorite part of our vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights with another couple, and had a good experience. The location is great and we found it to be a cool experience to stay in a brewery. The breakfast was simple and nice, and we found the staff to be accommodating. As others have indicated, be aware of the flights of stairs heading up to your room (but we found the staff very willing to help with our luggage) and the multiple log-ins required for the wifi did get a little annoying. And you definitely do hear street noise at night. But, for the location, price, and history, it's really unbeatable!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rkstar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We often like staying in B&Bs because you usually get a better local flavor, have a good impartial contact for information on the location, and good food. We did look at other big, nice hotels in the Sydney area but they were going for about $275 AUD per night and up. We tried a few smaller B&Bs, but they were already booked months in advance. So, the idea of staying in a brewery sounded cool. We booked for $200 AUD (all inclusive) per night for 3-nights. Our requested room on the third floor was not available but would be assigned one at check-in. We arrived in the evening at the domestic airport - it was going to be about $32 to take the Airport Express station and then walk 10-15 minutes up the hill from Circular Quay station with our bags...so we took a taxi. That was incredibly fast (15 minutes?) and cost $46 ($9 of the fare was due to tolls).

GOOD
- You are staying in the oldest hotel/ pub in Sydney which has an active brewery downstairs. How cool is that!!
- Excellent location - 10 minute walk to Circular Quay for ferries, trains, buses, the Opera House, the Rocks, etc. Less than 5 minutes to get on the Sydney Harbour Bridge. 20 minute walk to Darling Harbour. Really, a fantastic location.
- Free WIFI....after you watch some random gaming commercial for about 30 seconds every few hours.
- Free continental breakfast. Very basic (2 large pieces of toast with a small fruit plate consisting of 6 grapes/ small cantelope slice, small watermellon slice, small orange slice, and 3 slices of apple). Also your choice of 1 hot beverage, juice, and 2 types of dry cereal. Some reviewers here say you can upgrade to a hot breakfast for additional cost but this was neither explained nor offered to us during our 3-night stay.
- Hot shower every day. Note that the shower is the typical Australian style in a bathtub with a 15 inch glass partition, so hope you can aim well!!
- Room was clean and nicely cleaned every day.
- Nice bathroom amenities, refrigerator, kettle, and coffee/ tea.
- Pub had fairly priced and good tasting food.

BE AWARE
- Very impersonal service from start to finish. When we arrived and went to the bar to check-in, no one was sure who would do it...eventually one of them took care of it. They did offer to have some of the pub staff help carry our bags up the flights of stairs for us. No information was provided about anything at all - no maps, no info on breakfast, no info on the pub, etc. And that was pretty much how it went. No one ever left us a note to see how things were, etc. I am not even sure who we would have asked if we had questions. We weren't treated badly, we just had no service at all - at least at a big chain hotel, people tell you good morning and there is a concierge desk to answer questions. To me, this was the unhappy middle ground between a real B&B and a full service hotel.
- Loud hotel. The plumbing from all the other rooms can be heard throughout the hotel. We were on the second floor (room 201), and when the room next to us used the shower/ toilet, we heard that through the wall....and when the floor above us used anything, the plumbing passed through the vent right above the bed. As if that wasn't enough, they emptied their kicked beer kegs early in the morning outside our window.....and on our last day, they started doing some hammering and chair moving in the bar at 7:30 AM. We were pretty tired after leaving this place.
- No hairdryer
- Beers are expensive in Australia, and this place is no exception. $9 AUD for a pint and $5 AUD for a half pint. They were sold-out of some of their beers every night, so there were some varieties that we were never able to taste. Also, if you like flavored beers, this isn't the place as they only use natural ingredients (no sugars or added flavors).
- Location would not be handicap accessible.

OVERALL
The price was a good cost savings in expensive Sydney and the location was great. However, this place exists and functions for the pub, and the hotel is an afterthought and clearly not a priority. If you want to have a nice, clean room in a cool historical pub, this is the place. If you are looking for a nice local B&B experience with some friendly locals and tips on the area, you should stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank usflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We arrived at the Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel, tired from a long journey. It was after the office hours, so I went to the bar to ask for help. Our room ended up being on the top floor, and no elevator. I started to drag my very heavy suitcase up the stairs, but one of the guys who works in the bar took it and hauled it up for me, along with all my other things.

The room was very nice, a smaller queen, and very well equipped. The bathroom was large, and there was a fridge in the room, along with coffee making supplies. Breakfast was very good, some cereals, juices, coffee (beware of the Aussie names for coffee), fruit plate, and toast. A sufficient meal to last for most of the day.

Free wi-fi was available, but after a certain time, the device (cell phone or whatever) would logout, so we had to keep logging back in. This was my only complaint.

The location, near The Rocks, was very convenient to Circular Quay, and the Opera House, and everything, just about a 15-20 minute walk.

The people were extremely accommodating, and we would definitely return, if we go back to Sydney.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LESCOTT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The Lord Nelson is a great place to take your friends from overseas. A great atmosphere in a historic pub

It combines a brewery - several great beers, good downstairs pub food and a really good upstairs bistro. Also a great place to watch a game of rugby - union - the real stuff!


Haven't stayed here but people who have like it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanKind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My wife and I spent three very enjoyable nights in the Lord Nelson during our visit to Sydney earlier this month. We arrived about midday and were helped in with our luggage by the very friendly bar staff. As we were too early to get into our room they stored the bags whilst we went off to drop off the hire car. Our room, on the second floor, was spacious and extremely well appointed with a lovely bath and masses of piping hot water. The wooden window blinds did a good job in excluding the street lights and we had three very peaceful nights. The continental breakfasts were good and my first experience of Vegimite. The bar downstairs sold excellent 'home brewed' ales in pint glasses and wholesome bar food (the fish and chips and pie 'n peas were notable). Rebecca was very helpful in organising our taxi to the airport very very early Saturday morning and was a 'brick' when it came to setting up the Wifi. All in all a great choice!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coyote88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Lord Nelson has a lot of things going for it - great location in The Rocks, a pub on site, a great restaurant on site, and rooms upstairs. You couldn't ask for a better combination.
Tie this in with friendly service, and you are onto a winner. Good breakfasts too.
We stayed in December, and had a very good experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HertsNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Langham, Sydney
#7 of 179 in Sydney
1,833 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 179 in Sydney
1,316 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
927 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel

Address: Cnr Kent and Argyle Sts. | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: £77 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydneys Oldest Continually Licensed Hotel and Microbrewery. Brewers of fine natural ales, purveyors of delicious pub and restaurant fare and boutique accommodation. Established 1841. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Lord Nelson Brewery Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing