We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you want busy, stay at the wattle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sydney Wattle Hotel
Ranked #169 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 3 December 2012

wattle hotel. a 5 room hotel that is a reception area and then 5 private rooms upstairs.
the hotel itself is above a sex shop and a bottle shop with the entry door in between the two.
so it was definately an interesting start to our holiday. the rooms were clean and tidy. the air conditioning worked and we had the front room with the balcony. this was a bonus and a minus.
the bonus was that you could sit out of the balcony and watch the world of oxford st. the minus was that most of the night you could also listen to the noise of oxford st while you were trying to sleep. sirens screaming drag shows singing yelling and buses were the background noise alllllll night....if you were someone wanting to be out and about in that noise then this is the place to stay....if you wanted a quiet night sleep then probably dont stay directly on oxford st....the location was great to food and pubs and all the things oxford st has to offer and only a short 20 min walk down the circular quay so perfect location for action....but maybe not for anything chilled out or romantic:)

Room Tip: back room if you dont want to hear any noise...the front balcony room if you want to be in all the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JDJamojoplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

Flying standby out of Honolulu I was unable to prebook a hotel in Sydney, so I used the Hotel Desk at the Sydney Airport to book a hotel for my first night in Sydney. Thank goodness I only booked one night. The Wattle would have been overpriced if was free. The "desk clerk", who eventually came to the desk, could barely speak English, the room was filthy, the location surprisingly looked just as bad in the morning as it did at night. The only nice thing I can think of to say is that the linen was clean and the kettle worked, at least better than the plumbing in the bathroom. I contemplated leaving after seeing the room, but I didn't feel comfortable in the area walking to another hotel at zero dark thirty. There was no sign of anyone in the morning in the lobby. Believe every bad thing you read in Trip Advisor about the Wattle Hotel.

Room Tip: I can not imagine there are any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank barnyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Unfortunately I booked this hotel on line via Venere.com.
it was stated as a Free Cancellation hotel BUT the hotel CHARGED my credit card IMMEDIATELY (it was July and I was expectiong to be in Sydney in October): later on I had to cancel my booking for this hotel and they carged me one more time the amount for the room plus twice time credit for the amount not a proper managing of other people datas! At the end I paid 10 $ for credit card charges and the management denied to reimburs that. So be carefull when booking this hotel

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
4  Thank robertach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Myself and 2 friends had booked a room at the wattle, thinking it would be a reasonable room for a great price, the ad stated it had a balcony and parking, to our horror we arrived and the room was FILTHY!!!! We couldn't even walk on the floor we were scared we would catch some sort of disease!!! The common areas smelt like marijuana!!! But apparently they have a "no smoking policy", the beds were also filthy dirty, i doubt they had been cleaned and changed, it looked like somewhere you would take someone to torture them!

We went down and requested a money back, explaining the room wasn't even as desribed, nothing like the pictures, no balcony, and no parking (this was all stated in the ad as available) the rude incompetent man refused to give our money back!!! I beg your pardon! He had no right to refuse to refund the money when that room is so filthy it is unlivable! we ended up leaving, regardless of not being able to receive a refund, the room was way too filthy to hang around. We couldn't get our of their quick enough!!!

BIGGEST RIP OFF EVER.

For safety reasons this building needs to be knocked down, not even a refurbish would fix this place, it is filthy!!!! Put something worthwhile there.

For your own health and safety, i strongly advise you do not stay here!!!

I have no idea how they are still operating!!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
6  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Located In the thick of the action of Oxford street, Great if you want to party at the surrounding night spots or you are a budget traveller looking for something more than a backpackers to base yourself. This is not the place for budget conscious business traveller who wants to relax quietly after work. The tv reception was abysmal, decor tired & very basic. Bathroom needs major renovations. Very noisy with traffic outside very late & then again very early. Can hear other rooms walking around on floorboards, It was however clean & bed quite comfortable. Great eateries close by.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelbord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The first few hours of this vacation were spent looking for alternative accommodation which we could not get unfortunately till the second night of our stay. We could not wait to check out.

This hotel was not as they represented themselves. It did not have the advertised amenities and was dirty and possibly dangerous. The room was small and dingy with peeling paintwork and not particularly clean. The so called kitchenette had a toaster and a kettle but no plates, or cutlery or detergent or tea towel. Capable of tea and coffee making only and the cheapest brands available.

There was no phone, iron, hairdryer or ironing board. There was exposed electrical wiring and an electrical switch with a hole where the switch was meant to be. There were holes in the wall, The arm chair had lost its padding and was dirty. We found it unusable. The TV reception was so poor that we could only select from about two of the channels.

The bathroom was so dirty that I was glad we had some thongs to wear in the shower. There were no spare toilet rolls and no toilet cleaning brush.

The so called double glazing only extended to one of windows so that it was so noisy we bought ear plugs and used the airconditioner to provide white noise.

There is no lift so we lugged our bags up two double flights of stairs and there was no offer of help with this.

The only redeeming feature was that the bed was relatively new and the linen was clean.

We paid $130 for the room over the internet.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

For $100 a night this place is fine! Our room was clean and spacious, and we had tea and coffee making facilities.

The bathroom was very small, badly painted and a bit musty smelling, but fine.

Great location, short walk to everywhere decent in the city. Nice bars nearby too.

For $100 a night in the city centre you can't complain. The week before we stayed here my boyfriend and I stayed in a backpackers for $65 a night where we had no private bathroom and we slept on bunkbeds in a room no bigger than my closet at home!

Wattle is cheap, but fine! And the staff are friendly too.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FT87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
#145 of 186 in Sydney
46 reviews
Highfield Private Hotel
#140 of 186 in Sydney
81 reviews
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#95 of 186 in Sydney
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#118 of 186 in Sydney
703 reviews
Surry Hills
Abey Hotel
Abey Hotel
#125 of 186 in Sydney
111 reviews
Paddington
Arts Hotel
Arts Hotel
#104 of 186 in Sydney
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Wattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Wattle Hotel

Address: 108a Oxford St | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £69 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney Wattle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a charming boutique hotel in the heart of the historical Oxford Street, Darlinghurst, Sydney Wattle Hotel is famous for its perfect location for annual Mardi Gras and its Bohemian culture & cafe society. Period features such as high ceilings and ornate mouldings are complemented by plush furnishings to create a quiet oasis; just a few steps from Sydney's most vibrant entertainment and dining precincts - Oxford Street, Taylor Square, Paddington Market, Surry Hills & East Sydney. Totally 11 rooms are available, some with the view of the Sydney skyline and world famous Sydney Tower. Exquisitely appointed with contemporary furnishings, rooms feature double-glazed windows, plus modern queen-size bed, en-suite and air conditioning. These spacious rooms offer a comfortable environment for business & leisure travellers. Our friendly staff are equipped to handle virtually every conceivable scenario and always strive to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sydney Wattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Wattle Private

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing