We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'wattle' they do with this place?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sydney Wattle Hotel
Ranked #160 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“'wattle' they do with this place?”
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Room standard size for a modern hotel but modern hasn't applied to this place a for a long long time. On arrival I was met by friendly staff with mixed English capabilities. I paid my room bill on arrival but on offering my Amex card was told they had no EFTPOS and was asked to pay cash. I had just arrived and didn't have $178 in my wallet, They eventually found the old click swipe thing and took payment that way. After arrival in my room which was clean but with very old furniture and in desparate need of total refurbishment there was a knock the door. They couldn't take Amex and did I have another card? Gave then my Visa which was now ok. They did bring the previous Amex swipe and destroy it before me. $178 for the two nights plus $10 returnable deposit for the electronic room key

Being a Queenslander and this the middle of winter I felt chill and asked for some heating and was told the a/c was reverse cycle. I turned it on with no joy and informed the staff who came and fiddled with it and said it would be fine in ten to fifteen minutes. It wasn't so they brought me a fan heater which was a bit noisy.

I looked for the in-room tea and coffee, saw the kettle over the kitchen sized sink and eventually found tea gabs, coffee sachets and sugar sachets in a draw on the other side of the room but no milk which i didn't worry about as I don't' take it in tea and don't like instant coffee. However no cups to seen. Went back to reception to request cups which were promptly brought.....no in house phone.

There were wall lights either side of the cheap bed but which was comfortable enough, just. Both lights flickered at a great rate and one or therm died shortly after being turned on.

The bathroom is a mess with a corner sink where the tap runs constantly, not drips, runs ,and there was no plug to be seen. Toiletries consisted of two tubes of conditioning shampoo and one cake of guest soap. Fresh towels were provided on the first night for morning

The hotel is in the thick of things right on Oxford street and not too noisy due to the thick secondary double glazing.

Staff assured me that a massive renovation project was just about to begin..........................

No cafe/ breakfast room or bar. They are outside on oxford street

Photos on hotel website totally misleading

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jucee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    11
    15
    11
    47
See reviews for
17
25
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Terrible place a small and dirty room. I was really disappointed. That place is near to collapse. DO NOT STAY THERE !!! (look at photos )

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmitry-vgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2010

The room was absolutely disgusting, I found a crack pipe in the drawer and burn marks on the walls. The bed was missing a leg, and you could hear people engaging in sexual acts all through the night.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank concerned1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

I mean it! Take your chances on the street if no other accommodation is available. I travelled with my teenage daughter and we were completely disgusted. Filthy room, broken aircon and cupboard doors, last guest's glitter and pink fluff (!) all over the carpet. Disgusting bathroom complete with resident cockroaches - I made my daughter wear thongs in the shower! Cigarette burns over all the junk shop furniture and a pervading smell of smoke. Gross marks and smears all over the walls - I don't even want to think about what they might have been. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SasCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Absolutely disgusting. I would like to know how I can report this place as it needs to be shut down. All the other reviews are accurate. Words cannot describe how disgraceful this place is. The website is misleading and deceptive and the place is a total disgrace. I really am surprised they are allowed to operate and certainly how they can charge the money they do. We were charged $140 a night for two nights of our stay. We would have gone elsewhere but due to a busy weekend we were stuck here. The bathroom was actually mouldy. They provide no phone, iron, cupboard, hairdryer. The 'daily room service' doesn't include making the bed, but I get the feeling the cleaners know what sort of people usually stay here so i wouldn't make the bed either. We witnessed a sex act going on on the rooftop which was where our room was. The girl then knocked on our door, presumably thinking she had some more business...

Then when we checked out and ask to speak to the manager we were told he wasn't working and a day later we are still waiting for a call back despite going back later in the day and making a phone call to speak to management. They also charged my credit card the afternoon we got there which can't be legal. Appalling. A Current Affair needs to pay this place a visit and have them shut down.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holidayerQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra AUS
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Where do you start with this hole? Well, firstly they violated NSW consumer law by accepting payment for an advertised room that wasn't available and then downsized us with no offer of compensation. Complained to Gostay.com - no reply. Then on arrival, they sent us away twice because the room hadn't been cleaned. In fact, the only clean thing in there were the sheets. As for the advertised double glazed windows which are a must on drunken Oxford st - unfortunately not all the windows were D-G'd and the party in the laneway below raged into our room until 3am, punctuated by the frequent police sirens. Multiple fixtures broken, 50yo furniture, taps not working or fall off, cracked and loose tiles, tiny bathroom, mouldy, and stinking of smoke. Send in the OH&S inspectors, this place is shamefully poor value and not to Australian standards. The Wattle Hotel is poorly located and makes youth hostels look like the Hilton!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelabit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Disappointing but a lesson learnt hard way Room nothing like photos on website-staircase to room reeked of urine, broken mirror in foyer, broken toilet bowl inside, no bedspread just sheets, [clean at least] no phone, inside electric jug black, airconditioner faulty strongly don't recommend very disgusted and upset.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistyblue01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Abey Hotel
Abey Hotel
#117 of 178 in Sydney
95 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#116 of 178 in Sydney
654 reviews
Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
#128 of 178 in Sydney
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
492 reviews
Glasgow Arms Hotel
#121 of 178 in Sydney
98 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 178 in Sydney
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Wattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Wattle Hotel

Property: Sydney Wattle Hotel
Address: 108a Oxford St | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney Wattle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a charming boutique hotel in the heart of the historical Oxford Street, Darlinghurst, Sydney Wattle Hotel is famous for its perfect location for annual Mardi Gras and its Bohemian culture & cafe society. Period features such as high ceilings and ornate mouldings are complemented by plush furnishings to create a quiet oasis; just a few steps from Sydney's most vibrant entertainment and dining precincts - Oxford Street, Taylor Square, Paddington Market, Surry Hills & East Sydney. Totally 11 rooms are available, some with the view of the Sydney skyline and world famous Sydney Tower. Exquisitely appointed with contemporary furnishings, rooms feature double-glazed windows, plus modern queen-size bed, en-suite and air conditioning. These spacious rooms offer a comfortable environment for business & leisure travellers. Our friendly staff are equipped to handle virtually every conceivable scenario and always strive to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sydney Wattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Wattle Private

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing