We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yikes!”
Review of Woolbrokers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Woolbrokers Hotel
Ranked #126 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

I would expect to pay half of what I did for this place. We had to carry our bags up three flights of stairs. Toilette and shower are shared for the floor - and i had to hold the shower head up. The water pipes made freaky noises throughout the night and the bunk beds we're even worse!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WazJTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Woolbrokers Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

I have stayed at Woolbrokers B&B Hotel in May 2012 for a couple of days. I was looking for a single room for a rather low rate, which I had found.

From the airport Sydney it is accessible via Metro and then Tram, works well.
The staff was friendly. The Hotel has`t been refurbished since ages. Not even the simplest investments to make it more comfortable have been made.

The room was veeery dark, no sunlight coming in, I couldnt even tell if the sun was shining or if it was cloudy outside. There would have been another room with a lot more sun light but also more noise from the road. And the queen sized bed mattress had two deep pits/dents from the last decades of people molding them. Veeery old mattress.
The room in the first floor where I stayed had a queen sized bed (mattress was soft but o.k.) and a shared shower and a shared toilet on the floor.
The room smelled old and musty, letting fresh air in helped only for minutes. The room`s window went to the narrow gap between two buildings, in this gap the hotel`s old fridges were running all night, very noisy.
The worst was the shower curtain. It was covered with black mold and was sticking together. One was watching out not to touch it more than necessary. The cleaning personell avoided that obviously as well. Shower itself and the small sink were clean.
A good thing was the laundra room, where one can wash cloths for 3 dollars and iron them as well. My shirts didnt`get really clean however, but that might have been the wrong machine setting or cheap washing solvent.
I have no idea if there are better places for this rate in Sydney. I hope so. However, I can`t really recommend Woolbrokers unless someone is in a hurry to find something last minute and that`s the only one to find, like in my case.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Great location by Darling Harbour. Good value for money, basic rooms (bunks and beds) food simple but good. Excellent, patient staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Reception staff were very helpful.

Rooms were not as in the pictures provided. The towels & linen were clean but the general cleanliness of the room was not great.

Shared facilities were OK. except the shower screens were either broken or difficult to close. The showers were always hot & the general cleanliness of these areas were OK.

The price & location was excellent, with only a 5 minute walk to Darling Harbour. Also, not far to walk to other attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndaBirminghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed at the Woolbrokers for 3 nights - we booked a twin room but we were surprised to find just two bunkbeds in our room! Reception was friendly and had good advice on hand. Excellent location for Darling Harbour (few mins walk), close to the train and the fish market, and easy to walk into the city. Clean and no problems with noise but feels a bit backpacker-ish at times (there were some ants in the room!) All in all would probably stay again if on a tight budget (although an extra $10/20 dollars/night and you could find something better elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Love this place. Nice clean and quiet. Close to everything I need and even the parking is cheap. Stayed here a few times and always going to stay again.

The only thing that annoys me is that I can't book in advance due to bookings only opening a few months at a time

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GOLDTOUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Have just had my second stay at the Woolbrokers and am delighted to report that my first impressions were confirmed. It is very cheap, it is basic, but it is clean and the staff are friendly. Lovely sheets & towels provided with tea & coffee making facilities in room. Shared toilet/shower facilities but have never run in to a problem. The location is out of the way of the tourist traffic but easily accessible to everything too. Hotel room prices in the city are outrageous - Woolbrokers gives you a clean, comfy bed - what more do you need?!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank katec62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Glasgow Arms Hotel
#124 of 178 in Sydney
103 reviews
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#118 of 178 in Sydney
666 reviews
Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
#131 of 178 in Sydney
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolbrokers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolbrokers Hotel

Address: 22 Allen St | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > City West
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £45 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Woolbrokers Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in the heart of Darling Harbour on the western fringe of the Sydney CBD. Close to cafes, restaurants, bars, tourist attractions, shops, and public transport. A selection of rooms from singles to family-sized, either with ensuite or shared facility. All rooms with TV, fridge, tea & coffee making facilities, and serviced daily. Breakfast available, plus guest laundry, internet terminal, secure parking, and luggage storage. Reception 7am-10pm only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Woolbrokers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolbrokers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing