We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very cheap”
Review of Woolbrokers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Woolbrokers Hotel
Ranked #128 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location, very cheap”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Ok lets start by saying it's not the most modern place in Sydney. The location is brilliant and the parking cheap. The room was clean and the lady at the desk was great. Lets be realistic most times when you stay in Sydney you only need somewhere to put your head down as you are out most of the time. We had a room with two single beds and an internal on suite. The price was great the linen and towels were clean what more could you ask for. I normally stay in top brand name hotels with rooms smaller than the one we had and 3 times the price. The money we saved by staying there paid for our show tickets top value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chickabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    44
    45
    14
    13
See reviews for
30
27
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This place was atrocious! Everything was wrong, from the entrance to the room.

It's impossible to get into the building for the first time and the lady at the desk ignored our several calls while we stood in the poring rain, once we got in she was rude to another stayer.

The door is battered and patched. Once we got in things didn't get any better as a matter of fact things got worse! Every surface was damaged/unclean. The rooms were stuffy and dusty. There were holes in the wall and there were unknown various substances throughout the rooms, there was even blood on one of the heaters! The communal services were filthy! Last but not least, the power points posed a fire risk.


This is bellow any health and safety standards, needs to be reviewed and fixed ASAP, will not be staying here again, this was a school trip and I would rather pay extra for something better.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BrandonSchwass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Coomera, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

At $73 for the night is was great value. All other hotels in the area were in the 250-300 range for a night and this was 5 min walk to darling harbour. Bath room in hall way but very clean. The front reception service was far better than I received in 5 star hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubbo, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at the Woolbrokers for a couple of days at the start of the new year on recommendation of a friend as we wanted to see the Lion King. We drove down from Dubbo and we were very pleased to find they provided discounted parking just across the street for $13 for 24 hours!!!!

We were amazed at the location of the hotel and how close we were to all of Sydney's gems! Darling Harbour was only an 5 minute walk an the light-rail to the city was also just around the corner which we used regularly.

The staff were very friendly and helped us with a map and some recommendations on where to go. The rooms were clean. We had a king size bed (which was comfortable) and the kids had a bunk bed. We had a shared bathroom across the hall and they were clean.We were worried that a lot of rooms would be using the same bathroom but there were actually multiple ones on our floor.

We had a breakfast each morning for $7.5 to which we could help ourselves to a small buffet. Was pretty good value for money.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to enjoy Sydney for a couple of days on a budget with the family!!!! We had a room for $170 for 4 people, and given it's standards and location, it was a great deal!

We will be back for sure!! :) :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

First of all this is not hotel standard, it is hostel standard (but missing some of the benefits of a hostel). As I like to start with the positive here goes: it is clean and in a good location and the male receptionist was very helpful and friendly (shame the rest of his colleagues were not as good).

Unfortunately that is all the positives, it has shared bathrooms, no air conditioning, it is on a main road and as a result very noisy. The decor and furnishings are worn and dated. There is not a 24 hour reception and if you cannot arrive during reception hours you will be charged a late arrival fee. We arrived at 22:10 to a locked door, when someone did finally arrive at the door as a result of us ringing the door bell we were greeted by a unwelcoming woman who informed us reception was closed - it did not appear that she was going to let us in at all until she informed us we would have to pay the 'late arrival' charge of $50 - after agreeing (as what choice do you have) we were given a key to a room and then she disappeared leaving us to find our own room.

If you want budget accommodation I would stay at a hostel (and I have stayed in some much better and cheaper hostels).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosalyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Before we booked this hotel we were looking into staying in a hostel but most of these were booked up so we did some research and decided to go for the double room/shared bathroom at Woolbrokers.

The location was perfect (really close to Darlington Harbour), room was pretty dated but we did not spent much time indoors so it didn't matter.

Shared bathroom/loo was clean too (a big plus for me)!

There are laundry facilities available and this will cost you $3 for one washing.

No AC and no WiFi.

Would recomment for someone on budget.






Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GreenBeanBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Food was cold, beds were hard, sheets were dirty,bad service, showers didn't work. An overall TERRIBLE experience, would have been better to stay at the back packers! Don't visit one word HORRIBLE!!!!!

Room Tip: All are Absoloutely un stay able
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Glasgow Arms Hotel
#124 of 179 in Sydney
99 reviews
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#118 of 179 in Sydney
656 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#103 of 179 in Sydney
1,798 reviews
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#68 of 179 in Sydney
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolbrokers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolbrokers Hotel

Property: Woolbrokers Hotel
Address: 22 Allen St | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > City West
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Woolbrokers Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in the heart of Darling Harbour on the western fringe of the Sydney CBD. Close to cafes, restaurants, bars, tourist attractions, shops, and public transport. A selection of rooms from singles to family-sized, either with ensuite or shared facility. All rooms with TV, fridge, tea & coffee making facilities, and serviced daily. Breakfast available, plus guest laundry, internet terminal, secure parking, and luggage storage. Reception 7am-10pm only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Woolbrokers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolbrokers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing