We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Coffee Cruise a Delight!”

Captain Cook Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
US$113.56*
and up
Sydney Harbour Dinner Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Captain Cook Cruises Sydney Harbour has been operating for 42 years offering sightseeing, dining and overnight cruises. Showcasing the best views of Sydney Harbour is Captain Cook's specialty while offering a range of cruise options to suit any itinerary. Choose from the iconic Coffee Cruise with live commentary, a Seafood Buffet Lunch, Top Deck Lunch, Starlight Dinner, Captain's Club Dinner or Gold Dinner cruises. Captain Cook also offer the Harbour Highlights cruise and the 24 hour Hop On Hop Off Explorer cruise allowing you to experience more of Sydney Harbour. Special Events are always a specialty with front row seats for New Years Eve on Sydney Harbour assured when you cruise with Captain Cook Cruises.
Michigan
Level Contributor
497 reviews
211 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Afternoon Coffee Cruise a Delight!”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Perhaps it was the absolutely gorgeous day, but our afternoon coffee cruise was one of the highlights of our short Sydney stay. We sat up on the top deck; not crowded at all. The narration was very informative. The coffee and cakes were yummy. But most of all, we enjoyed the sunny day and seeing the beautiful Sydney harbor.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank acedaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Acedaughter,

Thanks so much for your positive review of your recent coffee cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We were glad to read that you enjoyed the day, the coffee and snack box and that the commentary was informative. We agree that the top deck provides an excellent viewing point for beautiful Sydney Harbour.

Thank you for your positive feedback It is appreciated.

Regards,
Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    760
    487
    152
    108
    86
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“False Advertising”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We booked the lunch time seafood buffet lunch package for $75 per person and paid the extra $25 pp for the drinks package. We were a group of 6 persons. We boarded the ship and were seated and attended the buffet table to find the only seafood was dense battered fish bites, processed calamari rings, beautiful fresh oysters and mussels. There was also vegetable quiche, salads including seafood extender salad, chicken and cheeses. When one of our group went back for seconds of the buffet he was told that the dessert had been served and the main removed. So much for an unlimited "seafood " buffet lunch. The champagne was good, the commentary informative but the seafood buffet a joke.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Stephen P,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent Seafood Buffet Lunch cruise. We offer an extensive menu as shown and stated by yourself on our menu and website but we do not offer an unlimited Seafood Buffet. We are sorry if you misunderstood this information. We believe our cruise is value for money. We were glad to read that the commentary was informative, champagne good and staff accommodating.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you back on board again.

Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises & SeaLink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
336 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Eye of the Beholder”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We booked a dinner cruise at CQ. In getting our tickets we were informed of the special which equated to the second level being less expensive than the lower one. Boarding was a bit confusing as all, self included, didn't understand that gold diners were called first. With so many people awaiting to get on the ship and the noise from surrounding area, a young crew member's voice will not carry over everyone. We all stepped to the side and awaited our turn to enter the ship.

Once on board we were escorted to our table and from there our server, Laura, as well as other members of the staff made every effort to nake this a special trip. They were attentive and conversant. Laura asked if we were celebrating something special and once our anniversary was known, like many others that evening, it was announced by the band's singer and a sparkler accompanied our dessert. The band was a nice touch and we even danced to a couple of the songs...where else could I say, we danced under the Sydney Bridge!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rvtraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear rvtraveller_10,

Thank you for your feedback. We were disappointed to read that you found the check in process confusing. Our Gold Dinner guests are provided priority boarding as part of their dinner package. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your cruise once on board, found the staff accommodating and that your anniversary was made so memorable. We agree that dancing underneath the harbour bridge is a unique and fantastic experience.

Once again thank you for your feedback.


Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises & SeaLink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Didn't feel special”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I booked the Captain's dinner for my 60th birthday celebration with my immediate family but was very disappointed. While the three course meal itself was lovely, I didn't feel like I had 'upgraded' to anything beyond the buffet atmosphere. Also found the music to be loud and boring - never felt the urge to get up and dance so the night was nothing like I imagined and very disappointing for the price I paid.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Karen B,

Thank you for comments relating to your 60th birthday. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the meal but were disappointed to read that you felt like you were in a buffet atmosphere, and the music too loud. Our Captains Dinner is one of our most popular and highly valued products and we are disappointed to read that it did not meet your expectations.

Best regards,
Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises & SeaLink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarrawonga, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hop on hop off 8 destinations!! Rubbish! False advertising!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Last weekend 4 of us decided we would do the hop on hop off cruise that advertised 8 destinations.
We had left Watson bay thinking we are heading to Manley as it is listed as a destination advertised, I asked the one in charge are we heading to Manley now and they said no, its not on this boat let me check your ticket. Our ticket cost each of us $39.95 and they said that we had not paid for this, we thought that we had as all the advertising stated hop on hop off 8 destinations even the boats had it written on them, so we went back to the ticket box at circular Quay to talk to them there and they said the same. But we said this is false advertising and they said that this happens a lot, not once when purchasing tickets did the people serving mention that the advertising hop on hop off 8 destinations would not be all covered under the ticket we purchased. We spoke to the manager he was a useless as they come didn't even try and help or offer us a ticket to Manley. The people selling ticket were much more obliging than this man. I cannot believe that you rip off all the poor tourist like this! I for one and my friends will never recommend Captain cook cruises they should be renamed Captain Crook cruises!!!!
We never go our moneys worth we only went to Watsons Bay then back to Circular Quay! So next door there was a place we purchased our Manley tickets from and they were much more helpful than your lot!! Thanks for nothing!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank annabelle1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear annabelle1966,

Thank you for your comments relating to our Hop On Hop Off- Sydney Harbour explorer product.

Our brochures and flyers explain, that the standard 24 Hour Pass is priced between $39 and $42 and that 24 hour pass with Manly is shown at $45 per Adult. It also says that the Sydney Manly fast ferry is an add on for only a few extra dollars, and our main timetable show only the stops and times around Sydney and Darling Harbour. Manly is not shown as these services/timetable operates up to 19 times per day.

We are sorry that you have misunderstood our brochures, point of sale and flyers information or website, but we have explained this in the fare structure and in detail in the separate Sydney – Manly fast ferry section on all our sales and marketing material, as well as briefing our commentators/deckhands too.

Thank you for your comments as all staff our trained in our products and apologise if you felt you had not be treated appropriately.

Regards,
Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Cook Cruises also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Captain Cook Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing