We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Cook Cruises

Captain Cook Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
US$115.64*
and up
Sydney Harbour Dinner Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Captain Cook Cruises Sydney Harbour has been operating for 42 years offering sightseeing, dining and overnight cruises. Showcasing the best views of Sydney Harbour is Captain Cook's specialty while offering a range of cruise options to suit any itinerary. Choose from the iconic Coffee Cruise with live commentary, a Seafood Buffet Lunch, Top Deck Lunch, Starlight Dinner, Captain's Club Dinner or Gold Dinner cruises. Captain Cook also offer the Harbour Highlights cruise and the 24 hour Hop On Hop Off Explorer cruise allowing you to experience more of Sydney Harbour. Special Events are always a specialty with front row seats for New Years Eve on Sydney Harbour assured when you cruise with Captain Cook Cruises.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I booked this cruise as a special treat for my husband's 40th birthday and we had the degustation dinner. The food and wine were very disappointing, the lobster was overcooked and dry, the confit duck was chunks of meat in a less than special dish and the wines were not up to standard. The night out cost us nearly $500 as we paid extra for a window seat and in the end we couldn't wait to get off at the first chance we had. Would not recommend this cruise to anyone.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NikM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear NikM9,

Thank you for your feedback on your dinner cruise with us. We were disappointed to read that the food and wine did not meet your expectations. We believe our cruise is value for money and that the food and wine reflect this. If you would like to email feedback@captaincook.com.au we would be delighted to hear from you.

Regards,
Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    722
    471
    149
    106
    84
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Judy is the best tour guide ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I have been in Sydney for only 1 day and decided to take this cruise with my friends. Judy was an amazing guide. She knows everything about her tour and had a spectacular personality! She is really witty and so charming. Everyone was well educated on Sydney by the time we left that cruise. The tour itself was great, however, Judy made it extra special. I highly recommend both this tour and tour guide!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirl6877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear travelgirl6877,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback on your recent cruise with us and our tour guide Judy. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed her commentary and her company. We agree that she is a great tour guide and that the cruise is also wonderful.

Thank you for your positive feedback It is appreciated.

Regards,
Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unforgettable evening!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Seeing one of the most beautiful cities in the world while having a good dinner,drinking good wine,served by a friendly and professional staff..just amazing.This experience is highly recommendable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gioshiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Gioshiva,

Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent dining cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We were glad to read that you enjoyed the food, wine selection and friendly staff. We agree that seeing Sydney Harbour from the water is an amazing experience.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Regards,
Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great way to see Sydney Harbour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

What a great relaxing way to spend 2 hours seeing Sydney Harbour from a different perspective. Tour commentary was informative but relaxed. Little boxes of cake and treat with tea and coffee.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank gapthunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear gapthunt,

Thank you for your positive feedback on our recent coffee cruise on Sydney Harbour. We were glad to read that you found the commentary informative and relaxing, as well as that you enjoyed your snack box. We agree that it is a great way to see Sydney Harbour from a different perspective.

Thank you for your positive feedback It is appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Richard Doyle

Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Golden Dinner Cruise - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was a very special evening - made even better with such great service from Kerrie and the Cruise Manager for the evening. It may seem expensive but there is so much on offer from the priority boarding and champagne and canapés through the next six courses all accompanied by great wines. Nothing was too much trouble since I asked for two of my courses to be changed to non-meat - all done without any fuss at all. The cruise with great night time views was accompanied by live entertainment and I would recommend this as a great evening out.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pixy1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Pixy1951,

Thanks so much for your wonderful review of your recent Gold Dinner cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We were glad to read that you found the food, wine and service so commendable and that you were accommodated for your meal changes so well. We agree that it is a fantastic night out and the entertainment splendid.

Thank you for your positive feedback It is appreciated.

Regards,
Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Cook Cruises also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Captain Cook Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing