We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elephant Backpacker
Ranked #85 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

PRO
- nice cafe with nice food for good prices
- excellent location
- free wifi

CONTRA
- not clean at all
- cockroaches in rooms, kitchen, bathrooms and even IN BED !!!
- unfriendly manager, who doesn't care about your concerns
- kitchen is closed and cleaned (not really cleaned, but at least they pretend to) at 5pm
- luggage room can't be locked
- bathrooms are discusting- old underwear lying there for days
- no cooking equipment provided in the kitchen, you have to go to reception and ask for every single item

--> I know it's rather cheap, but still too expensive for what you get. Choose another hostel, seriously, or you end up with bedbugs!

Room Tip: there is no good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    121
    58
    32
    134
See reviews for
4
78
137
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at this hostel for the following reasons. Location is amazing , the staff is very friendly, the food prices in there cafe were amazing. The hostel is in an old heritage building that added to the charm and experience of Sydney. Be warned that since this is an older building some doors don't shut properly, there is no air con and the bathrooms are basic but clean. I personally had zero issues with these as the price, staff and location more than makes up for it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Euankird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

First the good points: The hostel is cheap and you can reach everything important by foot. And yeah, you can store your luggage BUT as the door is open, everyone can walk in there.
Which leads me to the negative stuff:
Why the hell does the kitchen get cleaned at 5p.m.? And it isn't really clean anyway, cockroaches in the kitchen, cockroaches in the rooms on the first floor.
I'm staying here at the moment, because it was the cheapest. I spent three nights in a mixed room with three other people in the first floor and it was horrible. The bunk beds don't have any ladders and you can actually fall down from the upper berth as there is nothing to protect you from falling down. On the cupboard there's stuff from the people who lived before in the room. They don't clean that, don't vacuum the room and you're lucky if they change the rubbish. Now I'm in a private double room, the mattress is horrible, my neck and back hurts but it gets vacuumed everyday and the rubbish gets emptied. Which is, to be honest, completely unnecessary do to every day if there are only two people in the room.
All the stuff you want you have to get from the reception, which is okay but annoying.
Additionally there are many many people in the hostel, so there are also a lot drunks at the weekend.
The Irish girl at the reception is really nice, at least something else which is positive.
So if you want to stay in a clean hostel, do not go there!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiancaBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

1.No internet. Although it said it provides the internet on website, the internet is actually too slow to work. I cannot see the front page after three hours "connecting" on to the internet.
2.No hot water. Ok, it may be my fault because the kitchen closed at 10. But while I ask if there is hot water for drinking or can I borrow the cattle, they ask me to go to toilet.
3. No BLANKET. It was terrible... it's cold in Sydney but no blanket only a sheet. after complaining cold, the stuff complained complain back and said it's true 'cause they have a few blankets but don't know where are they.
4. No breakfast. Because it is cheap. I can understand.
5. Staff are unhelpful, always answer "I don't know." I ask about the vivid Sydney which is the first thing on their website front page, the most frequent response is "Sorry , I have no idea"
6. Dirty, bed bugs, cockroaches every where in the kitchen. well, you'll get used to it though...

Even a cheap price, I will suggest you find another place.
what I don't believe is that, the stuff ask me to be satisfied with this cheap price. "You can not expect too much."
I knew, I knew. But the basic need like a blanket should not be too over, isn't it?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poē-bín K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here for three nights. Was put off by all the bad reviews so dropped in and asked to see the room first. Was pleasantly surprised and would recommend it

- Nice character in this big old high ceiling building
- Rooms have plenty of floor space and lockers
- Service was excellent. Super helpful and made me really feel at home
- Cafe has some good deals
- Good big kitchen / because you have to request the pots it means they are always clean :)
- Walking distance to CBD -> use the super fast escalator tunnel across the road (access in the carpark)
- True, there were some cockroaches to be seen. But it's a big old building and this is quite common in backpackers, if you can't handle a cockroach.... stay at home and save money until you can afford fancy hotels! :p

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at the Elephant for a total of 6 nights two times while I visited Sydney. You definitely get fresh sheets, but you have to ask reception for a blanket. The room is relatively big especially since there are 6 people in there. As for the bathroom it was adequate for showering, it wasn't very busy when I stayed there. The kitchen/ communial area was ok a little small and a lot of the guests never cleaned up their dishes at night so it became quite messy. The location was convenient to walk around town and down to the harbor. All in all for me it was a bed to sleep in so it fulfilled its purpose.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

It ain't the Hilton. But it's cheap, clean, friendly, and accessible to whatever you might want to see in Sydney. Nice bar in hostel on ground (Elephant Bar), vending machines for drinks, free internet, nothing to complain about, as long as you don't need every comfort.

Room Tip: Walking distance to Harbour Bridge and Vivid festival!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Maze Backpackers
#26 of 139 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jackaroo Hostel
#25 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Surry Hills
Hyde Park Backpackers
Hyde Park Backpackers
#19 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#9 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Backpacker

Property: Elephant Backpacker
Address: 50 Sir John Young Cres | Woollomoloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Backpacker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Backpacker Sydney is located close to city centre in gentrified suburb of Woolloomooloo. Set over 4 levels, the top 3 floors accommodate a variety of dormitories and private rooms with each level having communal ladies and men’s shower blocks and separate toilets. All accommodation rooms are provided with bed linen, lockers and reading lights. The ground floor houses a communal kitchen and dining area, tv room, our reception and licensed café & bar. The building offers secure card access. Woolloomooloo, the gentrified city fringe suburb of the hostel is just 5 minutes’ walk from Hyde Park and 10 minutes from shopping at Pitt Street Mall. It is 10 minutes’ bus ride from Sydney Opera House or 15 minutes’ bus ride from Bondi Beach. Enjoy taking the underground travelator across from our hostel to Hyde Park! Our hostel does not permit alcohol to be consumed in the rooms or common areas. Alcohol is available for purchase in our licensed café & bar. We are not a party hostel but suitable for travelers, families and groups. We also welcome disable guests and have a large lift that can accommodate wheel chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elephant Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpacker Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing