We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel with Relaxing Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Sydney Central
Ranked #72 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel with Relaxing Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel for three nights. We stayed there at the last of our holiday, as we needed good sleep at night. The hotel was great. It was clean, spacious room, excellent service, close to central station, Paddy's market, and especially for us (we are moslem) it was close by with a mosque, and the most important the room was quiet.
We got a promotional price by their website, and it was a great deal which included with breakfast, breakfast was yummy. It was a treasure hotel. Definitely we will stay there again when we visit Sydney next year!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room if you want. Look for a deal on their website to get better price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRushita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebel S, Front Office Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear RRushita

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one

Kind Regards
Lauren Job
Rooms Division Manager
The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    698
    351
    115
    62
See reviews for
239
522
143
463
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

The hotel is old and in need of a substantial overhaul for sure! We were in a studio suite on the third floor and the bed was perhaps the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in. The bathroom has been given a facelift, but it has a huge sink and nowhere to put your own toiletries (and no provided shampoo or conditioner!)
We were attending a concert at Moore Park, and this is a great location to walk to and from the venue, however, I think I'd stay elsewhere next time. For $300, there is better value elsewhere!

Room Tip: Might be worth asking for a quiet room, we didn't and it was really noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johann Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebel S, Front Office Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Johann

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Sebel Surry Hills. I am disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations.

At Accor Hotels, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

I hope that you will accept our apology and allow us the opportunity to show you this level of service is not indicative of the usual high standard at our hotel.

Kind Regards
Lauren Job
Rooms Division Manager
The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

I stayed here recently on a trip to Sydney and was pleasantly surprised. The Sebel is a very comfortable, modern, clean and friendly hotel in a fantastic location. While It's on a quiet backstreet, it's a 5 minute walk to Central station and all the bars and cafes on Crown and Foveaux streets.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainMajorMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

Location is the main attraction when choosing the Sebel Surry Hills. It is within a short walking distance to the City, Hyde Park, Central Station, Chinatown, Oxford Street, Moore Park sporting precinct and with a bit of a longer walk to Circular Quay. It has plenty of good choices to eat if you like to head out but if you're staying in you are also well catered for. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and modern. It is a good base for families looking to explore the touristy side of Sydney. There is a buffet breakfast option for $20 per head if you pay on arrival and the quality is excellent, but it gets very busy in peak times and you may have to wait for food to be restocked. Being Surry Hills there are also some great little cafes in the streets close to the hotel if you are after something more cosmopolitan. It is a hotspot for meetings and conferences and can get very busy in the mornings. There is some amazing memorabilia throughout the hotel from the celebrities and stars of yester year, most of them autographed, these were transferred from the old Sebel Townhouse in Kings Cross. Finally, if you are a GHA member make sure you ask for your entitlements as they are usually not mentioned when checking in.

Room Tip: I know some reviews have mentioned the noise issue but I don't think it is a problem. It is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

Staff was friendly and helpful . Room was spacious and clean with a wellstocked fridge which was very handy. Located centrally with convenient access to the city of Sydney. Good in house restaurant as well as access to other near by eating facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sewwandi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Staying here for business meant attempting to get a reasonable sleep! The first night was noisy both from other guests, noisy aircon fan and street noise. However prompt attention and a change of room for the following night ensured a better sleep (and better all round disposition). This hotel is in a central readily accessible location. Rooms were OK but nothing special and service was variable. Breakfast was good, just ensure that you package it!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pcollico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebel S, Front Office Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear Pcollico

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Sebel Surry Hills. I am disappointed to hear that noise affected your first night with us, but I am glad that we were able to amend this on your second night by moving you to a different room.

At Accor Hotels, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Lauren Job
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

The staff were very professional and efficient - best service we have received in Australia for a long while. Check-in and check-out were quick. The room wasn't ready when we arrived at 1pm but the staff member said it was guaranteed to be ready by 2pm, and meanwhile she would hold our bags and phone us as soon as it was ready. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The location was great for Central, Paddy's Markets etc. We were very happy with our stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Mercure Sydney
#59 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,914 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#69 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Sydney Central

Property: Rydges Sydney Central
Address: 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#39 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Business Hotel in Sydney
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Sydney Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4.5 star hotel in Surry Hills. 271 guestrooms, with a 15m heated indoor pool, spa, sauna & gymnasium. Along with 2 restaurants and bars & cafe. ideal space for meetings, events & conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Citigate Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing