We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Visiting Sydney Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Sydney Central
Ranked #75 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location for Visiting Sydney Centre”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Booked this hotel on short notice because we couldn't extend our stay at a another hotel in the same chain. As such we paid premium rate and being Sydney on the weekend was somewhat expensive.

The hotel is a excellent option for visiting anywhere in the CBD area and especially Surry Hills area. Its a short walk to Crown Street, where all the trendy Restaurants, cafe's and bars are, and the rail station where you could venture further afield. No problem getting taxi's from here either and it shouldn't cost to much to get to most places in the CBD.

The only negative we experienced was that the room was, although relatively clean, it was definitely in need of some maintenance.

Breakfast was standard hotel fair and staff were very helpful too. I would stay again but would make sure to book in advance to get a better price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank WazandKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    724
    360
    116
    64
See reviews for
248
544
150
476
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

When something sounds too good...We booked this off hotwire because we wanted a nice hotel after the long flight. This was not it. True the location is good but that is it. The hotel is very worn. I don't care if a place is old but there is a dingy feel. The carpet throughout this hotel dirty, our bathroom was not clean and the bedding had holes in it! The walls needed a good cleaning and even the wine glasses were not clean. I have no clue how this received the rating it did. It feels more like a hostel. We would have definitely moved had we not already paid. I would not recommend!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel repeatedly throughout the year for work, and mostly it has been fine.
I always ask for a quiet room away from Elizabeth St due to the train noise. I did again this time and was given a room on the 4th floor which on a Sunday afternoon had significant traffic noise from Albion St. I rang downstairs and was moved to a room on the 8th floor at the back.
Although away from the traffic, it was only 1 room away from the lift and you could hear the lift going up and down - not ideal. It also smelt very smokey. Is this hotel non-smoking? I do not know.
I stayed in the room, having already changed once but wasn't happy. It wasn't as clean as usual with a tissue under the bed that didn't move for 3 nights.
The pool is nice, but strong chlorine and gym good.
It is close to Central and transport which is a plus, crown St for restaurants, the coffee shop next door is good. I don't find the buffet breakfast anything special and the pancake machine seems to be always empty.
Most of the time this hotel is fine but this time I was disappointed.

Room Tip: Away from Elizabeth St and high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnandLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This property is ideally located opposite the train station and within easy walk of chinatown. Got an upgrade to a balcony room which was quite nice at night. The bed was comfortable, Importantly, on the 8th floor it was quiet at night.
For breakfast the food was reasonably good and the staff I encountered at all levels were professional. (apart from the restaurant manager at breakfast who never tucked his shirt in).

Room Tip: Balcony upgrade worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robmigrates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#38 of 179 in Sydney
1,639 reviews
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4,142 reviews
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#73 of 179 in Sydney
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Sydney Central

Property: Rydges Sydney Central
Address: 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#39 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Business Hotel in Sydney
#69 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Sydney Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4.5 star hotel in Surry Hills. 271 guestrooms, with a 15m heated indoor pool, spa, sauna & gymnasium. Along with 2 restaurants and bars & cafe. ideal space for meetings, events & conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Citigate Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing