We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Sydney Central
Ranked #80 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The property is located close to China Town, Paddy's market, Hyde park, darling harbour. All these places are at walkable distances. The breakfast is excellent. The rooms are big. The hotel, especially the corridors look a bit dated and old. Experience interacting with staff at the reception was mixed. No free wifi.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,055 - 1,061 of 1,744 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank roseyneilson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here for only one night but enjoyed the comfort and spaciousness of the room. We also appreciate have a couch in the room. The hotel is located close to the central station and is close to many restaurants and cafes. It was also clean and very new.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrPartTimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Booked this hotel on short notice because we couldn't extend our stay at a another hotel in the same chain. As such we paid premium rate and being Sydney on the weekend was somewhat expensive.

The hotel is a excellent option for visiting anywhere in the CBD area and especially Surry Hills area. Its a short walk to Crown Street, where all the trendy Restaurants, cafe's and bars are, and the rail station where you could venture further afield. No problem getting taxi's from here either and it shouldn't cost to much to get to most places in the CBD.

The only negative we experienced was that the room was, although relatively clean, it was definitely in need of some maintenance.

Breakfast was standard hotel fair and staff were very helpful too. I would stay again but would make sure to book in advance to get a better price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank WazandKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank bob_pigott
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Busydiva
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

When something sounds too good...We booked this off hotwire because we wanted a nice hotel after the long flight. This was not it. True the location is good but that is it. The hotel is very worn. I don't care if a place is old but there is a dingy feel. The carpet throughout this hotel dirty, our bathroom was not clean and the bedding had holes in it! The walls needed a good cleaning and even the wine glasses were not clean. I have no clue how this received the rating it did. It feels more like a hostel. We would have definitely moved had we not already paid. I would not recommend!

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#65 of 180 in Sydney
4,977 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 180 in Sydney
4,441 reviews
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#61 of 180 in Sydney
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#45 of 180 in Sydney
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Sydney Central

Address: 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#39 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Business Hotel in Sydney
#72 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £91 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Sydney Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4.5 star hotel in Surry Hills. 271 guestrooms, with a 15m heated indoor pool, spa, sauna & gymnasium. Along with 2 restaurants and bars & cafe. ideal space for meetings, events & conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Citigate Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing