We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit "meh"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges Sydney Central
Ranked #76 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A bit "meh"”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was booked by my employer on a recent business trip.

Standard, generic mid-range business hotel close to Central Station. Staff are professional but not in the least friendly, and you really get the sense you are just a number.

I was allocated the accessible room which is a pet hate of mine, but I suppose the hotel must have been full. The downside to the accessible room is that the shower is just a hose on a wall and ends up spraying all over the entire bathroom, making the floors quite wet. The floor in the shower was slippery, almost dangerously so.

The room was quiet and relatively clean. The rooms look directly into another building so blinds must be down all day which makes the room feel quite gloomy.

The smoke alarm had a plastic bag over it, I presume from the previous guest, but should have been checked and removed by housekeeping.

Dining options in the evening are a bit limited but a short walk to Crown St or to Chinatown. The area is a little seedy but not unsafe.

All in all, the Sebel delivers all it promises to, but I wouldn't actively promote it or seek to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traffjudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebel S, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the hotel.

Please be rest assured, your feedback will be taken on board and used to help improve the hotel.

I hope that this experience does not stop you from visiting us in the future.

Regards,

Paul Donnelly
General Manager
The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    728
    362
    117
    65
See reviews for
251
549
150
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The ladies at the front desk made me to recall of Edgar Allan Poe’s stately Raven, especially the female staff named Stephanie. Stephanie’s monotone only voiced a single word ”No!” whatever I asked for, for all 3 shifts I met her. At my check-out, this lady tried to refuse accepting my payment of combination of local currency and credit, until I proved that another front desk staff promised me to do so when I checked-in. After the bill was settled, the naked bill was given to me until I asked for an envelope. I never experienced such a poor professionalism at the front desk in any hotel with 3+ stars.

Concierge of this hotel is nearly not an existence. I called the concierge desk a few times from my room and never got an answer. When asking for a place for breakfast, the only recommendation was this hotel for AU$22 per head, which was proven over-priced comparing what you can get from a corner restaurant for about half the price. Slow internet with expensive hourly price is also thing I dislike, besides its location on a busy street.

The best part of the hotel itself was its cleanness. The clearing staff on 8th floor was very friendly and careful. To thank her good service, I left some tip on my bed table, but the money was not taken and the room was done as perfectly as the first day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_world_traveler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebel S, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing the time taken to leave feedback regarding your stay at the hotel.

Firstly, I would like to sincerely apologise for service you received during your stay. This is not how we want to treat our guests and I am disappointed at the memories you will take away from your visit.

Please be rest assured that this feedback will be treated with in a serious matter.

Once again, I apologise for the way you were treated during your stay. I hope this does not deter you from returning for a much more positive experience.

Regards,

Paul Donnelly
General Manager
The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We booked this hotel as a "secret hotel" off a booking site and we couldn't have been happier. We had a King Room which was a good size with couch, coffee table,desk and chair. The room and all other areas of the hotel were clean. The pool and spa were nice. There was also a nice coffee shop and a nice bar/restaurant at the hotel.The location is great - just a short walk to the China Town and Paddys Market area and from central station and light rail stations. The free city circle bus also is vertically at the door, as is the bus to Coogee Beach. We enjoyed 7 nights at this hotel and would definitely pay normal prices to stay here again.

Room Tip: The pool wasn't noisy but I don't think I would want one of the rooms around it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbymac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebel S, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney.

It was very pleasing to read that you had an enjoyable experience at the hotel. We are very happy that you were able to enjoy our facilities and the surrounding attractions of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back on your next escape to Sydney.

Regards,

Paul Donnelly
General Manager
The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shavertown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay here and have no complaints! The people at the front desk were very nice and helpful with everything. The bed in the room was beyond comfortable, we slept like babies. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet daily. It was pricey, but for all that you got, unbeatable. Fresh fruit, a wide variety of hot breakfast foods as well as cereals and yoghurts. Fresh juice and unlimited fresh brewed coffee. We found getting vouchers from the front desk saved us 11 Dollars a person, versus paying at the buffet. We took advantage of this and it was added to our tab. We were a 5 minute walk to the bus stop and maybe 10 to the Central Train Station. We took advantage of a Railpass that covered three zones with Bus, Trains and Ferries for 61 Dollars a person which was good for 1 week. We took all public transport to Palm Beach, Coogee Beach and too Manly Beach. Rather then walk to the Harbor, we would jump on a bus. It was fun and quite easy. Would definitely recommend the Sebel Surry Hills!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
5,328 reviews
389 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,884 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Feel a bit like liv984 - after the Sebel in Adelaide, I probably expected more. They try to resurrect the glamour of the old Sebel Townhouse in Elizabeth Bay with photographs of pop stars around the walls but there is no comparison in the class and quality. The rooms are very basic and ordinary - white walls , no taste or style. It's a very practical and basic hotel with no frills but probably best for its location near Central railway and easy access to the airport - not close to the normal tourist haunts but easy to get to with nearby transport.
Expensive for what it is. Internet is expensive (unless you are Platinum) but Platinum members don't get much else here because the hotel is typically full. Buffet breakfast is very ordinary - can't bear cold bacon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#40 of 179 in Sydney
1,680 reviews
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4,199 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#63 of 179 in Sydney
4,863 reviews
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Sydney Central

Property: Rydges Sydney Central
Address: 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#39 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Business Hotel in Sydney
#70 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Sydney Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4.5 star hotel in Surry Hills. 271 guestrooms, with a 15m heated indoor pool, spa, sauna & gymnasium. Along with 2 restaurants and bars & cafe. ideal space for meetings, events & conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Citigate Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing