We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bed and good size room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges Sydney Central
Ranked #77 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Sebel was once an iconic Hotel for the glitterati of the Australian Pop industry. Sadly its best days are long gone but......its still a pretty good place. Its really handy to the Central Train Station making trips within the city or further afield very easy. The best aspects are ; the bed was very comfy and the room very spacious. The area is a bit hilly ( being in Surry Hills after all) but if you can put up with this there are some nice restaurants in the neighborhood. I can't say if the hotel's restaurant is any good cause they had a function on and we couldn't eat there. They have a "pub" attached which has a nice atmosphere and boutique beers. Its not far to China Town. I would recommend to a friend. Represents fairly good value. There is a little railway noise but you only just notice it.

Room Tip: The rooms would be all pretty much the same so maybe get one on a higher floor to remove any noise f...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smartywishbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,693)
There are newer reviews for Rydges Sydney Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

911 - 917 of 1,693 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Sebel Surry Hills was a perfect base and location for our weekend in Sydney. The hotel provided everything that we needed and we were warmly welcomed upon our arrival. We did not use any of the facilities of the hotel, as the location was superb to wander the streets of nearby Surry Hills. The number of restaurants, hotels and eating places provided us with excellent choices, but it was lovely to come back to our hotel at the end of each day. Would highly recommend this hotel if you want to explore the Surry Hills area. We did walk down to Circular Quay and Darling Harbour, but this may be restrictive for some people.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamMargery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Rajesh2402
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here while visiting Sydney for the Major League Baseball, we were so pleased with how convenient the location is. We walked to Moore Park, we also had a 10minute walk to the Entertainment Centre. 7-11 on the corner, central a 2 minute walk away, chinatown just 5 min away. Hotel was clean, staff friendly.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I was really treated well at this hotel. They were very accommodating to my requests and always dealt with me professionally. The hotel is nicely placed, away from major noise of the city, but close enough to everything (including Central Station) to get around without needing a taxi. The pool and spa were quite nice. I've stayed in a lot of hotels and this was one of my favorites.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Signmanpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed for one night on our trip back from New Zealand to Europe. The hotel is perfectly located in Surry Hills and you can reach basically everything on foot if you like walking (you need just above 20 minutes to Darling Harbour). The hotel lobby is very modern and looks great. The rooms we were placed into were also fairly new, spacious and clean. There was a bit of noise coming in from the road, but this did not disturb too much during the night. The only problems were caused by the elevators: one was out of order both days and there was always a lengthy wait to manage to catch one. We decided to use the stairs most of the time.

We took advantage of a discount offer for the breakfast (you get a discount by booking upon check-in) and found the buffet to offer a nice variety of items. Staff in the dining room did not look particularly organized as tables were left unattended for a long time after guests had left. It did not create any problems on that particular morning, but it may in a busy day.

The experience that puzzled us happened upon departure. We requested a taxi for 6.30pm and were assured by the front desk that it would be taken care of. When we got back from our sightseeing and checked with the front desk, nobody seemed to know and we were told that they would check. In the end, we ended up ordering a new taxi that arrived at 6.45pm since nobody seemed to know whether a taxi had been ordered or not. Absolutely not a big deal, but we got the impression that the front desk had no idea about what it was doing.

Summing all this up, we enjoyed our experience at The Sebel and would be back if the price is right.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GioVale20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 55Brendan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#40 of 178 in Sydney
1,738 reviews
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Sydney
#65 of 178 in Sydney
4,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Sydney Central

Address: 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#39 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Business Hotel in Sydney
#69 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £102 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Sydney Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4.5 star hotel in Surry Hills. 271 guestrooms, with a 15m heated indoor pool, spa, sauna & gymnasium. Along with 2 restaurants and bars & cafe. ideal space for meetings, events & conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Citigate Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing