We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sebel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Sydney Central
Ranked #79 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Our suite at the Sebel was an amazing room with a huge amount of space and beautifully set out. I am, however quite disappointed at being overcharged for our Accor inclusive breakfast and not receiving my brand new face cream which was left in the bathroom back from housekeeping. It makes it seem like the staff at this hotel are not honest. Losing a $50 cream and being over charged over $100 has left doubt in my mind that I will use hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank 50tarreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebel S, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney.

I was disappointed to read that you had a bad experience during your stay. At your earliest convenience, could you please contact the hotel on (02) 9289 0000 so we can try and resolve this issue?

Kind Regards,

Paul Donnelly
General Manager
The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

970 - 976 of 1,761 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Melonie L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 March 2014

There is really nothing to fault about this hotel. It was clean. Employees were polite. Room service was prompt. It is close to Central station (exit the Elizabeth street exit and turn left). The hotel is approximately one long block from the train station with a slight decline/incline. Seven eleven is between the train station and hotel - a great place to pick up that midnight chocolate bar.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravellers1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Sebel was once an iconic Hotel for the glitterati of the Australian Pop industry. Sadly its best days are long gone but......its still a pretty good place. Its really handy to the Central Train Station making trips within the city or further afield very easy. The best aspects are ; the bed was very comfy and the room very spacious. The area is a bit hilly ( being in Surry Hills after all) but if you can put up with this there are some nice restaurants in the neighborhood. I can't say if the hotel's restaurant is any good cause they had a function on and we couldn't eat there. They have a "pub" attached which has a nice atmosphere and boutique beers. Its not far to China Town. I would recommend to a friend. Represents fairly good value. There is a little railway noise but you only just notice it.

Room Tip: The rooms would be all pretty much the same so maybe get one on a higher floor to remove any noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smartywishbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Sebel Surry Hills was a perfect base and location for our weekend in Sydney. The hotel provided everything that we needed and we were warmly welcomed upon our arrival. We did not use any of the facilities of the hotel, as the location was superb to wander the streets of nearby Surry Hills. The number of restaurants, hotels and eating places provided us with excellent choices, but it was lovely to come back to our hotel at the end of each day. Would highly recommend this hotel if you want to explore the Surry Hills area. We did walk down to Circular Quay and Darling Harbour, but this may be restrictive for some people.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamMargery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Rajesh2402
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here while visiting Sydney for the Major League Baseball, we were so pleased with how convenient the location is. We walked to Moore Park, we also had a 10minute walk to the Entertainment Centre. 7-11 on the corner, central a 2 minute walk away, chinatown just 5 min away. Hotel was clean, staff friendly.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 181 in Sydney
4,504 reviews
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Mercure Sydney
#63 of 181 in Sydney
5,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#48 of 181 in Sydney
1,919 reviews
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#62 of 181 in Sydney
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Sydney Central

Address: 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#30 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Business Hotel in Sydney
#70 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £99 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Sydney Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4.5 star hotel in Surry Hills. 271 guestrooms, with a 15m heated indoor pool, spa, sauna & gymnasium. Along with 2 restaurants and bars & cafe. ideal space for meetings, events & conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Citigate Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing