We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Sydney Central
Ranked #79 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here due to proximity to a Central Station. Arrived on Good Friday at 1800 - check-in took forever...not enough staff! The room was a double - nothing special at all. Was on 3rd floor facing Albion Street...the noise from the street and adjacent rooms kept me up all night!!! Asked for a change, but the hotel was full due to the Easter long weekend. I got fed-up and checked out at 0630 and made my way to the airport. At check-out, I wasn't even asked if I enjoyed my stay...so I just walked away, for I was tired and frustrated enough already. The room was booked through WOTIF and the value was not good at all. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. Also, no free WiFi. Arrrrgh.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair W, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hi there – sorry you didn’t have a good stay….Good Friday was a crazy busy day for us with over 260 people checking into the hotel. Even with a full front office team on there were a few times during late afternoon that wait periods were longer then we’d have liked. I'll discuss your commments with the Night Manager. Road noise I'm afraid we cannot control, however we have a Manager on 24/7 to deal with in-house noise.
All the best
Blair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 942 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed over he Easter long weekend. I like the location as it is not from Central Station. The rooms are spacious however the shower pressure is way to soft even at full throttle.
The bed was comfortable. A few soft pillows would have been nice.
The breakfast was chaotic. The scrambled eggs were awful and the poached eggs way too hard. There needed to be more fresh fruit and the toaster wasn't working properly. The coffee machine made a terrible loud noise each time you ordered a coffee.
The staff was friendly. The pool area was excellent. The location was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair W, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Glad you had a good Easter Weekend. Did you report the shower pressure problem? Sounds like an issue we could have had maintenance fix up pronto! I’ll discuss your comments with the Chef and check out the bean to cup machine – although it does make a bit of noise when grinding the coffee? Thanks for the feedback, hope we can see you soon!
Cheers
Blair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in Good Friday and had booked an Easter Show package. Amazing value for money, room+breakfast+parking+show tickets. Unfortunately they had no show tickets, but repaid us later. Rooms are spacious and the staff very helpful. Pool is a plus. Breakfast was a varied feast, and they catered for the gluten free diet as well.
Great location to Surrey Hills and Central Station.
Will be back next year if they have a similar package.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Sharmingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair W, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Fantastic review – so pleased you had a great stay! With the changeover time frame to rebrand as Rydges, we were not able to secure enough Easter Show tickets – glad the team sorted this out for you. We’ll be ready next year!
Cheers
Blair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Great price. Good location, loved being walking distance to great eateries and also darling Harbour/central station.
Staff were friendly but check out was a difficult process. Wasn't offered any of the priority guest rewards like free drinks. The beds weren't as comfy as the rydges signature beds I've experienced at other locations. The deadbolt on the door wouldn't work and we had repeated problems with the television over the two night stay.

I would stay again, mostly for the location and price, but I have preferred other rydges hotels.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank mrsjmac14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair W, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thanks for letting us know about your stay. So sorry your Priority Guest Rewards were not readily offered – since your stay we have had a focus on this to update the Front Office team on Rydges PGR standards. The movie system has also been upgraded, which was the cause of the TV needing reset.
Hope to see you again
Blair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I have stayed at this hotel previously. Nothing is ever a problem. Outstanding service and great location. Breakfast was good and the beds were comfortable. Free upgrade was given on check in too!
The staff were brilliant - especially Buster!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair W, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hey Megan, great to hear you had another top stay! Buster is one of our long term Concierge staff - I'll let him know he made the right impression!
Cheers, Blair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Very basic rooms, clean and what you need, surprisingly quiet for location. Rooms need a bit of a touch up though as they have some rough edges. All the staff I encountered where very nice. Pool was nice as was hot tub (but too many children running around to actually use). The gym was nice. As with other Sydney hotels wifi is a rip off, you can only use one device at a time and its expensive. The other weird thing of this hotel was the harsh lighting in the hallways and weird layout of the hallways. If price was right Id stay here again because of central location near a main train station.

Room Tip: get a room as high up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Australican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair W, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Glad your stay went well, thanks for taking the time to review it. Yes there were a few kids kicking around when you were here (School Holidays) so the pool was a popular spot. As with any new company we look at things with fresh eyes and are in the process of maintenance and painting plans, also WIFI is on the agenda…stay tuned…..
Cheers
Blair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here on the weekend when we went to the Easter show.The location of the hotel,an easy walk to Central station,is very good and it was also an easy walk to Chinatown.We were given an upgrade to a spacious suite as our booked room was not available.The room was clean and comfortable.However,the staff seemed not to know much about the benefits for Rydges members,did not offer the advertised complimentary drinks etc.I noticed others having problems with additional charges on check-out as well.I think this will be a good base for tourists visiting Sydney once the teething problems are sorted out as it is a good spot for cheap transport all over the city.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10Raindrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair W, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time review your stay – always good to get a positive and constructive review from such a top contributor. Since the rebrand we’ve undertaken a number of training and refresher courses on the Rydges brand and Priority Guest Rewards program.
Good tip on the high floor – you can also request a laneway facing room to avoid the traffic
Cheers
Blair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#63 of 179 in Sydney
4,962 reviews
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#62 of 179 in Sydney
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
1,840 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#38 of 179 in Sydney
4,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Sydney Central

Address: 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#39 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Business Hotel in Sydney
#71 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £99 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Sydney Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4.5 star hotel in Surry Hills. 271 guestrooms, with a 15m heated indoor pool, spa, sauna & gymnasium. Along with 2 restaurants and bars & cafe. ideal space for meetings, events & conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Citigate Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing