We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Sydney Central
Ranked #79 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Booked a night on last minute and got a great deal. Was greeted by friendly staff, and the room was just fine for the three of us. The kids had a ball in the indoor pool/spa and we even used the well equipped gym. It's well positioned and is good value, I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair W, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Hi Mark, Thank you for your great review. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.
Kind Regards, Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

899 - 905 of 1,742 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

I booked this hotel at the last minute for a quick mid-week stay commuting through Sydney. I was disappointed that despite calling the hotel at 8:30pm for an 11:30pm check-in and an early check out the next morning that they could not offer me any deal better than the $169 I paid.

After checking in and reading the tips about requesting a higher level room because of noise, I requested a higher room than the one given to me on Level 2. Having booked only a few hours earlier online I knew fully well that when the reply was “we are fully booked out”, that they didn’t give much of a care at all. The manager ended giving me a backroom on Level 2 and whilst there was a dull sound of the train, the room was relatively quiet. Having had a long day of travel and it being late night, I didn’t argue the fact that there were two single beds instead of a king bed for me a single traveller. I didn’t pay $169 for a single bed!

The room itself was clean, modern and spacious. I wouldn’t hesitate with returning to the hotel if I was returning to Sydney. It is very close to Central Station, which is why I booked and is easy walk to Hyde Park and beyond.

The staff were lovely and friendly the next day, they easily stored my bag and coming back to collect it Poppi still had a smile on her face.

I realise it is Sydney and hotels are hot property, but I do think the hotel was overpriced and there does need to be some allowance for quick stays considering it is the closest hotel to Central Station.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brissy_Loutravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair W, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review. Please be assured we do care very much about our guests we try to accommodate all their requests unfortunately we can’t always help with room move requests especially when we are busy. Our rooms do normally have a King bed or 2 singles, please let us know when you next check in if you have been allocated the incorrect room type and we can get one of our staff to fix that for you. Poppy is great and always very friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

So handy,good access by rail from airport to Central station, then an easy walk to hotel. Room small but everything you need. Breakfast was adequate,. Bar next door, good restaurants close by.
Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair W, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for your review, I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is a definite positive for the hotel. We hope to see you at the hotel again soon.
Cheers, Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We first received notification that the Sebel was now a Rydges,we took up an offer for the opening specials and were satisfied with every aspect of service provided by the front of house staff, the professional and courteous manner in which they greet you was fantastic.Even housekeeping are happy to help in any regard and not just go through the motions to satisfy.The bar staff, especially a young guy named Lachlan who was genuine in asking how your day had been and very polite.The room was the balcony type and we love it,clean, spacious and I didnt notice the trains at all.This hotel has been a frequent for us when in Sydney and this month will be our 3rd return visit since opening making a total of 6 -7 nights with the same high standard.This is our base for Sydney accommodation.Darren J

Room Tip: All you have to do is ask the staff they will be honest on best room type
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair W, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Hi Darren, thank you for your lovely review. We do have some great staff members in our team and Lachlan in the bar is great, always friendly and welcoming. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind Regards, Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Really wonderful staff, nice food, clean rooms and bathrooms. However a king bed is simply two singles pushed together (I know this happens all the time) but instead of putting one sheet over two beds to hold them together, there was two single sheets and the beds kept moving apart, not a big drama if you're not a cuddly couple, but a bit of an issue if you are.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Johanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair W, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hi Johanna, thank you for your review. Please be assured this isn’t normally the standard of the King Bed and they are normally zipped together with King sized sheeting on them. It seems as though something was not quite right for your stay so my apologies!
Kind Regards, Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My parents, my 3 children and I stayed here for one night when we came to watch the Wallabies. I had booked it on Wotif as a mystery deal and was really impressed with its proximity to the stadium and SCG. We had two rooms between the 6 of us and was pleasantly surprised to find a very comfortable sofa bed set up in each room for the kids, I had expected them to sleep in with me. The rooms were a decent size and the beds at Rydges are always comfortable.
We checked in and walked straight up to Allianz which only took 15 mins which was fantastic. The hotel is only a 5 min walk to Central station so you are really close to all the CBD has to offer, we actually caught the light rail line down to Chinatown for dinner and walking back late at night felt quite safe.

The buffet breakfast was ok, not the best one I have had but the kids loved it and it was very reasonable. If you are staying here and looking for something more up on Crown street is a Bills which has the best breakfast in Sydney.

Overall I was really happy with the motel, it was very clean, shower pressure was good, rooms were big, beds comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. I would certainly stay here again if I was going to anything up at Moore Park.

Room Tip: We didn't use the pool but did walk up and have a look, its on the 4th floor and it does smell l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair W, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hi Nicole, Thank you for your great review! I’m glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We are very fortunate to be in a great location close by to all the attractions around Sydney. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Cheers, Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is your typical Rydges accommodation offering fairly clean rooms and a comfortable bed without too much else. We stayed at the rear of the hotel on the same level as the indoor pool and cant say the view was anything special which probably explains why the blinds were down. We generally stay at Rydges World Square when staying in the city and I would rate it ahead in every aspect however for the price I paid here Rydges Sydney Central is excellent value for money and add parking to the equation and it wins hands down. If you are looking for standard accommodation close to Central Station or Surry Hills then this place ticks all the boxes. As far as the restaurant goes I would recommend eating at one of the numerous eateries close by as the Hotel restaurant is expensive and offers nothing special in food or ambiance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemountainkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair W, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are working on our F&B offerings as we speak, today we are re-launching our Bar Surry Hills which will also have an Italian Kitchen there will be plenty of atmosphere in there! Hopefully we can welcome you back to try it soon.
Kind Regards, Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#65 of 180 in Sydney
4,977 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 180 in Sydney
4,438 reviews
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#61 of 180 in Sydney
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#45 of 180 in Sydney
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Sydney Central

Address: 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#39 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Business Hotel in Sydney
#71 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £90 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Sydney Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4.5 star hotel in Surry Hills. 271 guestrooms, with a 15m heated indoor pool, spa, sauna & gymnasium. Along with 2 restaurants and bars & cafe. ideal space for meetings, events & conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Citigate Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing