We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable & Well Located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Sydney Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rydges Sydney Central
Ranked #71 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Comfortable & Well Located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Our room was big and well furnished. Hotel is close to Central Station for trains, close to Chinatown for food and close to markets for shopping. Has swimming pool, spa and sauna. Just as well we didn't spend much time in the room as the view out of the window was of the back of an office block. Staff were friendly and helpful when we asked about finding our way around.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, make sure to ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleBbB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair W, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi Dale, Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you and your family back to the hotel again soon. Kind Regards, Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    686
    344
    112
    62
See reviews for
232
511
139
457
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed at Rydges Sydney Central for a few days with my 17 year old daughter.

As I was attending a workshop in one of the hotel's conference rooms for 2 days, it was important to me that we were in a safe, busy, central location where my daughter could safely walk by herself to the shops and cafés.

The location was very close to Central Station, Paddy's Markets, The Capitol Theatre (we went to The Lion King), and a great selection of restaurants on Crown Street. We were also able to walk to Darling Harbour, the big Westfield on George Street and a multiplex movie theater within about a 10-15 minute walk.

Staff were very helpful and accommodating, even letting us check in a few hours earlier than check in time and delivering a new frequent stayer card to our room. The lady who cleaned our room was friendly and did a good job.

The room was very clean and your standard 4- 4 1/2 star major chain hotel room - comfortable and a super comfy bed. The bathroom was fine - not dated, but nothing that stood out either. One tiny complaint would be the shower/bathtub that only had half a glass wall - so you couldn't help getting water on the floor when showering (but I would rather have that than one of those nasty plastic curtains).

Really good chai latte at the restaurant. Cool fish aquarium in the floor in the lobby (young kids would love it)! Nice indoor pool. Lunch buffet in the restaurant (part of the workshop package) was a bit whatever and they kept running out of things - probably not worth the high price. Conference room facilities were good.

I would happily stay here again if the price was right, although I probably prefer the location of the hotels a bit more in the heart of the CBD.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kd2226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair W, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your very detailed review! We are happy to hear you became a Priority Guest Rewards member during your stay. We are very fortunate with our location to be close to some of Sydney’s great attractions. Hope you enjoyed the Lion King!!
We do get some great feedback about the Koi Fish Aquarium in the lobby, the kids very much love it!
We hope we can welcome you back again soon. Cheers, Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The Room was nice and staff were friendly, but this is a hotel in a noisy part of town, so be warned. There is a busy main road outside, and the Central railway station is just across the road. Coupled with that we found there were many late-night (and 5 am) revelers around.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scjhwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair W, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear you liked your room and that our staff were friendly. Our location is one of our best assets being close to Central Station however if you are a light sleeper at times you can hear the trains. Apologies that some early risers woke you! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards, Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed here while attending the Creatures of the Night Convention with Culture Shock Events, the Staff are friendly, happy and make you feel welcomed from the moment you step in the door. Even when you arrive with Werewolf Claws, Fangs and Bright Red eye contacts in.

I also experienced the amazing hospitality on offer at the Rydges, when I attended the VIP Luncheon in the Upstairs Function room. Again Friendly staff who make you feel welcome and were always present. Would love to stay here again if the need arises.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lewis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair W, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Lewis, Thank you for your lovely review! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were still greeted with a smile even in your interesting outfit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind Regards, Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked a mystery room, meant to be great. It was a mystery.....not that flash, no balcony in the room, no opening windows and no fan in the bathroom made for one stuffy night, i did ask to be moved with no success. The room was not particularly clean with the floor not vacuumed properly and the drinking glasses had to be cleaned before being drank from. There is a fish tank in the floor in the foyer, the main entrance, that is grubby and dirty. The pool area was constantly untidy with leftover towels and the bottom of the pool really needs to be redone, the temperatures that the pool and spa supposedly are, are incorrect. We got locked out of our room an hour before leaving after returning from breakfast, and after 10 minutes and 3 returns to the front desk someone decided to accompany us to be sure we finally got in. I must say it was a little disappointing. We stay in Sydney a lot for leisure but i would not choose Rydges Sydney Central again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair W, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi AJ, thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. Our mystery deals are on our standard rooms which don’t have a balcony and unfortunately our windows don’t open due to OH&S reasons. We do have a Sun Deck on level 5 for our guests that do enjoy fresh air though. I will be passing your comments regarding the room cleanliness onto our Management team to have this rectified asap. We do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel on another occasion.
Kind Regards, Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We loved this hotel it was situated within easy walking distance to China Town, Darling Harbour and City. With close proximity to buses and trains also. The hotel was friendly and had a fantastic atmosphere from the moment we walked in the Koi fish in the hotel floor is gorgeous. We stayed with two teenage children and could not recommend it more. Room was immaculately cleaned every day and if we required anything extra it was not a problem.

Located near the hotel is an amazing place called Chur Burger OMG these burgers are a must try.

Room Tip: Call hotel and ask them to book a larger room if you are staying with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Grayfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair W, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am very pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you all back to the hotel when your next in Sydney.
Kind Regards, Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Got this place on a Wotif mystery deal and we were not disappointed. Great location and very easy to get to from the airport. There are plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance so you will be spoilt for choice.

If you get a chance wander up Reservoir Street and have a look at the Royal Albert Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melton2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair W, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very fortunate to be in a great location close by to some great restaurants and some of Sydney’s best attractions! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Cheers, Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Mercure Sydney
#57 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,843 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#69 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Sydney Central

Property: Rydges Sydney Central
Address: 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#39 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Business Hotel in Sydney
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Sydney Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4.5 star hotel in Surry Hills. 271 guestrooms, with a 15m heated indoor pool, spa, sauna & gymnasium. Along with 2 restaurants and bars & cafe. ideal space for meetings, events & conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Prestigia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Citigate Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing