We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely and reliable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale
Ranked #55 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Homely and reliable”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We have stayed here many times over the years because we value the quiet yet convenient location, together with the homely feel of the low-rise design set amongst gardens and trees. It is within an easy stroll of Newtown shops, Redfern station, Eveleigh Markets and Sydney University. Service is excellent and our room preferences are usually provided.
Free wifi is still a problem in Australia and this hotel is no exception. It is also time to refresh the bathrooms as some wear and tear is starting to become obvious.
On-street parking limits have been tightened recently but secure parking is available under the building for reasonable cost.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sid S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Yaggers,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. The team and I are delighted to have you stay with us over the years and we are proud to hear such positive feedback from you.

We are glad that you have enjoyed our high standards of service and the team has been able to meet your expectations at all times. I have made notes about the internet service that you have mentioned and you would be pleased to know that we are working towards providing our guests with better connectivity at reduced rates.

Once again on behalf of the team at Adina Chippendale we would like to thank you for your positive feedback and staying with us over the years. We look forward to welcoming you soon again at Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale.

Kind Regards

Sid Singh
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    220
    68
    30
    11
See reviews for
156
102
31
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stepney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The location was great, the staff were friendly - BUT the room was not well serviced. The apartment was not aired out and smelt like whatever the last people cooked - not good when you're hit with the smell of off food each time you enter the apartment. Despite opening all the doors and windows, the smell did not dissipate over the three days we were there. To add to this, the bathroom was not well kept and the toilet did not flush well and the vanity was broken. There was also a strange stain on the ceiling above one of the beds - unsettling to sleep under wondering if something would seep through in the middle of the night.
Tip to the traveller - if you like a good night's sleep - there is peace and quiet - but no comfy pillows.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sid S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Carolyn,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your recent stay at the Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale. We are all very happy to see that you have found our team to be helpful and our location suitable to your needs .

We have taken note of the housekeeping issues that you have highlighted in your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the room service not being up to the standard you had expected. I would like to assure you that this is not our usual standards and our housekeeping team prides themselves on providing high level of servicing with quality and consistency. I have also taken notes about the other issues in the apartment and informed our maintenance team to follow them up immediately.

Once again I would like to apologies on behalf of the team and we certainly hope to make your next stay with us a more memorable stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Sid Singh
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylors Hill
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I shared an apartment with another couple. The apartment was very comfortable. The service at the front desk was exceptional! I have a bad back and the beds were a little hard but they still tried to find me a softer bed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sid S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Adam,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. The team and I are pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay with us. Please be assured that I will be sharing your wonderful comments with the rest of my team. Feedback like yours makes us feel proud and give us the motivation to go the extra mile for each of our guest.

We certainly hope that we can find you a more comfortable bed next time for your back and will ensure that you receive the same high level of service as you did during your last stay with us. The team and I look forward to welcoming you again at Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale.

Kind Regards,

Sid Singh
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kelor
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have stayed at this venue for about the past 15 years and it is always my first choice for reasons of position, professional and friendly staff, great management and of course very comfortable apartment style rooms

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sid S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Bill,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide us with your positive feedback. Its been a great privilege to have you stay with us over the past years.

You certainly are one of our favourite guests at the hotel and we pride ourselves on you calling Adina Chippendale "your home away from home". We hope to keep providing you with the same high standards of service that you have come to expect from us.

Once again on behalf of the team and myself I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to seeing you again like always at Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale.

Kind Regards,

Sid Singh
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel looks very bland from the outside and has almost no lobby or entry area, so it doesn't make a very good first impression. But the rooms are actually very nice, spacious and comfortable -- more stylish by far than the building itself. And the staff is very responsive and helpful with any issues that arise. (For example, I couldn't figure out how to work the heater properly and they came up immediately to show me.) Downside is that the gym is very limited (just one bike and one treadmill and that's about it).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank PipoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sid S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear PipoJ,

Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback in regards to your recent stay with us at Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale. We are happy to read that you did find our rooms to be clean, spacious and comfortable.

In regards to your notes about the exterior of the building, we do consider ourselves to be a boutique hotel in Chippendale. As you know we are hidden in the suburban streets of Sydney and I think a low rise building like ours goes well with the beautiful Sydney terraces that line the streets around us. Thank you for your positive comments about the team and we hope to see you soon again at Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale.

Kind Regards

Sid Singh
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This second stay was average. Surprised it has been rated at 4 stars.1 bedroom apartment location on ground floor was poor. Close to corner at street level made it rather noisy. Opposite gym and laundry. Bathroom needs update. Another guest staying on same floor, was loud and aggressive in evenings and swearing at reception staff. Room servicing average, but reception staff pleasant enough.

Room Tip: Upstairs and away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sid S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Kathleen,

We do appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your second stay was not as you would have expected. we usually do not receive any noise complaints from our guest as there are brick walls between all apartments and they generally stop any noise. But we have noted your comments about the noise from the street and gym and will investigate the issue ourselves.

Thankyou for your lovely feedback about the team. If there is anything you would like to discuss in more detail please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Sid Singh
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Figtree
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed in the two bedroom apartment and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the facilities, the quietness of the rooms and staff were amazing! We would stay again in a heartbeat, highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Renae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sid S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Renae,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. The team and I are delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us in the Two bedroom Apartment. It is also nice to read that you were happy with the facilities provided in the room and enjoyed our quiet location tucked away in the suburban streets of Sydney.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future at Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale.

Kind Regards,

Sid Singh
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
Adina Apartment Hotel Norwest
#1 of 2 in Baulkham Hills
773 reviews
Surry Hills
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale
Address: 74-80 Ivy St | Chippendale, Sydney, New South Wales 2008, Australia (Formerly Medina Classic Chippendale)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Classic Chippendale Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing