We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremes of Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments
Ranked #99 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Extremes of Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hard to rate with so many plus and minus attributes. Parking in a bonus, a rare commodity in Sydney. The staff are incredibly kind and welcoming. The price is fabulous. But, oh, the cooking allowed in the apartments fills the hallways and seeps into others apartments were not mama's home cooking comfort smells. It was nauseating fish sauce or smelly socks brewing. We had to open all windows and balcony doors on a cold evening. The staff leave at 7pm -only off site number to call. The apartments are very basic bordering on the dull side. Though the hot chocolate and complimentary brownies do light up the room. To sum up: ok for short term stays if price and parking are your main objectives.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foof18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAdmin, Manager at Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Waldorf Sydney South.

We are happy to hear the staff were kind and welcoming - we take customer service seriously and are always thrilled to hear about our guest experiences.

We do apologise for the cooking smells from other apartments, we have not heard often that other guests cooking seeps into other apartments. We will be looking into this further.

Happy to hear our Winter Warmers hot chocolate and brownies package lightened up your stay. There's not much that beats a hot chocolate in winter!

Thanks again, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    137
    43
    16
    13
See reviews for
86
119
21
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My 17yo daughter and I stayed in a 1 bed apartment for 3 nights. Great location between Redfern & Central stations, a 15min walk to Sydney Uni and 10min to UTS or 25 min walk to Town Hall/city central (we did plenty of walking!) There is also free carparking under the building, which is a huge plus for Sydney accommodation. We arrived early and while my daughter went off to Uni, I worked in the foyer using the Tomizone wifi until our room was available. We took the week wifi package for $40 which worked fine, although unfortunately only valid for 1 device.

Kitchen is well equipped, not that we used it for more than breakfast and snacks as there are many good options around for eating out. There is also complementary continental breakfast available downstairs, but we didn’t try it. The new Central Park complex is only 5min away, great Woolworths for stocking up and also many eating/shopping options. Another 10mins onto Broadway shopping complex with its mass of shops and cinemas. Also a lovely bakery in the same block and the fabulous Thai Tha Hai just down Cleveland Street. Such a bonus to also have our own washer and dryer (complete with 2 complementary sachets of washing powder).

Huge bed in the separate bedroom was comfy, but unfortunately couldn’t say the same for the sofa bed in the living room. My daughter leant on it as we were making it up and the mattress was so thin she rammed her knee cap into a bar underneath. Luckily there were ice cubes in the freezer, so we could quickly ice it to minimise the damage! We re-made the bed to put a spare light quilt under the sheets to give her a fraction more padding, but she still only slept by curling into and maintaining a position in between 2 bars through the night. She survived though, but it’s really more suitable for young children.

The front staff are all very friendly and welcoming, they made us feel at home and nothing was too much bother. Any issues we had (missing coathangers, TV not working) were quickly sorted out. I’d certainly recommend it as a great value spot for Sydney, handy to transport and a short walk from the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMBHL_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAdmin, Manager at Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us.
We'd like to apologise about the sofa bed - this has been noted and we will investigate.

We are glad you found your apartment well equipped! The area around our Sydney South property is great to explore, with plenty to do. We're pleased you and your daughter enjoyed walking around to see and eat in the area!

Your comments about our friendly staff will be passed along - they're always happy to help when they can and explain about the local area too!

Thanks again, and we hope to welcome you back in the future!

Kind regards,
Waldorf Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

very good value for money accommodation in Sydney close to the university ,train staion and Broadway area. We have a good sixe 1 bedroom hotel suite with full kitchen, laundry and nice veranda. Free daily breakfast and parking was an addedd bonus- excellent value in expensive city like Sydney

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jognnyp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAdmin, Manager at Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thanks for sharing your recent stay with us.

Yes - Sydney can be quite expensive! We're very happy to hear we were able to provide a great service and accommodation at great value! It's great to have that peace of mind, so you can truly enjoy the rest of your Sydney experience.

Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Waldorf Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The one bedroom apartment that my family of four stayed in for four days was certainly value for money for the various reasons:
-The apartment was well-equipped with a big refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave oven and dishwasher.
-There was a washing machine and also a separate dryer in the toilet. Packets of detergent were provided. (Thank you. That was very thoughtful of the management)
-Sufficient bedding, linens and towels supplied. (Towels were changed every 2 days)
-Mattresses were comfortable, with extra pillows provided.
-Whole place was well maintained.
-Breakfast was simple but sufficient. (More variety would have been appreciated though)
-The free parking was a bonus.
-Requests were attended to immediately.
-There was a safe provided.
-Trash was collected every two days.
-There was a gym that we had no time to use at all, and a rooftop pool as well.
-Conveniently located near Redfern Station and Central Station.
-Within walking distance to Central where many eateries and Woolworths are located. Great for eating out or simply buying ingredients to cook in the apartment.
In a nutshell, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bee8811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAdmin, Manager at Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay with us.

At our Sydney South property, we strive to provide a great experience at great value. We're happy to hear you found this true in all aspects of your stay and in your apartment!

Thanks again for your great feedback!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Waldorf Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed for 18 days so overall we had a good experience. The parking and breakfast are a good plus for the value. The husband & wife managers are very friendly, as are the staff we encountered. The maintenance issues were addressed after we brought to their attention, but it does seem like the ownership should update this little hotel with a little more cash infusion. But if you want to be centrally located, this is a very good choice.

Room Tip: You will have to get used to the city noise, it is non-stop, so you have to choose between the large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAdmin, Manager at Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Waldorf Sydney South!

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and that our Managers and Staff were friendly and helpful. We take our guest experiences seriously, and do all we can to ensure stays are as comfortable and pleasant as possible.

We'd be very happy to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Waldorf Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

10 minute walk from Central Station - ideal as we used the train to attend a conference every day. The kitchen reduced the cost of the holiday. Friendly service especially at check-in as the receptionist was able to put us in a better room than originally planned. The small balcony was a pleasant place to sit and read. A rooftop BBQ / eating area is excellent with a great view from the pool deck. Wi-Fi could only be sourced from an outside provider at an outrageous price so we did not take it which was a significant inconvenience; surely this is a basic service these days.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAdmin, Manager at Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Waldorf Sydney South.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Our service staff do try their best to ensure each guest is as comfortable as they can be, and your great feedback will be passed along. Our WIFI is something we are continuing to work on for this property.

We look forward to welcoming you back if you're ever in the area! With any luck, our WIFI will be sorted by then too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I regularly stay at the Waldorf for business. the location is handy to public transport and some great pubs and restaurants. Free parking a huge plus, I hope they keep the parking spaces available, I believe some are being sold off(please don't).
Comfortable, well equipped apartments, a really great place to stay so close to the city

Room Tip: Most rooms are OK. Lower floor east side can be a little noisy, but generally not too bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Waldorf Apartment Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Redfern
#117 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#47 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Vulcan Hotel
#81 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments

Property: Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments
Address: 47 Chippen St, Sydney, New South Wales 2008, Australia (Formerly Waldorf South Sydney Serviced Apartments)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern and spacious serviced apartments is suitable for both daily and extended stay accommodation. Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments provide comfortable accommodation for business travel, holiday rental, corporate travellers or extended stay residential accommodation. Visitors to Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments have easy access to restaurants, Sydney sport facilities,coffee shops and entertainment facilities within 10 minutes walking distance. We are within 2 kms from Sydney's Central Business District and within walking distance from the University of Technology (UTS) and Sydney University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing