We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Ranked #60 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

For a city centre hotel this hotel has everything you need.Excellent location,only 5 to 10 minute walk from the Opera house,the ferry to Manley and the The Rocks.
The rooms are not massive but have everything you need with really comfortable beds.
Breakfast is very good however each time I've stayed here they appeared to be short staffed at breakfast and the service wasn't great.
On the other hand the reception staff and the concierge couldn't be more helpful.
The only thing I will say is the Wifi is very expensive.For the price of the hotel I would have expected it to be free.

Room Tip: you may end up with a room overlooking a wall so make sure to request one that doesn't.If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didiIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,326
    1,744
    907
    367
    175
See reviews for
707
2,649
398
1,199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (745)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We were very impressed with our stay in Sofitel Wentworth. Room was very comfortable, very good bed (usual for Sofitel), and would definitely stay again. Location wasn't that good though. A short walk from Wynyard station. We did not have a good view - unless you particularly like construction sites.

The restaurant in Sofitel also could not be faulted.

We are very fussy travelers, but would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My initial impression was that the hotel was well appointed and had excellent service. The room was a bit small, but that may be typical of Australia.

I thought the location was excellent. It's a short walk to public transportation, Circular Quay, the botanical gardens and close enough to the Sydney Opera House.

My only complaint or word of caution would be regarding the bed. It was clearly two twins pushed together. Again, this may be typical, but the mattresses were different firmnesses and there was somewhat of a hard edge between the mattresses. It did prevent me from sleeping in the center of the bed. While it wasn't much of an issue because I was travelling alone, it could be a hassle if you were with a significant other.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kballtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I stayed at the Sofitel for 4 nights in early January. The hotel room and bathroom were a standard size...not too big but enough room for all of our luggage. The hotel staff was friendly. Room service was good but it's very expensive. I know all of Sydney is expensive but $150 for 3 burgers/sandwiches with fries and bottled water is ridiculous. However, I do recommend this hotel because of its location. It's a short walk, about 5-7 minutes to the main transportation area in Circular Quay where you can catch a bus, train or ferry. Because of its location, we didn't need taxis. One warning if you take the train from the airport to the hotel. The entire walk is uphill (but not to steep) which can make it difficult if you have a heavy suitcase.

Recommended things within walking distance:
- Take a ferry to the zoo
- Take a ferry to Manly Beach
- Climb the bridge
- Take a bus to Coogee beach and do the 4 mile coastal walk to Bondi. Gorgeous!
- Eat brunch at MoS (museum if Sydney)
- Eat dinner at Cafe Sydney (expensive but view is incredible)
- Eat dinner at Spice Temple

Again, great location with friendly staff. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jef1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2012

First impressions of the Sofitel were very pleasing. Lovely entrance area with the most amazing smell coming from all the candles that are lit in the evening. The porters were friendly and prompt to take our luggage and reception efficient resulting in smooth check-in although I did feel they were a bit pushy in trying to sell upgrades.

The room itself was a standard 5 star hotel room, nothing special but nothing to complain about either...... Until the morning. At 9am we were woken by loud banging and drilling, unsure of what it was we assumed it was a one off and went out for the day. However the next morning when we needed to rest the exact same thing happened. Complained to reception who explained some of the rooms were being renovated and admitted it was a known problem for rooms on our floor/area.... My question therefore is why are they accommodation people here without warning them about it at the very least? We were offered a different room but as we had to be up for an early checkout the next morning didn't bother.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trave1_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2012

There was nothing Luxury about the room that we stayed in. The window blind had some dirty spots, the bathroom door was scratched. The floor cover is obviously worn down. Definetely need refurbishment! I can't really judge the hotel by only one room that we stayed. Don't get me wrong.. maybe other rooms are nicer.. but when I come to hotel especially a LUXURY hotel - I want everything up to a standard. Sydney Sofitel doesn't represent the brand standard l!! Bed was so uncomfy.. I had an impression both of us were laying down in 2 different holes in a matress..
Reception friendly! Thumb up! Brekky delicious!! Lobby in the evening is beautiful with all the candels.. but the room.. yeah.. not impressed at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth.

In regards to the refurbishment of the rooms, we have recently completed the first part of this action, the Classic rooms. Throughout the future ahead the hotel will continue to repair the comments you have mentioned to ensure that the Sofitel Sydney Wentworth is kept at its best.

I was glad to read however that you enjoyed the breakfast and find the lobby beautiful with the candles.

I do hope that we are able to welcoming you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The Wentworth doesn’t have the stunning views of the Sydney harbour and so can’t compete with the other big, grand harbour side hotels – but what the Wentworth does have is superior service. From the moment we entered the hotel, we were welcomed sincerely and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The concierge was knowledgeable and organised as bridge climb for us (highly recommended) and a ferry ride to Bondi beach via lunch at Watson’s Bay. The room was clean and there were plenty of fresh towels.

Room Tip: Club lounge is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
It was most pleasing to read your review and I am truly delighted that you enjoyed your Sofitel experience.
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. I am most pleased that the location was convenient for you and that you found the services of our Concierge team memorable. I will certainly ensure that your feedback is passed on to them.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4,323 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Property: Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Address: 61-101 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Business Hotel in Sydney
#55 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Sydney Wentworth 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's time-honoured five-star hotel in the heart of the shopping and business district has a solid reputation for impeccable service and incomparable elegance. The recent renovations artfully combine the latest in modern convenience with the old-worldcharm that has made it an architectural icon. The hotel boasts premier conference facilities,a fabulous health club. Experience haute cuisine at the restaurant or slip into the lounge for an afternoon tea or an intimate night cap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Sydney Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney Wentworth
Sydney Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing