We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheapest price is not the cheapest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Ranked #69 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We've stayed at variously branded Accor Hotels (including the Wentworth) often enough over the years, and each time I've booked with the hotel direct, believing their "Best Price Guarantee" would mean just that. On this occasion, we happened to book a Wotif Secret Deal for $204 including breakfast, and were surprised to find it was the Wentworth. This price was so good I immediately went on-line to check what the hotel itself offered as the cheapest rate, and it was $256.50 not including breakfast. I had previously believed Accor when they said they offered the best price on-line direct with them. Never again! I understand that hotels need to fill rooms, and at times they may resort to 'secret deals' so as not to devalue their product, but to then guarantee to anyone booking direct that they are gettting the best price is, to say the least, disappointing. As the hotel name was not openly advertised on Wotif in association with the $204 rate, any guest who paid $52.50 more for the same standard of room, plus extra for breakfast, had no way of knowing there had been a better rate on offer, and therefore no basis on which to invoke the Accor "Best Price Guarantee", which only applies when a better price for the same standard room and conditions is actually seen elsewhere.

The hotel is well located, and at our rate offered exceptional value. However, I wonder if the Accor self-rating of 5-star would stand independant scrutiny. There is nothing to complain about with the hotel, but nor is there anything to particualry commend it for, apart from the fantastic location and the service from Sarah on check-in, who was quick, friendly and helpful, and one of the waitresses who was especially welcoming at breakfast, but whose name I didn't catch. Lovely bright breakfast room, but the absence of fresh juice was surprising.

Our room at the end of a corridor was quite noisy from what sounded like plant/equipment in an joining space. During the daytime I thought it was the room air conditioning, but when I switched that off at night the noise continued - too late to request a change of room and disturbing for me as a light sleeper. We liked the minimalist decor, but our room at least was looking a little tired and in need of a refresh. Good bed. The almost circular bathroom is novel, although getting into the shower over the bath might be a difficult stretch for some guests.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petercorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,787 - 2,793 of 5,758 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

Enjoyed a 3 night stay at the Sofitel Wentworth, very happy with the room, and we were upgraded with a bottle of wine and chocolates and a welcoming drink. Thanks.
Despite this hotel been built in the sixties (I used to drink at the bar in the seventies after work)
the hotel is very well maintained. We tried the level 5 restaurant for dinner, it was very good.
The food menu at Soiree however was strange. Expensive hotel but great for Accor members.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreqtravelGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, General Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Kind regards
Erkin Aytekin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
72
Reviewed 10 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Friendly, efficient service a great location and lots of added extra surprises made this a special birthday experience for my wife. We were treated to a complimentary bottle of champagne, strawberries and chocolates and a late checkout amongst other things.



  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

One night was not enough time to enjoy everything the Sofitel Wentworth had to offer.
Great location for business, shopping, eating, public transport and sightseeing.
Above excellent service from all Hotel employees who were genuinely friendly and interested.
Fantastic, modern, clean and comfortable rooms. Much has been mentioned in previous reviews about the comfy bed which to me felt like I was being "hugged" once I lay down. It might not be to everyone's taste, but you will have to try it for yourself.

I was most impressed with Club Sofitel which provided a private, efficient and calm alternative/temporary work place. Elegant without any stuffiness or snobbery; I felt comfortable to conduct (business) telephone calls and would not hesitate in the future to conduct meetings in this venue.
For the business traveller, Club Sofitel has anticipated every need - and if not - the staff are more than happy to accommodate any requests.
I loved the fit-out and design of the Club Lounge which was welcoming, luxurious, gorgeous and functional.

My only suggestion would be for the Hotel to offer Club Lounge customers an option of breakfast in the Club Lounge or the Garden Court Restaurant - for a greater variety of food and beverage offerings.

Room Tip: If your budget allows, upgrade to Club Access Rooms for snacks, canapes, beverages; and an excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tric0660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Great hotel with Aussie heritage. Located close to landmarks and buzzing shopping precinct.

Mini bar charges are old school and pay for movies is antiquated. Views are stilted by close proximity to other buildings, and the hotel itself is looking tired in corners. But overall it remains a quality venue and experience. Just not the best Sofitel...

Main detraction for the hotel is the attitude of some of the other guests staying there - and the lack of direction given by staff where indiscretions occur.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank funlover77
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#31 of 181 in Sydney
4,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#35 of 181 in Sydney
3,364 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#76 of 181 in Sydney
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Address: 61-101 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
#61 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £118 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Sydney Wentworth 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's time-honoured five-star hotel in the heart of the shopping and business district has a solid reputation for impeccable service and incomparable elegance. The recent renovations artfully combine the latest in modern convenience with the old-worldcharm that has made it an architectural icon. The hotel boasts premier conference facilities,a fabulous health club. Experience haute cuisine at the restaurant or slip into the lounge for an afternoon tea or an intimate night cap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Sydney Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney Wentworth
Sydney Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing