We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Gift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Ranked #56 of 176 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Bathurst
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Birthday Gift”
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Gave my beautiful wife a night at our honeymoon hotel as a birthday gift ... From the moment we booked in (at which we were upgraded to a suite, TY Sofitel again) to checkout, the staff & hotel could not have been better ... Our only slight disappointment was the breakfast was not as good as our last visit (admittedly that was 7 1/2 years ago) with it being on a par with lower class hotels in the Accor brand (Mecure Sydney etc), not the fantastic breakfast/meal we had on our honeymoon.
But this is only a minor thing when compared to how we were treated & the hotel itself.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PJAS09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,279
    1,720
    891
    361
    173
See reviews for
691
2,610
390
1,179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (732)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chanhassen, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The Sofitel Sydney Wentworth was marvelous! Great location as it is within an easy 10 minute walk to the Circular Quay or a 15-20 minute walk to Darling Harbour. We arrived at 8am and we were kindly greeted and checked in promptly. Our room was not yet ready, but they nicely stored our luggage. Concierge was AMAZING! When we arrived it was raining and they so nicely provided umbrellas and helped us plan our day accordingly to help keep us dry. Obviously it is concierge's job to provide assistance, but we felt they did a fantastic job in all of our requests. The bed was very comfortable and house keeping was always very quick in providing extra towels or other services. There were very small things inconvenient like lower water pressure in the shower, but this is a relatively small complaint compared to how enjoyable our overall experience was with the Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. We stayed a total of 4 nights.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanhassen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, General Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Kind regards
Erkin Aytekin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlestown, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I was impressed with the service upon checking in and out.
The concierge was very helpful as well
However the service in the downstairs bar could be much improved.
My letter on check-in stated a cocktail would be provided and a treat was waiting in the room. None of these were provided, however we did receive a drink eventually and on leaving we told the check-out person who gave us some chocolates. These were delicious.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Dorothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, General Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Kind regards
Erkin Aytekin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We've stayed at variously branded Accor Hotels (including the Wentworth) often enough over the years, and each time I've booked with the hotel direct, believing their "Best Price Guarantee" would mean just that. On this occasion, we happened to book a Wotif Secret Deal for $204 including breakfast, and were surprised to find it was the Wentworth. This price was so good I immediately went on-line to check what the hotel itself offered as the cheapest rate, and it was $256.50 not including breakfast. I had previously believed Accor when they said they offered the best price on-line direct with them. Never again! I understand that hotels need to fill rooms, and at times they may resort to 'secret deals' so as not to devalue their product, but to then guarantee to anyone booking direct that they are gettting the best price is, to say the least, disappointing. As the hotel name was not openly advertised on Wotif in association with the $204 rate, any guest who paid $52.50 more for the same standard of room, plus extra for breakfast, had no way of knowing there had been a better rate on offer, and therefore no basis on which to invoke the Accor "Best Price Guarantee", which only applies when a better price for the same standard room and conditions is actually seen elsewhere.

The hotel is well located, and at our rate offered exceptional value. However, I wonder if the Accor self-rating of 5-star would stand independant scrutiny. There is nothing to complain about with the hotel, but nor is there anything to particualry commend it for, apart from the fantastic location and the service from Sarah on check-in, who was quick, friendly and helpful, and one of the waitresses who was especially welcoming at breakfast, but whose name I didn't catch. Lovely bright breakfast room, but the absence of fresh juice was surprising.

Our room at the end of a corridor was quite noisy from what sounded like plant/equipment in an joining space. During the daytime I thought it was the room air conditioning, but when I switched that off at night the noise continued - too late to request a change of room and disturbing for me as a light sleeper. We liked the minimalist decor, but our room at least was looking a little tired and in need of a refresh. Good bed. The almost circular bathroom is novel, although getting into the shower over the bath might be a difficult stretch for some guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petercorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Enjoyed a 3 night stay at the Sofitel Wentworth, very happy with the room, and we were upgraded with a bottle of wine and chocolates and a welcoming drink. Thanks.
Despite this hotel been built in the sixties (I used to drink at the bar in the seventies after work)
the hotel is very well maintained. We tried the level 5 restaurant for dinner, it was very good.
The food menu at Soiree however was strange. Expensive hotel but great for Accor members.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreqtravelGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, General Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Kind regards
Erkin Aytekin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 176 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,212 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 176 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Property: Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Address: 61-101 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Business Hotel in Sydney
#52 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Sydney Wentworth 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's time-honoured five-star hotel in the heart of the shopping and business district has a solid reputation for impeccable service and incomparable elegance. The recent renovations artfully combine the latest in modern convenience with the old-worldcharm that has made it an architectural icon. The hotel boasts premier conference facilities,a fabulous health club. Experience haute cuisine at the restaurant or slip into the lounge for an afternoon tea or an intimate night cap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Sydney Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney Wentworth
Sydney Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing