We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Ranked #66 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel is very well situated just a few minutes walk to Circular Quay transit and the Rocks. The concierge team were excellent - very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and nicely decorated. However, we spent out first night killing several large moths that would congregate around the alarm clock next to our heads. The front desk reported that it's just moth season and this is perfectly normal, noting that they found moths at their homes. OK - but we weren't paying $300/night to stay at their place. It may be a 5-star the rest of the year, but apparently not in November. Wi-Fi charges are a bit steep.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stayatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, General Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Kind regards
Erkin Aytekin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,653 - 2,659 of 5,628 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Lenore F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sam_Panetta, General Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Tolboell
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sam_Panetta, General Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Gave my beautiful wife a night at our honeymoon hotel as a birthday gift ... From the moment we booked in (at which we were upgraded to a suite, TY Sofitel again) to checkout, the staff & hotel could not have been better ... Our only slight disappointment was the breakfast was not as good as our last visit (admittedly that was 7 1/2 years ago) with it being on a par with lower class hotels in the Accor brand (Mecure Sydney etc), not the fantastic breakfast/meal we had on our honeymoon.
But this is only a minor thing when compared to how we were treated & the hotel itself.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank PJAS09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sam_Panetta, General Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The Sofitel Sydney Wentworth was marvelous! Great location as it is within an easy 10 minute walk to the Circular Quay or a 15-20 minute walk to Darling Harbour. We arrived at 8am and we were kindly greeted and checked in promptly. Our room was not yet ready, but they nicely stored our luggage. Concierge was AMAZING! When we arrived it was raining and they so nicely provided umbrellas and helped us plan our day accordingly to help keep us dry. Obviously it is concierge's job to provide assistance, but we felt they did a fantastic job in all of our requests. The bed was very comfortable and house keeping was always very quick in providing extra towels or other services. There were very small things inconvenient like lower water pressure in the shower, but this is a relatively small complaint compared to how enjoyable our overall experience was with the Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. We stayed a total of 4 nights.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chanhassen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, General Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Kind regards
Erkin Aytekin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I was impressed with the service upon checking in and out.
The concierge was very helpful as well
However the service in the downstairs bar could be much improved.
My letter on check-in stated a cocktail would be provided and a treat was waiting in the room. None of these were provided, however we did receive a drink eventually and on leaving we told the check-out person who gave us some chocolates. These were delicious.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Dorothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, General Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Kind regards
Erkin Aytekin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4,466 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#34 of 179 in Sydney
3,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Address: 61-101 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
#59 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £117 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Sydney Wentworth 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's time-honoured five-star hotel in the heart of the shopping and business district has a solid reputation for impeccable service and incomparable elegance. The recent renovations artfully combine the latest in modern convenience with the old-worldcharm that has made it an architectural icon. The hotel boasts premier conference facilities,a fabulous health club. Experience haute cuisine at the restaurant or slip into the lounge for an afternoon tea or an intimate night cap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Sydney Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney Wentworth
Sydney Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing